We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #12 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2017 via mobile

I booked this through United's app and was very very happy with it.

The location is great--near the Metro and trolley. The staff was very friendly and the English spoken was excellent.

Good breakfast, nice rooms with makeup mirror in the bathroom and very nice toiletries.

Only two small things--they had water available in the lobby but it was empty several times and while we hung up our towels to reuse them, the maid replaced one anyway. One.

But overall, a great place to stay and we would happily go back.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank orracle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan K, Rooms Division Manager at Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

Dear "orracle",

Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about the excellent stay you recently had at the Hotel Nemzeti. I was really happy to readyour compliments on the location of the hotel, the communication and service provided by the staff and the quality of the breakfast.
In this heat that we have at the moment we can not be fast enough refilling the complimentary lemonade in the lobby. We do our best...:)
I hope we will see you again soon!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,866)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

48 - 52 of 1,866 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2017

Great hotel in the old style with nice rooms and a very nice restaurant. Worth the stay. The restaurant has good food and a very nice selection of dishes. Well located in the city, close to shops and to sites.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank verdun2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan K, Rooms Division Manager at Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

Dear "verdun2",

Thank you for the kind review. I was happy to read, that you found a nice place to stay in Budapest. I hope we will see you again soon.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017

We are here currently and echo all the lovely things that previous reviews have said. The staff are really amazing and kind, with lots of top tips and suggestions. Our vegetarian breakfasts including a nut allergy were catered for with care and ease. The hotel taxi is far better than any local ones, and the trip from the airport to the hotel was so stress free when pre booked via the hotel.
A few tips for travellers that we wish we had known, use local currency, credit cards more than euros, taxis are easier if there are four of you travelling. The river cruise is fab and the evening ones get booked up quickly. The parliament tour in English also gets booked up quickly so pre book. The main spa is so relaxing you can spend the whole day there.

Room Tip: The rooms with a pleasant view of the courtyard are wonderful to stay in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank g72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dániel P, Guest Relation Expert at Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Dear "g72"

Thank you for choosing Hotel Nemzeti for your stay!
It is great pleasure to read about your experiences with us, I'm happy we could provide assistance with things to do, things to see.
We try to improve our breakfast continuously and i'm glad it suited your needs.
Thank you for sharing these tips. they are indeed very useful for your fellow travelers!

If you plan to visit again, do not hesitate to contact us directly, we are expecting you back!

Kind regards,
Daniel Pettermann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017

Overall I had a pleasant experience at this hotel. They were helpful when I needed to buy spa tickets and the hop on-hop off bus pass. (For future travelers, I would recommend the city bus or metro. I felt safe. The hop-on bus doesn't come as often and I felt I had to wait around a lot. It's not worth it).

The room was cozy and clean. The speaker for the TV was in the bathroom which I thought was strange. The free bottled water was replenished and appreciated after a long day of touring.

The breakfast was very good. There was a lot of variety. I would also make a little sandwich a snack for later on. Even the flavored water in the lobby was a great touch. There's a grocery store around the corner if you need anything else.

I only wish the hotel was a little closer to the river, but you can always take the bus or metro (3 stops) to the Parliament.

I felt very safe as a solo traveler.

Room Tip: I asked for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunscreen30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan K, Rooms Division Manager at Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

Dear "Sunscreen30",

Thank you very much for sharing your recent experience at the Hotel Nemzeti. I am really happy to read, that you had a lovely stay and would be happy to recommend our services to any traveller.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017

Stayed for 4 nights in a very quiet twin room facing the courtyard on the second floor. Arrived on foot from station (10 minute walk) and were immediately helped with bags. Following check in we were given brief tour of facilities and shown to our room. Hotel recently renovated and so everything in good condition. Room had big shower, good a/c, safe, mini-bar, wifi and was plenty big enough (by European standards). We had a couple of bottles of free water in our room everyday. Very good buffet breakfast with plenty of staff to keep things topped up and in order (inc fizz). Also additional items (eg fried eggs) to order. The hotel is used by Viking cruises but there were no large groups so no problem. Only one lift but this was never a problem, in fact if you are able walk down the grand staircase in the morning, it's a great way to start the day. The location is good with tram and subway stops right outside although it's only 20 min walk into the city centre. A choice of supermarkets nearby. All of the staff we encountered were very cheerful, polite and helpful. No hesitation to recommend on our experience. Please see review of A2B for airport transfers.

Room Tip: room 218 very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank priestfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan K, Rooms Division Manager at Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

Dear "priestfield",

Thank you very much for taking the time to share the excellent experience you have had at the Hotel Nemzeti. I was happy to read, that you had a warm welcome, and found all the comfort you were looking for in the room. I also appreciate your compliments on the breakfast and the location of the hotel. Thank you again for your kindness and the recommendation. I hope we will have the chance to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 334 in Budapest
4,910 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#39 of 334 in Budapest
4,450 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#14 of 334 in Budapest
2,492 reviews
Andrássy út
Hotel Moments Budapest
Hotel Moments Budapest
#2 of 334 in Budapest
1,322 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#16 of 334 in Budapest
7,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel

Address: Jozsef korut 4., Budapest 1088, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#11 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#12 Family Hotel in Budapest
#17 Business Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: ₹ 6,689 - ₹ 13,703 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The centrally located Hotel Nemzeti Budapest Mgallery by Sofitel welcomes its guest from December 2012.Enjoy the artistic spirit of Budapest in this elegant 19th century building historically linked to the local cultural life. Near business district and major touristic attractions, the hotel offers memorable moments for its guests. Unique cultural and culinary experiences, contemporary designed rooms with every comfort of a 4 star upscale hotel including free internet access, coffee & tea facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Prestigia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Budapest Nemzeti Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Nemzeti

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing