We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Getting out of town”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Normafa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Normafa Hotel
Ranked #167 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Stockholm
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Getting out of town”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

First, the hotel is located in a strange area. The neighboring houses and hotels are falling apart but also there is a great forrest/park next door that gives great views over parts of Budapest. The Hotel is some 10 km away from the citycenter and is perfect if you arrive with car. I didn't go with public traffic but there was a lot of buses going to and from the park next door.

The hotel is worn down and in need of restauration. There are two restaurants in the hotel, a grill and an a'la Carte. We tries the later and food was terrible and expensive even to Budapest standards, maybe that's because there are no other restaurants in the area.

Maybe my expectations were set to high by the reviews here on TA, but still there are better hotels closer to the city at better prices.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krilon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    67
    18
    1
    0
See reviews for
49
114
11
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

Unfortunately, our stay at the Normafa wasn't as pleasant as it could have been. I must say that I was very excited to be in a hotel that received so many rave reviews on TripAdvisor, and probably my disappointment also stems from the difference on what reviewers said and what we have found. Although the rooms are nice and clean, we had our share of problems with the hotel.

First, we noticed that our douche had a big crack and thus spilled water throughout the entire bathroom. We had to contact the receptionist twice in order to get it fixed, and indeed on our third night it was replaced. However, the replacement douche was different from the original and had a new "feature": if not used with care, it would soak the towels in the towel rack. And this was what really happened the first time I've tried to use it.

Second, me and my wife noticed an yellowish cast on the water the first time we filled the bathtub. When I asked the receptionist about this, she said us that "sometimes it would really happen", and then said us to let the bathtub tap open for 5 minutes since this would probably solve the problem. So much for a "renovated hotel" that asks us to save water and preserve the environment by reusing our towels.

Third, Wi-Fi connection. I expected to use it to make calls home via VoIP, but the speed of the connection is so low (consider yourself lucky if you get 256 kbps) and the reliability so poor that it was basically impossible to use it for other things than casual web surfing. On the other hand, the hotel dares to charge for its use, and it's not inexpensive at all (2800 HUF or €13 for one week). Additionally, their system charges guests individually instead of charging the room; as a consequence, I couldn't share my connection with my wife, who also carries his laptop. When I asked about this, the receptionist just said that she was sorry, blamed the WiFi service provider, and said that internet access at the hotel woudn't be better than that.

Fourth, restaurant services for halfboarders. I must agree with another reviewer of the hotel: halfboarders are treated as second class citizens and wait much more for service than the guests that use the normal menu of the Normafa Grill. Every time we asked for restaurant services with our halfboard passes, the service was so slow and inneficient that our children fell asleep before they could have their dinner. Then in our last night, when we ordered the food to be delivered to our room in order that they could have dinner before sleeping, the food came blazingly fast - accompanied by an extra charge. They alleged that I had ordered a dish that was not part of the halfboard menu, and only backed off when I ordered them to bring the halfboard menu and I pointed them there to the very dish I've ordered.

Fifth, breakfast. Fruits are basically non-existent if you have breakfast after 9:00 AM. Also, in the summer is dangerous to havhe breakfast in the outside part of the restaurant, since there are always bees around that can sting you or your children.

Finally, to wrap it up, during our stay there was a wedding party at the Normafa Grill where there was LOUD techno music which played until more or less 5:00 AM. So much for a hotel "placed in an idyllic atmosphere".

In a nutshell, the hotel was unfortunately a major disappointment. We loved the city and its sights, but definitely we won't be staying at the Normafa next time.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms as far as possible from Normafa Griltl, so the parties don't disturb your sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Szarastro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west midlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

Before i start my review, please note i am a well travelled individual, and have visited a number of places ranging from Africa to the Middle East to the States.

On arrival of the hotel it seemed clean and welcoming enough, and I was quite excited to be staying here, as the reports on trip advisor had been excellent.
On entering my room, I had ordered a suite, but got a double room, and when going back to reception to say that an error had taken place with my reservation, unfortuanatley they were unable to accommadate my booked reservation.

The room was a little dated, but clean.The TV never worked and although I didnt go to there watch TV, as a solo traveller it would have been nice from time to time to be able to watch the odd thing, even just the news. When i did report it, they said it was standard throughout the hotel, and all the channels were hungarian, apart from a sports one that popped up from time to time, this was due to the satelite system they have.

The weather was amazing and was easily 36 degrees in the day, however there is no air conditioning in the rooms, and all rooms have a stand alone fan, and even though the tempaerature dropped slightly at night, this made my nights sleep terrible and unpleasant.

The pool side was nice, however remember as you are based in the countryside the wasps and bees are rampant, which i felt i was constantly fighting them off whilst trying to sunbathe. There's great activities for the kids to do, sandpit and playground activities.

The breakfast was OK, however all the egg contain meat, and as i am a vegetarianwhen I asked for a plain egg, they were quick to accommadate which i thought was very good of them.

The meals in the restuarant I thought were fab, and the pancakes were to die for!!!

The sights from the Hotel are great and there are forest treks to go on, which are amazing, teh bus stop is literally seconds away from the hotel and take you into the city in 15/20 mins, which again was a good advantage. There is also a little shop down the road where you can buy most things and i thought they were useful and handy and at a reasonable price.

All in all my overall experience was "pleasant enough" However the City and the sights of Hungry are amazing and the tours i went on for like 5000 hungarian money was so worth it, which included a River trip. I would definately go back to Budapest, as here is so much to see and do.

TIPS

Be mindful as in your bill there is compulsary tip already included within your bill, however what i found is that the taxis and hotel restaurants would not give you change back, and would automatically just take it,which was quite disappointing.

Wasps and bees around pool.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sak30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rome
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

Excellent position, 10 km from the center, clean, quiet and excellent restaurant.
a good fitness and wellness center.a big pool for the bigger, and a small pool for the kids.public transport just at 2 steps from the hotel entrance...will bring you in 15 minutes at MOSZKVA blvrd....and from there, in 10 minutes in the center.very good prices.sirelly, we will come back there every time we will be in budapest

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrey o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

We extended my business trip to this hotel. It's not in Budapest city center however easy to reach. Normafa town Is at the top of hill. Generic facilities are renovated, swimming pool is advantage and fits for budget.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Basar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Bobbio
#163 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Óbuda-Békásmegyer
Alfa Art Hotel
Alfa Art Hotel
#159 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Pension Helios
#101 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Villa Korall
#141 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Petnehazy Club Hotel
#155 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Normafa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Normafa Hotel

Property: Normafa Hotel
Address: Eoetvoes ut 52 - 54, Budapest 1121, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#93 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,827 - ₹ 11,821
Hotel Class:4 star — Normafa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly, newly modernized 4-star hotel in the most elegant district of Budapest on the top of the Svab Hill. Only 15 minutes from the city center with easy connection with public transport. The hotel has 2 restaurants with terraces, wide range of sport and fitness facilities, open-air heated pool all year long and wellness area are at our guests' disposal. The friendly and skilful staff would be happy to welcome you at Hotel Normafa! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Normafa Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing