We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restful, relaxing, enchanting -- great food, warm Hungarian hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Petnehazy Club Hotel
Ranked #174 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Reviewed 28 November 2006

We very fond family memories of our restful, relaxing three week stay at the enchanting Petnehazy, with mom, dad and our two young children --- the Petnehazy is located very high in the Buda Hills, with beautiful views of the surrounding highlands, a very rural country mountain atmosphere, a horse farm just down the road, delightful invigorating mountain hikes, outdoor play for the children, awakening to crisp wintry air with soft white snowfalls, the famous "white nights" of the Buda hills when the moonlight would come out upon the freshly fallen snow . . . . .

Yet, with all of this rural atmosphere, we found the Petnehazy to be easily accessible with our rental car to downtown Budapest and the surrounding area. We found the Petnehazy Club to be a restful base of operations for touring the entire Budapest area, for driving tours over to Lake Balaton, touring the hills of Veszprem.

We enjoyed delicious, authentic Hungarian meals in generous quantities in the restaurant (also available in room service delivered directly to our beautiful log cabin, which we happily took advantage of on several evenings when the whole family was tired after touring Budapest or the Balaton region).

We had warm, caring, friendly service from the staff, an absolutely pristine, exquisitely clean log cabin with our own private sauna inside the cabin, gleaming hardwood floors for the children to play on . . . . the Petnehazy brings back very warm memories of a delightful stay for the entire family. We recommend it strongly. Koszonom szepen, Petnehazy!

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank travelersNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

107 - 111 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2006

The Club is quite nice. It's based in a lovely position with tree's and during spring it must be excellent. The people working there are kind and helpful and when arriving they provide you with lot's of useful information. So far so good. There are however two major issues. First the hotel is very far from downtown. You need 1 hour by public transportation or 12 EUR if you use a taxi (cheap one). Secondly the excebitions provided might be good if you are old or if you don't have a will to do them by your own, but they are VERY expensive for what's offered. If you can you must organise them yourself.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Baboulas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
San Mateo, california
119
Reviewed 8 June 2006

Club Petnahazy
Stay: May 13 – 20th, 2006

a) Club Activities

We signed up for 3 arranged activities. Two of them were quite dissatisfying: the Monday evening “Folk Loric” evening at the restaurant, and the day-trip to Eger.

oThe Monday evening dinner was at a large restaurant that caters to huge bus loads, and the Club’s patrons clearly received second-class treatment. The table was behind a large post that almost completely blocked view of the floorshow, so we had to stand and walk down the room during our meal in order to see anything. Also, the waiters’ attitude was very offensive and imperious when we initially asked about availability of other tables. Most importantly ‘though, the food was by far the worst we encountered in 16 days we spent in Hungary. I talked with the Club’s activities director about this and strongly suggested they find a smaller venue with a personal touch, where groups the size of Club Petnahazy can be accommodated with better food and service, and are valued by the restaurant. Overall, the evening was a complete waste of time and money and all 6 people at our table felt the same way.

oThe day trip to Eger was a mixed bag. The tour guide was excellent and the walking trip she did of Eger was very well done…as was the restaurant visit. However, the wine-tasting in the pince did not occur (which was a major reason why we went). But most importantly, the transportation arrangements were simply unacceptable: 8 adults were crammed into a small minivan, for a 5hr round-trip. The rear seat was very cramped and uncomfortable and the ventilation was difficult. The middle seat simply did not have sufficient space – I sat only half-supported at the outside, and ended up with pains down my leg by the end of the trip. I talked with the Club’s activities director about this and also her manager. He shrugged and said that was the seating capacity of the van. Now, that may be so….but for children, not 8 adults. I will also point out this was NOT just a case of “big, overweight Americans” – while 2 adults were large, my wife and I are very average build, and 2 other adults were of slight build (e.g. ~120 lb). Then after talking with management, I discovered that blame was incorrectly placed on the guide. No…She was terrific!! The issue with the minivan was solely the Club’s responsibility (it had “Club Petnahazy” stickers on the window), not the guide’s. Nor was the management amenable to offering a reduction in the charges. Overall – an unacceptable response from the Club to their responsibilities, for a rather expensive and extremely uncomfortable trip.

b) Information provided about the Club
I have 2 major issues with mis-leading information the Club provided:

oDriving Directions: I am still extremely angry with the Club, for the driving directions that the Club provided: They were useless!! My wife and I spent over 45 minutes trying to find the Club from jump-off point in Moscova Ter, involving 3 return trips to Moscova Ter to re-trace our steps. So, let me be specific - there is not a single street name, nor a distance mentioned in the driving directions, so it is never possible to even know if you are on the correct road, let alone how far along it you might be. Let me say that my wife and I have significant experience driving in non-US areas over the last 23 years, totaling probably ~40,000 miles – including Spain, Italy, Germany, Ireland, UK, France, Switzerland, Australia, New Zealand, Canada, as well as in less developed countries Mexico, Costa Rica, Argentina, Fiji, Samoa, Turkey. While we have gotten lost before, we have never been so completely lost and at sea as with these driving directions. I’ll also point out that we had already spent 8 days driving all around the back-roads of western and southern Hungary, and had navigated ourselves without mistake all the way from Pecs (southern Hungary) to Moscova Ter on our way to the club, earlier in the day. So we are not novices at overseas driving by any means! In this day and age of mapping tools on the internet, this is just unacceptable (the Club has a map on the website, but it is extremely high-level, and useless for navigation). I talked with the Club’s activities director about this, and she acknowledged that they have had a lot of prior problems with the directions and people getting lost. So…why haven’t they fixed it.

oLocation close to Budapest: The Club is stated to be 7 KM from Budapest, and makes it sound like no big deal to get into the city. In fact, it is closer to 10km, and it is an extremely big deal to get into the city!!! Driving in Budapest city is uniformly discouraged. So, anyone who wants to use the Club as a base to visit Budapest needs to think very closely about this and be warned. By public transportation, it is at least 60 minutes to downtown Budapest, involving 3 transfers (bus, trolley and subway) and a ~300 yard walk up a reasonable incline (difficult if you’re old or have a handicap). And public transit stops at 11pm, so if you’re out late at dinner or a show, you’re stuck. Taxis are available but are NOT CHEAP!!! The Club provides shuttles a few times a day but it still takes 30 minutes to downtown Budapest, and the shuttles are NOT CHEAP!! And again, if you stay out late, you’re stuck. The Club may be a great place to hang out with the kids. But with the choice between an hour’s transportation each way and limited hours on public transportation, versus expensive taxis and shuttles (with limited runs), this is just NOT a good base to explore Budapest. We would never have chosen the Club if we had understood the issues with the location.

19  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Alicante, Spain
114
Reviewed 31 October 2005

The Petnehazy is a lovely place where you stay in cute wooden houses. They are very clean and fully equipped with plenty of room for up to 6 people. The sorroundings are beautiful, park and forrest. It is perfect to take children and to play outside and go for long walks. It is well connected to the city by bus. It is a 30 minute ride, but the buses start early in the morning and continue till about 10 pm. There´s a 7 min. walk from the Petnehazy to the bus stop. In the hotel there´s indoor and outdoor pool and tennis. The restaurant is very nice. I recommend it very much.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Baltimore, MD
127
Reviewed 16 June 2004

This is a wonderful palce to stay. Spaciuos rooms, clean. There are full size saunas in the cabins. The restraunt is great and the pool, spa, and tourist services are superb! The staff was very helpful and freindly some spoke English and some spoke German as well. I highly recommend the Petnehazy!

27  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Óbuda-Békásmegyer
Alfa Art Hotel
Alfa Art Hotel
#179 of 336 in Budapest
36 reviews
Holiday Inn Budapest-Budaors
#123 of 336 in Budapest
232 reviews
Beatrix Hotel - Budapest
#158 of 336 in Budapest
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Budai Hotel
#178 of 336 in Budapest
40 reviews
ACHAT Premium Budapest
#153 of 336 in Budapest
282 reviews
Park Inn By Radisson Budapest
#122 of 336 in Budapest
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petnehazy Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petnehazy Club Hotel

Address: Feketefej utca 2 - 4, Budapest 1029, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #174 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range: ₹ 3,720 - ₹ 8,123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Petnehazy Club Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Petnehazy Club Hotel is located in the green area of Budapest, in the amazing 'Adyliget' - where silence meet the comfort - and they together make your stay perfect! The Petnehazy Club Hotel's natural style wood cottages are all equipped with a kitchen and kitchenettes, bathroom and an own sauna! You can use the sauna in your apartment house/cottage for free - anytime you feel like you can turn it on. In the main building our covered indoor swimming-pool is waiting for you with the main sauna and a relaxation area. Enjoy the delicious meals of our brand new Petnehazy Club Restaurant - opening in February 2012 - try the Hungarian kitchen and have a glass of real quality wine!You can even play tennis in our professional tennis court (opened all year long), or take a long walk in the fresh air of Buda-Hills!If you are about to have an active vacation full of outdoor programmes or you prefer the relaxation in the calmness of nature - your best choice in Budapest is the Petnehazy Club Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Petnehazy Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petnehazy Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing