We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Petnehazy Club Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Hotel Tanne
Hotel Tanne
#1 of 1 hotels in Budakeszi
2.2 km
View Hotel
#212 of 337 hotels in Budapest
2.5 km
View Hotel
Europa Hotels & Congress Center
Europa Hotels & Congress Center
#248 of 337 hotels in Budapest
3.2 km
View Hotel
Hotel Tiliana
Hotel Tiliana
#250 of 337 hotels in Budapest
3.4 km
View Hotel
Reviews (150)
Filter reviews
150 results
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthrough rcitennis courtsdanube bendthe resort offersroom cabintimeshare swapmain buildingweek stayadjoining roomsbus stoppublic transportthe wi fibuda sideshuttlesaunacityprivacy
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 150 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2016

I selected the Petnehazy because is was the best and only option through RCI. We are not disappointed. First, it's important to know a few things, 1. This is a resort in Hungary, not the US. I find when we roll with the culture, we have a better experience.

What we liked:

1. Beautiful retreat in the hills to come back to after longs days touring the city.
2. Our beds were comfortable (we slept very well).
3. Shower is good.
4. Hotel offers a two lovely pool options, tennis courts, pingpong, and more.
5. Lunch and dinner at the hotel exceeded our expectations. Delicious hungarian fare.
6. They have a full bar.
7. Studio room has kitchenette and all rooms have a usable deck that overlooks the pool and green fields. It's fresh and relaxing.

What might not suit some people:

1. Transportation: We took a taxi in and out of the city each day. Prices are so low in Budapest, we just budgeted for the cab. We paid less than $20 for 4 of us each way. A less convenient bus is available.
2. Breakfast at the Petnehazy is not good. They offer a limited selection of cereal, yogurt, bread, meets, cheese, and some small salads. The fresh fruit, isn't.
3. If you need peace and quiet, the pool scene and weekend weddings my not be for you. Personally, we like the sound of children having fun and are not bothered by it. But isn't not for everyone.
4. Internet connectivity is weak. It is best in the lobby. Consider this an opportunity to dial back your electronic use.
5. English is their 2nd or third language. Be patient. The counter staff speak english adequately. The dining room staff and bar are not engish speaker and can seem abrupt. Don't take it personally. Their mannerisms are different here.

We are a family of 4 traveling with 2 teens. We agreed we made a good choice to come here. The facility is clean and comfortable. And finally we agreed the country scene was an excellent reprieve from city tours.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FaithGalati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2016

Been there one night (couple+baby), attending a wedding party. Everybody was very friendly, check in was very easy.

We had one of those small cottages that basically are nice - but also really basic, so don't expect any luxury. However, what really needs to be said: it seems, the staff does not take to intensive care; approaching our cottage the grass was not only not mowed but even grew through the pavement.

Food was ok - nothing to write home about. The coffee offered for breakfast was horrible though - the worst vending machine coffe ever. We really liked the breakfast room which is nicely decorated.

For vacation we'd probably not go there since it is after all rather basic.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2016

very disappointed! This was our first RCI experience and I don't think I would ever be able to book one again, not sure what we will do with our timeshare now... We knew from other reviews this would be basic accommodation, which is okay. Instead we found it so noisy that we couldn't stay. We arrived Sat afternoon and found indoor pool would be closed for the week, okay there was an outdoor one if we wanted to swim. We were tired from drive from Prague so decided to eat in restaurant, don't do this. We had different main courses, both very dry with no flavour but not even cheap. Went to bed and couldn't sleep. You can hear every noise, nobody was being rowdy but you heard every person walking down the passage, every door opening and closing, somebody going to the toilet etc this went on until after 3:30 am, and I am not a light sleeper and never usually struggle to sleep in hotels. We went down to Budapest next morning, thinking it would be okay. Got back to the hotel looking forward to relaxing and reading a book. Well it was too hot to keep doors to patio closed, but in the room or on the patio was like sitting in the middle of a children's playground at break time! Our room, as do all the hotel style rooms, faced the pool. The pool didn't have room for another person, nor did the pool area and the noise was unreal. We packed our bags, checked out and moved to a hotel in Budapest. Budapest is a great city, new hotel is fantastic and we have never moved out of a hotel before ( and do a lot of travel). Don't stay here if you want to relax, chill out, sleep or anything like that. It is the worst place we have ever been, even as students we stayed in better.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank paolo l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
petnehazy, Front Office Manager at Petnehazy Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2016

Dear Paolo,

We are very dissapointed, that you haven't said a word about your problems at the hotel. We could have helped you with all of the complaints:
We could have upgraded you to a more remote cottage, to save you from the noise
We could have given you a fan to withstand the heatwave in Budapest
The restaurant would have given you a compensation for the meal
The internal pool was only closed at 16:00 on sunday, so it was open all the time you were here...

We are very sorry that you left Petneházy Club Hotel dissapointed, but if you have problems with the hotel you are in, don't hold it to yourself. Every (RCI, and non RCI) hotel aims for quality service, but we cannot help with problems we do not know of.

Best regards,
Bálint Erős

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2016

Does not go out of its way to be guest friendly. Facilities are non-existent, closed, or dilapidated.
Staff not customer focussed or friendly, and meet even mild criticism or complaint with indifference bordering on aggression.
The chalet was in poor repair, the first thing we found on entering the unit was a rat trap in the lounge(!). The crockery was minimal, and chipped/cracked. There were unsafe electrical connections. When we complained at the end of the stay the response was that we should have said so, there were other empty units (in which case why were we put in this one!).
In Budapest we found nothing but help & friendliness, so can only assume that the staff attitude at the Club Hotel was management engendered.
NOT to be recommended.
RCI have already refunded part of the points for the stay. The resort has failed (after 4 weeks) to respond to a written complaint.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2016

We traded time share points for this resort.
It is rural, lovely, not primitive, and comfy.
We drove to the resort from Prague......DO NOT ATTEMPT TO DO THIS WITHOUT A GPS and, DEFINITELY, DO NOT ARRIVE AFTER DARK!!!!!
WAY too much STRESS!!!!
One must remember, the GPS satellites are not as numerous over the Eastern European countries...or so it seems...it's a true "driver" and "navigator" nightmare.

Once there.....it's lovely...it was cold and we didn't have to deal with the lack of AC, as the other commentators have noted. We had a cabin. It was warm and cozy.
The kitchen was small...stove top, small frig, small sink...small appliances were plentiful...microwave...which did have some sort of convection function...BUT..there are not booklets or directions....we discovered it after a couple of days.
But, one is perfectly able to pull together a meal...
Bathroom had two sinks, large shower, toilet, bidet, and granite...very nice.
We had a car, so the grocery stores(2 large) were easy..ALDO and TESCO. Tesco has a larger selection and better prices. Lots of fresh vegies and the breads are great!!!
There's a drive to Budapest...but it's not outrageous.
We didn't use public transit, although, it is available..nor did we use the facility transit.
We looked at the restaurant menu....and perhaps it is seasonal,..but there were just too many entrees of goose for us...so sadly, we can not comment on that either.
The reception staff were helpful. Our RCI info indicated that the reception closed at 8pm..not so...it's 24 hrs. That would have been helpful when we were driving...but, that is on RCI!!!
As with most time shares, we were told the linens would be changed mid week...not so, the house keepers arrived daily and exchanged the used towels, and provided any shampoo, lotions, etc..... we needed.
The town just below the resort has a small grocery, drug stores and a post office.
Since it was cold, we didn't use the heated pool, nor the massage services. We had planned to, just didn't get to it.

This would probably be great in the warmer months....as we ascended the "hill", our temps dropped several degrees...so I would assume in the warmer months...it would be cooler here than in Budapest.

Room Tip: I'd ask for a cabin...but the hotel rooms face to pool.....
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SnMagician
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews