We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,174)
Filter reviews
6,174 results
Traveller rating
4,149
1,519
340
102
64
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,149
1,519
340
102
64
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chain bridge paris restaurant luxury room river view club room famous chain perfect location breakfast buffet excellent hotel buda castle across the river the executive lounge an upgrade christmas market junior suite four seasons beautiful city
Filter
Updating list...
379 - 384 of 6,174 reviews
Reviewed 15 December 2017 via mobile

Convenient location but completely disappointing hotel. Felt like we entered a time warp when we entered our room - NOTHING of the standard of a typical Sofitel. Last month we stayed at the Hilton and Four Seasons in Budapest and thought we’d try the Sofitel as we love their hotels in Brussels and Munich and it was a HUGE mistake. So disappointed. Used products in our room left over from the last guests. Old and dated decor (all the money must have been spent renovating the foyer). Called housekeeping on the phone and it dialed another room?!?! Avoid and stay at the Hilton for the same price point with a beautiful view and modern room!

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank thelifelongjourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean_Bowcott_Sofitel, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your feedback regarding your stay at our hotel.
However we were very concerned to read that you were not fully satisfied with your experience in our hotel that we would like to deeply apologize for.
Your remarks are especially valuable for us; therefore our colleague will be in contact with you directly to discuss this matter further as we would be pleased to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and sincerely hope to have the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Jean Bowcott
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2017

This hotel has an enviable position close to the Danube and with views over the Castle Hill and the Chain Bridge. The hotel itself has good public spaces and well-appointed bars and restaurants as well as a pool area. It is a business hotel with a good business centre, but also makes a great base as a tourist hotel as well. The rooms are spacious and well appointed, although 2 chairs would be nice, and the breakfast is good value with plenty of choice, although the seating procedure is long winded, and does cause congestion. I would recommend this hotel both for business or leisure, and would definitely recommend having a river view.

Room tip: Choice a Danube view room
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JDTRAVELBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2017

Location: Extremely good. It's just in front of the Chain bridge and the Buda Castle. To go to the parlament you only need to walk about 10-15 minutes very easily.

Staff: Very good and polite. An especial compliment to the concierge Reka. She was very friendly and nice. She was the most kind.

Room: Very cozy. Awesome beds, good shower, safe in the room, free water and an amazing view of the Buda Castle (you need to pay extra).

Breakfast: Excellent. You will find everything that you need to have a good meal.

Room tip: View of the river and Buda Castle
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nando_World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean_Bowcott_Sofitel, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2017

Dear Guest,

What an encouraging review! We are very happy to know that you were extremely satisfied with your experience at our hotel, and we could make you feel special during your stay. Thank you for your praising words about Réka, she was more than glad about your kind words, of course, just as us!
Thank you for recommending us, we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in this lovely city.

Yours sincerely,
Jean Bowcott
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2017 via mobile

We were due to have 4 days in Krakow, but fog made BA land at Budapest. With the possibility of a coach journey to Krakow next day. No way we thought and remembered this hotel from stay last year. So a quick phone call from the plane secured an excellent river view for 3 nights. An excellent late room service 1st evening and a superb ambiance dinner in the resturant on the second night. Where M Norbi in particular looked after us well.
Just a word of advice to the resturant, for someone who wanted fish like I did something better than Pollock and Bio Salmon should be on offer. Pollock is a very low grade fish I actually through back into the sea when I catch one and Salmon is now so plentiful it is no longer a treat. Sea Bream or Bass would be better.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 874TomL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2017 via mobile

The hotel is perfectly located. Next to other 3 other large chain hotels, but none of them has the quality of service as Sofitel has a whole. When you walk in into a Sofitel, you now that the experience is Unique ....

The hotel needs some updates on the rooms, but the junior suite very spacious and upgrade of the second room, a plus. Accor loyalty programme works pretty well.

The reception very amicable and the young lady at the Concierge spot on.

Breakfast was crowded but efficient and lots of morning dishes. Bar with a view over the Royal Palace and Chain Bridge and very good quality restaurant.

A place to come back, for sure. C’est magnifique!

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Ramonpv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean_Bowcott_Sofitel, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2017


Dear Guest,

What a beautiful review to read! Thank you very much for your time to compose this feedback.

We are happy that you made use of the excellent and central location of our property while discovering Budapest.

Also, we greatly appreciate your words on the services experienced in general. We were glad to read how much you liked the spacious Junior Suite allocated for you and how satisfactory you found our LeClub Loyalty Programme.

Thank you for your nice words on the work of our colleagues in general and for highlighting our Reception and Concierge Teams. Your feedback is a true inspiration for all of us for our work in the future!

Finally, let us express our gratitude for your review on our outlets-we are more than grateful that you tried our breakfast and our Paris Budapest Restaurant and Bar.

We hope we will be able to host you again in the near future in the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge.

Yours sincerely,

Jean Bowcott
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews