We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a family holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Petnehazy Club Hotel
Ranked #184 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Reviewed 1 August 2011

stayed at the petnahazy for the last week in july. got a timeshare exchange with rci..we stayed in the chalets which were very comfortable and functional though could do with a few more stronger light bulbs.
The food in the restaurant was excellent especially the all you can eat and drink sunday brunch. It does seem to be the place where "budapest" holds its functions. The weekends being taken up with various parties and weddings .I understand that those staying in the hotel were kept awake at night but as we were in the chalets we never heard a thing.
However we felt it added to the charm of the place and all the party guests seemed to be quite bemused by all the different tourist types wandering around.
From the door of the chalet to the centre of budapest takes 45 mins.Yes there was a 10 to 15 minute walk to and from the bus stop which could be a little arduous for the unfit as it was a bit" uphill and down dale". However the transport system in budapest was excellent and we never waited more than 3 minutes for any form of transport.
the rci rep was very informative and helpful. she made it qiute plain that the best option was the weekly travel card and where to buy it. The reception only offers single tickets. We felt the excursions seemed a bit pricey but then we have a large family and are consequently adept at doing a lot of things ourself despite the reps offer of hefty child discounts for us.
There is a large supermarket at the tram stop in the city where you can buy most things. Perhaps not wise to buy frozen produce which is not being eaten that night due to the journey times.
If you are the type of person who insists on 5 star luxury and are not prepared to be put out in anyway shape or form then this establishment is not for you.I would thoroughly reccommend it to families and to those who are happy with comfortable basics and civilised service. For a time share exchange in a beautiful city like budapest it is an absolute bargain....though probably best to stay in the chalets even if it means being a liitle economical with the truth about your party size.

Room Tip: say there are at least five people in your party with the rci exchange and you will be given a large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pluto18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PetnehazyClubHotel, Director of Sales at Petnehazy Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2012

Dear pluto18,

Thank you for your reveiw, it's really important for us! I'm glad to hear that you had a great stay in our hotel, we would like to welcome You again as a guest in the future!

I'm sure that other TripAdvisor users will find your experiences useful.

If next time you would visit other hotel again, please do not hesitate to contact us!

Best regards from Budapest,
Petnehazy Club Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

83 - 87 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2011

booked with infiniti and were looking forward to it, arrived late sat night, no welcome pack in room, much too far to go to shops anyway even if they were not closed.

Ate in hotel, not great but fairly cheap ,though 12% added to bill unexpectedly, seems common in Budapest.

There was a wedding on which occupied the staff and one felt very much secondary to the wedding, had a couple of beers, not knowing that the bar closed at 21.00 to hotel guests and only the wedding party was allowed drinks.

Asked for a coffee and as the young lady was getting it another member of staff was very unpleasant and told us no drinks, wedding party only. he seemed to think I was taking advantage of the staff!!

so we had nothing in the room and could get nothing from the bar,

explanation next day was that the staff worked from 7am till 21.00 so the bar must be closed, at 21.00.

Why not employ someone else and if it is open anyway why would you refuse to serve hotel guests? would have been nice to unwind a bit with a drink or even a cup of tea in our room but could not do this till we had shopped on Sun. They know this as the trip on Sun pm includes a stop at the supermarket, no flies on these folk.

I could have asked the bus driver to stop while we shopped but did not like to as other people in the bus and thought I would at least get a drink in the hotel.

very far out and especially if you need to carry shopping, shuttle bus needs to be booked and paid for for each journey, no free shuttle as in other hotels. it also gets back early in the evening so if you want to stay out you need to do the long walk, ok if good weather and you are fairly fit but not suitable for some people. gets expensive if you keep using shuttle bus + travel ticket.

asked for linen change as sheet very threadbare and I kept sleeping on bare uncomfy matress and had to pay! was also asked how much of the bed I wanted changed, the implication being that each bit needed to be paid for, in the end i got a sheet and 2 pillowslips for 1,000 Forints. I have never before, even in my student days had to pay for a linen change. towells were changed x 2 in a week.

No hairdrier as the hotel had only a couple and these were already borrowed, we were luckier with a kettle though had to ask for that as only perculator in room.


Rci meeting had no welcome drink, not even coffee, never had that before! always wine, beer,coffee or juice.

On checking out were suddenly stung for local tax, not a great deal 2.500 Forints and might have been ok had we been warned but just out of blue on our last hour! wonder what would have happened if we had no money left as rci representative not happy to take plastic for trips so had to go to cashpoint to get enough money.

Budapest is gorgeous and we would happily come again but will not use timeshare as this is the only one, I would book one of the many lovely apartments or hotels in the city center.

Shame really as there was no truly basic fault could be a good place but needs sorting out. possibly cottages were alot better.


Must say some staff were very pleasant and helpful, whole place needs a lot of tweaking and could be really nice. Bus driver and son and resturant manager pleasant as well as some others, shame some staff permitted to be very rude to guests, coloured our whole stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lambkin21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2011

All in all the hotel is very nice and spacious..
Very clean and big with your own little kitchen and fridge and a balcony facing the pool and the mountain...

Their restaurant was a big disappointment.
We ate at their restaurant for a dinner.
We ordered a pasta with ham but its just a past aand nothing more...''
Its like pasta + 1 ham small piece + sour creme thats all

Its like chewing gum...

But the hotel is nice and worth it.

Theres no wifi.. You must pay for it and thats a disappointment...

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wisetraveller85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
petnehazy, Director of Sales at Petnehazy Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2011

Thank you very much for your review it is very useful for us!
We are going to make all necessary developments to make a higher quality of restaurant services - to fullfil all guest needs.

We do hope we can welcome you back in our hotel in the future time!

Best regards,
Petnehazy Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2011

We've stayed at this hotel twice, both in July. We love the pool, the restaurant is very good if you order from the menu. The evening buffet they have some nights is not very good - which made me shocked that the menu food was so wonderful. We had a studio which is small, but adequate. We prepared breakfast in our room every day and ate on the balcony. Cleanliness is good, and I am very particular.

You really do want a car if you stay here - it is on the very edge of the city. But because it is so far out, it is very quiet at night.

We swam in the outdoor pool a lot, indoor one is not quite as nice. Great espresso in the morning at the bar, and even pool side.

The microwave had to be replaced when we were there as it went crazy - but it was replaced very quickly. Free wifi in the reception area.

We booked this through RCI and would stay there again. We've only stayed in the hotel part, not the cottages, but I'd like to see them.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank worldtravellers4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PetnehazyClubHotel, Director of Sales at Petnehazy Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2011

Thank you very much for your kind words! We are very happy that you enjoyed your holiday at our hotel and we are definately waiting for you to come back and try the spacious and charming cottages! For reservation and special discount please write to me at sales@abbaziagroup.com! Have a great day & kind regards, Gyongyi Hajdu - sales manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2010

We used it as a base to visit the various sites etc of Budapest. It was a thouroughly enjoyable stay, with good facilities, good accomodation, good food but most of all superb staff.
The hotel runs transport into a main terminus in the city (15-20mins approx) and it is efficient (and cheap).

Would recommend the Hotel to anyone and hopefully they would enjoy it as much as we did.

David & Margaret

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fsixnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Óbuda-Békásmegyer
Alfa Art Hotel
Alfa Art Hotel
#198 of 336 in Budapest
36 reviews
Csaszar Hotel
#177 of 336 in Budapest
220 reviews
Park Inn By Radisson Budapest
#126 of 336 in Budapest
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Óbuda-Békásmegyer
Aquamarina Hotel
Aquamarina Hotel
#161 of 336 in Budapest
140 reviews
Holiday Inn Budapest-Budaors
#127 of 336 in Budapest
236 reviews
Hotel Regnum Residence
#96 of 336 in Budapest
998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petnehazy Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petnehazy Club Hotel

Address: Feketefej utca 2 - 4, Budapest 1029, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #184 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range: ₹ 4,231 - ₹ 12,375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Petnehazy Club Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Petnehazy Club Hotel is located in the green area of Budapest, in the amazing 'Adyliget' - where silence meet the comfort - and they together make your stay perfect! The Petnehazy Club Hotel's natural style wood cottages are all equipped with a kitchen and kitchenettes, bathroom and an own sauna! You can use the sauna in your apartment house/cottage for free - anytime you feel like you can turn it on. In the main building our covered indoor swimming-pool is waiting for you with the main sauna and a relaxation area. Enjoy the delicious meals of our brand new Petnehazy Club Restaurant - opening in February 2012 - try the Hungarian kitchen and have a glass of real quality wine!You can even play tennis in our professional tennis court (opened all year long), or take a long walk in the fresh air of Buda-Hills!If you are about to have an active vacation full of outdoor programmes or you prefer the relaxation in the calmness of nature - your best choice in Budapest is the Petnehazy Club Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Petnehazy Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petnehazy Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing