We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,067)
Filter reviews
6,067 results
Traveller rating
4,091
1,487
332
96
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,091
1,487
332
96
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschain bridgeparis restaurantluxury roomriver viewclub roomfamous chainperfect locationbreakfast buffetexcellent hotelbuda castleacross the riverroyal palacethe executive loungean upgradechristmas marketjunior suitefour seasons
Filter
Updating list...
3,809 - 3,814 of 6,067 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel for 5 days on our first trip to Budapest. The location was ideal, right on the river and within walking distance to the Chain Bridge. Upon check-in, we paid a little extra to get a room that over looked the river and bridge, if it's your first time in Budapest, I recommend you do the same thing! We loved walking to the plaza a few blocks behind the hotel for coffee and breakfast every morning, and then walking along the river and enjoying al fresco dining in the evening. The concierge at the hotel was most helpful, he even got us opera tickets at the last minute, 3rd row center. The rest of the staff was courteous and polite. I would reccommend this hotel to anyone who wants the most senic setting in this great city.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kmitch44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelBudapestGR, The Management at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2009

Dear Guest,

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge. It was nice to hear that you enjoyed the central location of our hotel, as well as the Danube river view from your room. We also thank you for your positive feedback regarding the work of our staff, especially the Concierge.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at our hotel soon.

Your sincerely,

The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2009

This hotel is in a perfect location. The view from a River room is outstanding. You can see the Danube River and the Buda castle lit up at night. The location is also great as you are located right on the river that is beautiful at night and has many restaurant options. The hotel is also in walking distance to many of the sites in both Buda and Pest. We found a nice group of restaurants within 3 blocks of the hotel.

The rooms were a bit smaller, but comfortable. The staff seemed to be helpful. The restaurant and the bar at the hotel were not very busy. Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel for its views and location.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DallasTraveler1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelBudapestGR, The Management at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2009

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your positive feedback on our hotel. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, and that you liked especially our central location and the panorama view from our rooms.
We hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Budapest.

Yours sincerely,

The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2009

A first class hotel in a great location.
From moment arrived the staff showed interest and were always helpful.
Great room with view over the Danube.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeEastbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelBudapestGR, Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2009

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Budapest.

Yours sincerely,

The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2009

In May I went to Budapest for a business trip. I spent one night at the Sofitel Chain Bridge. The Hotel is amazing, the rooms are very well furnished and comfortable.
But the very big surprise was the way we were welcomed by the receptionist, Mrs Katerina Kamonauy, who soon asked us where we were from and when we told her "from Italy", she started speaking Italian (almost perfectly!). She gave us a lot of useful information and very good tips about Budapest.
This charming, clever young lady, together with the rest of the staff made our stay in this wonderful hotel even more pleasant.
Everything was perfect: the room, the service, the breakfast ( a very wide choice of everything), the layout, the restaurant, where we had a very tasty and savoury lunch .
And I even did not have time to go to the swimming pool or to have a look at their library....
I would definitely recommendt this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sirkis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelBudapestGR, The Management at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2009

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the positive feedback you provided us with. We were especially glad to hear that you were so much pleased with the professionalism, charm and Italian language knowledge of our receptionist Katerina. We are also happy about the fact that you were satisfied with the standard of our hotel and level of hospitality you experienced during your stay.
We sincerely hope to see you back at Sofitel Budapest in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2009

The Sofitel and its staff made us welcome and gave us a really special memory of our 50th wedding anniversary journey. The view over the Danube, from our room, was just magic. The friendly staff and the service was as good, or better, than anywhere else we have been over the years. We were treated as real people, as guests to the country not just paying customers of a hotel. Helpful advice was provided, when asked for, and our passion for history of the places we visit was given free reign with permission to borrow from the Atrium Library. This knowledge allowed us to understand the stories, buildings and monuments so much better as we wandered around this wonderful city.

One piece of advice - when booking, don't forget to ask for the rooms with a river, not city, view. The extra expense is more than compensated by the magical views, especially in the evening. Bev and Ken Dudman, NSW Australia

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeverleyE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelBudapestGR, Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2009

Dear Mr. and Mrs. Dudman,

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge. We are especially happy that our hotel and dedicated staff could give you unforgettable moments on the occasion of your 50th wedding anniversary. Apart of that we thank you very much for rating our service „better that anywhere else” and we do hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Budapest.

Yours sincerely,

The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews