We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (176)
Filter reviews
177 results
Traveller rating
50
67
41
14
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
50
67
41
14
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbuda hillsshuttle servicetennis courtsdanube bendthe resort offersminute drivewooden lodgeroom cabintimeshare swapthe main lodgeweek staydowntown budapestfamily vacationadjoining roomsbus stopthe wi filounge area
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 177 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2017 via mobile

Great place to stay. Not in the center. You definitely need a car to travel around. Nothing to do in the hotel except for a swimming pool and tennis court but very nice service. Surprisingly they changed our towels and took the garbage unlike other RCI club hotels. We liked it!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank IrisEr5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2017

We stayed at Petnehazy for a week through a timeshare swap. We understood it was a remote location, and thankfully had the foresight to bring up a lot of groceries from our prior week's stay on the Pest side. We definitely did not understand the public transportation to/from the resort was so unreliable. Bus 63, which transfers to Tram 61 into the city, does not run on time and you could stand for 30-45 mins waiting. We therefore felt obligated to pay the shuttle fees into town (5000 Florints for one way; a taxi will get you there for around 3200+tip). It takes about 30 mins driving to get to from Buda Square.

The resort itself is on beautiful land, but had at least 2 weddings per weekend, so not exactly quiet or relaxing. Our room (231) was away from the main venue and noise, but it meant much more foot traffic, people, slower service in restaurant, etc... There is not a lot to do if you only stay at the resort. The swimming pool was not impressive, the tennis lessons were over 6000 Florints (for both court time and coach fee) and no well established hiking trails. While we wanted to soak in the nature and beauty, there is no real way to do that. Sitting on your balcony is lovely, but smoking is quite popular, you need to be willing to have cigarette smoke wafting from below and side. The property up the road (by the same name) is better set up for activities with horse riding and other things. We had a studio with a kitchenette and I don't believe anyone had ever cooked in it before, as it was missing the toaster and the coffee maker was new. We used it every day for breakfast and a couple dinners.

The restaurant is medium, in our view. If you watch the chefs that are located outside (their "kitchen" is on the pavement), you can view their prep work, cooking, and enthusiasm (or sometimes lack of it). Breakfast was cooked the day before (as we found out watching them), so thankfully we'd already brought our own. The service is slow, due to only one waiter being on service each night. BE CAREFUL to review your bill to see if service charges are added!! Sometimes it wasn't added in, sometimes 18% was added in. Also know that you'll be charged for TAP water, which I found ridiculous.

Wifi in the room was non-existent, but we were prepared for that. It's fine in the lobby, just slow.

This might be a nice place for some, but it wasn't to our taste at all. We won't return. We are neither luxury travelers or picky; we have traveled through Europe many times, Turkey, India, etc... We understand this is a developing country, but compared to the service and stay we had in the week prior, there are plenty of other options to choose from.

Stayed: May 2017
1  Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2017

We stayed at Petnehazy Club Hotel through a friend's RCI timeshare. The previous TA reviews are spot on about the wi fi being nonexistent in the room/cabin and spotty in the lobby. Expect a cabin in the woods, and be sure to BYOT - bring your own toiletries.

For transport to and from town, we took the 10 minute walk to bus 63 into tram 61 to town. We hired the shuttle service from the airport to the hotel and back, and this saved us from having to schlep luggage to the bus stop and through the tram system. The service was adequate, and the pool/spa area is average and filled with screaming children most of the time.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank LV_Lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2016

Petnahazy Club Hotel is about 15 minutes out of Budapest up a hill , but can be reached either by public transport ( 1 tram - 59b , 1 bus - 63 ) or by using the hotel shuttle service. Suzanna the RCI rep is very knowledgeable about the area and speaks very good english.

The room we had which was a two bedded studio was clean and bright , loads of space for hanging clothes and had a balcony with a great view of the outside pool and surrounding countryside , (apt 219).

The city of Budapest is amazing , fantastic , welcoming and clean. It is a great place to hire bikes and see the city via it's many cycle paths. The public transport is some of the best I have come across , using the same type of tickets across , Buses , Trams and underground services. Through the RCI rep you can book tours direct from the hotel , including trips to Vienna and other places if you so wish.

The food in the restaurant was great and the atmosphere is lovely inside or out. We had great weather in September between 18 and 23 degrees C.

Overall impression , fantastic , we will be back.

Room Tip: studio's on top floor best for views over the pool , ie. 219 onwards.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2016

We arrived Saturday evening during a busy time when several weddings were on site. Reception was very kind. Room is beautiful. Surroundings are beautiful. Hot water to bathe, which is not always found in Hungary. Beds are comfortable. We rented a two bedroom cottage through RCI. We ordered wifi to our room for the week at an additional 3000 FT and it has worked relatively steady throughout. We discovered our panel box as when we turned on one burner on the stove, the entire house blacks out. We could not even boil water or cook an egg on stove as none of burners work. Quite upsetting when we plan to cook our own meals due to dietary concerns. Three day later, we have had no one fix, despite notifiying front reception every day since arriving. Our sauna does not work either. No remediation. Yesterday we went to have lunch as we obviously can't cook and thus decided we would have to spent money. We went at one thirty and were told to come back at two as there was a private party for lunch from previous wedding party. We went back at two thirty and nothing yet.. Still the entire wedding party and a restaurant manager running around like he was frustrated and disorganized. Told to come back in half hour. We walked grounds. We never did get lunch. We didn't eat only toast since Friday except when we went in to Dinner Cruise in Budapest last night. There are no near grocery stores, ,so bring with you, but perhaps it would do the property well to have a checklist that they go through to make sure that standard items work properly before guests arrive to avoid such dissapointments. We would stay here again, but I would make sure to write one week in advance to make sure everything was in good working order. P.S. Check your inventory list or you will be charged when you leave. We have so far found less hangers, less dishes than the inventory would suggest. Irons are not in rooms. You have to get from reception.

Room Tip: Two bedroom cottage is very beautiful
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews