We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (178)
Filter reviews
178 results
Traveller rating
50
67
41
15
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
50
67
41
15
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbuda hillsshuttle servicetennis courtsdanube bendthe resort offersminute drivewooden lodgeroom cabintimeshare swapthe main lodgeweek staydowntown budapestfamily vacationadjoining roomsbus stopthe wi filounge area
Filter
Updating list...
100 - 105 of 178 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2011

booked with infiniti and were looking forward to it, arrived late sat night, no welcome pack in room, much too far to go to shops anyway even if they were not closed.

Ate in hotel, not great but fairly cheap ,though 12% added to bill unexpectedly, seems common in Budapest.

There was a wedding on which occupied the staff and one felt very much secondary to the wedding, had a couple of beers, not knowing that the bar closed at 21.00 to hotel guests and only the wedding party was allowed drinks.

Asked for a coffee and as the young lady was getting it another member of staff was very unpleasant and told us no drinks, wedding party only. he seemed to think I was taking advantage of the staff!!

so we had nothing in the room and could get nothing from the bar,

explanation next day was that the staff worked from 7am till 21.00 so the bar must be closed, at 21.00.

Why not employ someone else and if it is open anyway why would you refuse to serve hotel guests? would have been nice to unwind a bit with a drink or even a cup of tea in our room but could not do this till we had shopped on Sun. They know this as the trip on Sun pm includes a stop at the supermarket, no flies on these folk.

I could have asked the bus driver to stop while we shopped but did not like to as other people in the bus and thought I would at least get a drink in the hotel.

very far out and especially if you need to carry shopping, shuttle bus needs to be booked and paid for for each journey, no free shuttle as in other hotels. it also gets back early in the evening so if you want to stay out you need to do the long walk, ok if good weather and you are fairly fit but not suitable for some people. gets expensive if you keep using shuttle bus + travel ticket.

asked for linen change as sheet very threadbare and I kept sleeping on bare uncomfy matress and had to pay! was also asked how much of the bed I wanted changed, the implication being that each bit needed to be paid for, in the end i got a sheet and 2 pillowslips for 1,000 Forints. I have never before, even in my student days had to pay for a linen change. towells were changed x 2 in a week.

No hairdrier as the hotel had only a couple and these were already borrowed, we were luckier with a kettle though had to ask for that as only perculator in room.

Rci meeting had no welcome drink, not even coffee, never had that before! always wine, beer,coffee or juice.

On checking out were suddenly stung for local tax, not a great deal 2.500 Forints and might have been ok had we been warned but just out of blue on our last hour! wonder what would have happened if we had no money left as rci representative not happy to take plastic for trips so had to go to cashpoint to get enough money.

Budapest is gorgeous and we would happily come again but will not use timeshare as this is the only one, I would book one of the many lovely apartments or hotels in the city center.

Shame really as there was no truly basic fault could be a good place but needs sorting out. possibly cottages were alot better.

Must say some staff were very pleasant and helpful, whole place needs a lot of tweaking and could be really nice. Bus driver and son and resturant manager pleasant as well as some others, shame some staff permitted to be very rude to guests, coloured our whole stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lambkin21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2011

All in all the hotel is very nice and spacious..
Very clean and big with your own little kitchen and fridge and a balcony facing the pool and the mountain...

Their restaurant was a big disappointment.
We ate at their restaurant for a dinner.
We ordered a pasta with ham but its just a past aand nothing more...''
Its like pasta + 1 ham small piece + sour creme thats all

Its like chewing gum...

But the hotel is nice and worth it.

Theres no wifi.. You must pay for it and thats a disappointment...

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wisetraveller85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
petnehazy, Director of Sales at Petnehazy Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2011

Thank you very much for your review it is very useful for us!
We are going to make all necessary developments to make a higher quality of restaurant services - to fullfil all guest needs.

We do hope we can welcome you back in our hotel in the future time!

Best regards,
Petnehazy Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2011

We've stayed at this hotel twice, both in July. We love the pool, the restaurant is very good if you order from the menu. The evening buffet they have some nights is not very good - which made me shocked that the menu food was so wonderful. We had a studio which is small, but adequate. We prepared breakfast in our room every day and ate on the balcony. Cleanliness is good, and I am very particular.

You really do want a car if you stay here - it is on the very edge of the city. But because it is so far out, it is very quiet at night.

We swam in the outdoor pool a lot, indoor one is not quite as nice. Great espresso in the morning at the bar, and even pool side.

The microwave had to be replaced when we were there as it went crazy - but it was replaced very quickly. Free wifi in the reception area.

We booked this through RCI and would stay there again. We've only stayed in the hotel part, not the cottages, but I'd like to see them.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank worldtravellers4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PetnehazyClubHotel, Director of Sales at Petnehazy Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2011

Thank you very much for your kind words! We are very happy that you enjoyed your holiday at our hotel and we are definately waiting for you to come back and try the spacious and charming cottages! For reservation and special discount please write to me at sales@abbaziagroup.com! Have a great day & kind regards, Gyongyi Hajdu - sales manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2010

We used it as a base to visit the various sites etc of Budapest. It was a thouroughly enjoyable stay, with good facilities, good accomodation, good food but most of all superb staff.
The hotel runs transport into a main terminus in the city (15-20mins approx) and it is efficient (and cheap).

Would recommend the Hotel to anyone and hopefully they would enjoy it as much as we did.

David & Margaret

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fsixnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2010

The location is very quiet and close to woodland, you wouldn't think that a major city was nearby. There are some nice chalet style bungalows, however, we were given a small apartment (one double bed) in the main barracks which was rather basic and sparten, the sort of thing which you would expect workers on holiday to be given in communist times. The weather was too cold (in June) for the outdoor swimming pool and the indoor swimming pool was being repaired for half the week, and was crowded after it reopened. The on-site restaurant was OK, average. The reception had organised tours you could go on and the people who ran these were good, although they were a little pricey. The access road to the hotel from the arterial route needed major resurfacing, but this is probably not something the hotel has control over.

Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Blitzem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews