We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent View from Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Ranked #26 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2009

It was my first visit to Budapest and when I found that the hotel I booked is at the best place of the beautiful city, I was ecstatic. the view from my room was beautiful and the I could watch the whole chain bridge over the river danube. The view was even more beautiful in the evening when the whole chain bridge was lit with lights.

The hotel had good large rooms and 2 excellent restaurants with different varieties of food available. The staff at reception as well as the room service was good and courteous. When I stayed there with my family, there was a hotel renovation going on for a part of hotel and that came a big nuisance for all of us. The dust from that areas used to come to our rooms and the children had tough time coughing. Our request for changing the room was turned down as the hotel was fully booked. We booked the hotel for 15 days fun but had to vacate in just 5 days as soon as we got another reservation as it was becoming unbearable to bear the dust and noise coming out of being renovated part of hotel.

Another bad thing for this hotel was thy did not tell us about any reward points scheme and we could not take benefit of the stay for collecting any reward points.

The location of the hotel is excellent and is part of the down town. It is easily accessible through metro, trams and buses and had lot of good restaurants around that place. The location is also a shoppers paradise with lot of good shops near the hotel.

In case, they could have handled the renovation part a bit better, we would have chosen to extend our stay there as other things were quite good for this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SmartTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelBudapestGR, Daniel, Customer Services at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2009

Dear Guest!

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments regarding your stay with us at Sofitel Budapest Chain-Bridge. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our location, the size of our rooms and the large variety of food offered in our Paris Budapest Café Restaurant and on the Breakfast Terrace. Apart from that we are happy to hear that you were satisfied with the work of our staff. However we were concerned to hear about your comments regarding the upcoming noise and dust to your room during your stay. We do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get. So I can assure you, that your comments have been reviewed and discussed with indivisuals and department managers concerned. We do appologise sincerely for these inconveniences and for not handling the issue properly. What more we do feel very sorry, that we could not act on the spot immediately regarding our A-Club loyalty program.

Yours sincerely,

Enikő K.
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (5,731)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,574 - 3,578 of 5,731 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel for 5 days on our first trip to Budapest. The location was ideal, right on the river and within walking distance to the Chain Bridge. Upon check-in, we paid a little extra to get a room that over looked the river and bridge, if it's your first time in Budapest, I recommend you do the same thing! We loved walking to the plaza a few blocks behind the hotel for coffee and breakfast every morning, and then walking along the river and enjoying al fresco dining in the evening. The concierge at the hotel was most helpful, he even got us opera tickets at the last minute, 3rd row center. The rest of the staff was courteous and polite. I would reccommend this hotel to anyone who wants the most senic setting in this great city.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kmitch44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelBudapestGR, The Management at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2009

Dear Guest,

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge. It was nice to hear that you enjoyed the central location of our hotel, as well as the Danube river view from your room. We also thank you for your positive feedback regarding the work of our staff, especially the Concierge.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at our hotel soon.

Your sincerely,

The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2009

This hotel is in a perfect location. The view from a River room is outstanding. You can see the Danube River and the Buda castle lit up at night. The location is also great as you are located right on the river that is beautiful at night and has many restaurant options. The hotel is also in walking distance to many of the sites in both Buda and Pest. We found a nice group of restaurants within 3 blocks of the hotel.

The rooms were a bit smaller, but comfortable. The staff seemed to be helpful. The restaurant and the bar at the hotel were not very busy. Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel for its views and location.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DallasTraveler1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelBudapestGR, The Management at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2009

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your positive feedback on our hotel. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, and that you liked especially our central location and the panorama view from our rooms.
We hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Budapest.

Yours sincerely,

The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2009

A first class hotel in a great location.
From moment arrived the staff showed interest and were always helpful.
Great room with view over the Danube.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeEastbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelBudapestGR, Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2009

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Budapest.

Yours sincerely,

The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2009

In May I went to Budapest for a business trip. I spent one night at the Sofitel Chain Bridge. The Hotel is amazing, the rooms are very well furnished and comfortable.
But the very big surprise was the way we were welcomed by the receptionist, Mrs Katerina Kamonauy, who soon asked us where we were from and when we told her "from Italy", she started speaking Italian (almost perfectly!). She gave us a lot of useful information and very good tips about Budapest.
This charming, clever young lady, together with the rest of the staff made our stay in this wonderful hotel even more pleasant.
Everything was perfect: the room, the service, the breakfast ( a very wide choice of everything), the layout, the restaurant, where we had a very tasty and savoury lunch .
And I even did not have time to go to the swimming pool or to have a look at their library....
I would definitely recommendt this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sirkis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelBudapestGR, The Management at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2009

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the positive feedback you provided us with. We were especially glad to hear that you were so much pleased with the professionalism, charm and Italian language knowledge of our receptionist Katerina. We are also happy about the fact that you were satisfied with the standard of our hotel and level of hospitality you experienced during your stay.
We sincerely hope to see you back at Sofitel Budapest in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#31 of 336 in Budapest
3,553 reviews
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#33 of 336 in Budapest
3,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#19 of 336 in Budapest
7,563 reviews
District I / Buda
Hilton Budapest
Hilton Budapest
#16 of 336 in Budapest
4,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Address: Szechenyi Istvan Ter 2, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#10 Family Hotel in Budapest
#11 Business Hotel in Budapest
#18 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#22 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: ₹ 9,427 - ₹ 20,255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge 5*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Budapest blends comfort and elegance with modern technology and French flair. This comfortable high-class hotel offers breathtaking views of the Chain Bridge and Royal Castle. The Paris Budapest Cafe restaurant at this luxury hotel fuses French and Hungarian cuisine, prepared in a show kitchen for all to see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Prestigia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Chain Bridge
Hyatt Budapest
Budapest Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing