We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK city hotel”
Review of Griff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Griff Hotel
Ranked #262 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
77 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“OK city hotel”
Reviewed 27 September 2011

I spent 4 nights in this hotel. It´s a good base camp for discovering the Hungarian capital, but don´t expect much in terms of charms and looks. The hotel occupies a typical huge, ugly concrete building dating back to communist days. It´s about a 20-minute-tram ride away from downtown Budapest. The tram station is just across the street, a bus and a train station are about 500m away.

The staff do their job but, as was the rule in Hungary, weren´t too friendly. The included breakfast (buffet style) was ample and quite good, especially for being a three-star hotel. Wi-fi (unprotected) was available in the lobby.

The room was spacious and really OK. The beds were more comfortable than was to be expected by the looks of it. Be warned however - this hotel is popular with young people, especially on school excursions, so have some ear plugs at hand ;-). The bathroom was well-equipped and I´ve never come across a hotel with better supply of hot water.

All in all a good option for travelers on a budget not looking for a cozy place.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OliverE77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    11
    19
    6
    15
See reviews for
11
13
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

I stayed here for 3 weeks when volunteering in Budapest. Its location was superb, right by a bus and tram stop, near a station, a short tram hop to the Metro. Ideal as not right in the busy city, more in residential suburbs, which I prefer. With city transport so frequent and cheap, location is not a problem. The spa and gym facilities were excellent, the rooms were standard business-type. Breakfast was very good, and dinner was fine - nothing to write home about, but I was having a set 3-course meal and not a la carte, which looked superior. Wi-fi (free) is best in the lobby, and can be very slow - this is more a Budapest problem in some areas rather than a hotel problem. Would use again, and the staff are helpful and anxious to pee.

Room Tip: The lower floors (1st and 2nd) have the rooms recently redecorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redskifreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mid wales
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Good Budget Hotel, Good Access by Public Transport. I stayed for 9 nights Halfboard June 2011 £250 Single traveller retired. I found the Management and Bar/ Restaruant Staff Excellent, Receptionist Efficient but not sociable ( A bit Up Herself). Food was acceptable, Drinks reasonably priced. Rooms Large clean with mini bar and TV only cnn and Sky sport in english Room sevice every day with loads of clean towels. If you want 5*+ Pay for it . This is a Budget Hotel at reasonable price with Hungarian Food, Spa Sauna Gym

Room Tip: Best deals through Travel republic or Yeego
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank costadelboy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2010

There were a lot of students staying in the hotel at the time of our visit and every night there was excessive noise from the corridor, the rooms either side & from above. There was no sound proofing & I feel like I haven't slept for 3 nights.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LRDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Budapest hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Zemun, Serbia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2010

Me and my girlfriend stayed at Griff hotel for the New Year 2010. We did not expect much, and was pleasantly surprised with some of the aspects of the hotel.

The hotel itself is located 15 minutes of train ride from the Danube river. The neighborhood is very quiet, and you can get quite night's rest.

The hotel is clean both in corridors and outside. You can see that they renovated interior hall and the desk. Staff is nice.

Breakfast is very good, plenty food to choose from, and each day something new on the menu.

The bathroom is clean and functional. You don't get hotel shampoo and shower gel, but this is 3* hotel, so I guess that it's OK. The rooms have two closets, plenty of drawers, a TV set, glasses, wine glasses, coffee cups and mini bar which is not that expensive. Room was also clean. What I did not like with the room is the bed. It was too soft for my taste and the mattress was a bit smaller then a bed itself. There was no hairdryer, and this was the biggest letdown.

All in all, this was good hotel for the money we have paid. We did not spend that much time in the hotel anyway, so this was a good deal to us.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RockyMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Baross City Hotel
Baross City Hotel
#135 of 333 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Star City Hotel
Star City Hotel
#129 of 333 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Hotel Thomas
#211 of 333 in Budapest
3.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Atlantic Hotel
#244 of 333 in Budapest
3.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Hunguest Hotel Millennium
#190 of 333 in Budapest
3.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
City Hotel Ring
#127 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Griff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griff Hotel

Property: Griff Hotel
Address: Bartok Bela ut 152, Budapest 1115, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #262 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,679 - ₹ 7,242
Hotel Class:3 star — Griff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Griff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Griff Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing