We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a 5 star from miles” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Budapest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Budapest
Ranked #22 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not a 5 star from miles”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We went to this hotel at 5pm in the evening. We had booked a room for 3 of us. On asking the receptionist if he could give us courtesy upgrade to a river view, we got a reply that of course only if we paid 25 euros. We refused so he put us in a room that is 25 sqm at the back of the hotel. The rooms have not been upgraded since 1980's. anyways the location is good so we went out at the evening.

the breakfast is the worst i have ever had. No fresh juice. Ends at 10 30pm on a Sunday. The scrambled eggs looked like the chef needs a lesson.

The only saving grace is the concierge and the location here. I would not stay here again.

Try the Boscolo much better.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidSymms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICBudapestManagement, Executive Office at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Dear DavidSymms,
I am very much sorry to read that your stay with us was not impressive. Let me assure you that the size of our rooms does not vary based on being on river or city side. Both sides have got different types of rooms and I am very sorry if you felt that the one you were staying in was small. Also let me inform you that there is always a surcharge for river view rooms and according to the feedback of our guests they feel worth paying that.
Please kindly be informed that our rooms had extensive renovation in 2008-2009, I am sorry that you had a different impression in regards to that.
Breakfast is one of the services that our guests claim to be the best they ever experienced therefore I was sad to hear that you were so much disappointed. I can assure you that we always strive to deliver the best services that is expected from an InterContinental.
I truly hope that all in all you left Budapest with positive feelings.
Best regards,
Andrea Soos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,092
    863
    161
    39
    21
See reviews for
466
1,324
153
688
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (955)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Location: On the Pest side of the city by the banks of the River Danube & within walking distance of many attractions.

Room views: Ask for a room with a Danube view and you won't regret it. You will have awesome views of Buda and it's castles in the day and night with all attractions marrying the night with a beautiful display of lights.

Room and hotel cleanliness: Very good with no complaints.

Room decor: Normal Intercontinental style. Don't expect something ultra modern though like what you see in Modern/Arty niche hotels.

Taxis: The black "luxury" taxis stationed right in front of the hotel entrance are really overpriced. We learned this after comparing with other taxi companies. Go right next door to the Sofitel for example and you will see the price difference.

Hotel staff: Very polite with a good command in English. The concierge staff are awesome and help with tips on what to do or see with very detailed info.

This hotel is a must.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexPtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICBudapestManagement, Executive Office at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Dear AlexPtraveler,
Thank you very much for your great review about your stay.
I am glad that you enjoyed the view from your room. Also I am delighted to read your positive comments about our staff, highlighting our Concierge.
I hope we can welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards,
Andrea Soos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

The comfortable hotel in the city center. Near metro station and short walking distance to the main attractions. Large rooms but if you are allergic to feather you need to emphasize that prior the booking. Everything in the room was feather filled (including mattress cover).

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lili_world_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICBudapestManagement, Executive Office at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Dear lili_world_traveler,
Thank you very much for posting a review about your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Best regards,
Andrea Soos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
64 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

This is a solid, very comfortable hotel in the very best location in Budapest. Really, I wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else in the city.

The closest rivals for position are the Marriot and the Gresham, but the Intercontinental wins. Although the Four Seasons Gresham is glitzier, and twice the price, it fails to offer the views available from the Intercontinental.

Rooms are pretty much the same within the hotel (except for the full suites), although the "city" view roooms miss out on the magnificent views. Pay the modest premium for a castle view room. Higher floors get better views: figures! The rooms are comfortable but quite heavy in terms of decor. Bathrooms seem small, and very few of them have walk-in showers.

The staff are generally bright, helpful and most clearly take a pride in their work and in the hotel. The pride has been enhanced by the IC Budapest's inclusion in the Conde Nast listing of the world's best hotels..

The restaurant is great, and spills out onto a terrace fronting the Danube promenade in the warmer months.

A downside is the tooth-achingly expensive internet.

Location is not just views. The hotel is just ten minutes from the Budapest metro's interchange at Deak Ferenc Ter, only five minutes from the principal shopping street Vaci Utca, and within easy reach of stylish Andrassy Ut and the opera/theatre district, St Stephens and the parliament building. The iconic Chain bridge is right in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SwissFella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICBudapestManagement, Executive Office at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Dear SwissFella,
Thank you very much for your detailed review. I am sure that readers of TripAdvisor will find it very useful. I surely agree with you when suggesting to book a room with river and castle view.
Also thank you for your comment about us being listed in the Conde Nast amongst the world's best hotels that we are very much proud of.
I hope that your travel plans bring you back to us and we will be able to provide you with our best InterContinental services.
With kindest regards,
Andrea Soos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamloops BC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

We booked a Danube View room and were not disappointed. Our room was on the 7th floor overlooking the Chain Bridge and Castle. Very clean, big bathroom with tub, in room coffee and excellent breakfast. We will recommend to our friends.

Room Tip: We asked for a large king room with a river view. 7th floor was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KamloopsBCIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICBudapestManagement, Executive Office at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Dear KamloopsBCIndiana,
Many thanks for such positive comments. We are glad you had a great time staying in our hotel and do hope that you will return in the near future.
Kind regards,
Andrea Soos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#33 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#7 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
District I / Buda
Hilton Budapest
Hilton Budapest
#19 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Budapest? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Budapest

Property: InterContinental Budapest
Address: Apaczai Csere Janos utca 12-14, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#7 Business Hotel in Budapest
#10 Family Hotel in Budapest
#16 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#20 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,406 - ₹ 26,636
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Budapest hotel is situated directly by the Chain bridge overlooking the Royal Palace. This impressive hotel offers 402 beautifully appointed guestrooms, many of which enjoy a fabulous river-view. You may also choose from 18 exquisite Suites and a Presidential Suite. State-de-art conference facilities with capacity up to 900 person; 10 breakout rooms; Club Lounge with a breathtaking view of the Danube; SPA; 24 hr Fitness Centre, swimming pool, steam room and sauna; All day dining Corso Restaurant, Bar. An ideal choice for business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Prestigia, Agoda, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your InterContinental Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Budapest Hotel Budapest
Budapest Intercontinental
Intercontinental Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing