We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Köszönöm Hilton” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Budapest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hilton Budapest
Ranked #19 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Köszönöm Hilton”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

Having heard about dubious taxi prices in Budapest, we pre-booked transfers from & to the airport via the hotel for HUF 12,000 & HUF 7,200 respectively which went perfectly. We were checked in by a trainee on main reception who was very professional and informative.

As Gold members we were upgraded to a street view room on the executive floor. The room (338) was large, spotlessly clean, with an enormous bed which was extremely comfortable. It had the usual Hilton freebies – toiletries, tea & coffee and daily bottle of water. It also had an in-room safe and multi-lingual TV, English channels including CNN, Bloomberg, BBC World & Eurosport.

The Executive Lounge had its own staff who helped us with bookings and general information (far more useful than the nearby tourist information office). A limited self-service breakfast is available in the lounge, but we tried the main breakfast in the restaurant as well which was also good with a wider choice. We ate in the lobby bar one evening which was up to usual Hilton standards. We found all staff in the hotel to be very friendly, helpful and efficient – reception, concierge, bar staff, luggage team.

The hotel has a luggage store, useful when you have a late flight. There is a taxi stand right outside, and of course a stop for the infamous number 16 bus which takes you over to Pest (reception can sell individual tickets, but if you want a book of tickets or daily passes, you need to get them from the post office about 100 yards away). The hotel stands on a historic square, right next to St Matthias church and the Fishermen’s bastion – busy during the day, but quietens so much in the evening you don’t believe you’re still in a major city!

We thoroughly enjoyed our four night stay – this hotel is the best of the many Hiltons we have stayed in, we have nothing to fault, and is a credit to Hilton. We look forward to returning soon.

Room Tip: Street view rooms also attractive, but noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SP010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,929 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,681
    964
    213
    50
    21
See reviews for
465
1,813
194
756
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,031)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

My husband and I stayed here last year. Our flight from JFK was delayed overnight so we got into Budapest in the wee hours of the morning. Thank goodness our prepaid shuttle bus vouchers were still honored AND that their airport desk was staffed at 2 am!! We checked into our corner room at the Hilton and opened the bifold wooden doors that blocked light from coming in through the windows and noticed police sirens and a parade of cars down below. It was a delegation from the city of Shanghai getting the royal treatment as they checked into our hotel. Our room overlooked the beautiful cathedral next door. It was a good size and the bathroom was fine. We are gold members so we got breakfast with our room. The breakfasts were very good and substantial. We also went to the executive lounge each night after touring. The service was efficient and various food items were laid out in the evening. We always got back too late so we snacked on the nuts and items of the sort that were still out. We loved the location because at night, after the tour buses and tourists have left for the day, the castle district is quiet and a nice place to take an uncrowded, pleasant walk in a beautiful, historical setting. A bus stop is across the plaza from the hotel. If we ever go back, we will certainly stay at this hotel again. We noticed that a lot of river cruise companies use this hotel for their clients.

Room Tip: The corner rooms are large and ours had a fabulous view of the cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krasnodar, Russia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

Hilton - Castle district is one of the oldest international chain hotels in Budapest and did not see any revovation for quite a while. So while the hotel basic structure is good, it is quite tired all around. Rooms are of good size and but everything besides plazma TV is quite old. In partocular , airconditioner looks like it is from the 80s and sounds like that. Besides the noise from internal A/C unit (noise was more obvious that the cooling - quite poor), I also have experienced quite some vidbation in my 6th (top) floor room - I susopect that comes from the central A/C unit located at the roof. That is why I would advise to avoid top floor in this hotel unless you do not case much about vibration noise. Yet another word of caution: beware taxi drivers are often cheating even those whoch are called in by concierge. I would recommend calling CitiTaxi or 6x6 - one of large reputable taxi companies yourself or ask concierge explicitly to do so. Breakfast is 27 Euro at this hotel - although selection is quite good - but there are may resurants around where you can find breakfast for much lower prices. Main restaurant Icon is OK but food is quite average and value for money is below average.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lkarnauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sorocaba, SP
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

The staff is in an adequate level to attend in this wonderfull castle.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ACGPeixoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
214 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

I stayed in this hotel for just one night. The staff is great, the room was of good size, but had nothing special, The curtains looked a little bit outdated. I had a view on St Mathias Cathedral, not on the Danube.
In my opinion, the hotel building is a wart in the castle ditrict. (This opinion is my personal opinion). The argument that it's located in a Unesco world heritage site is not my favoutie. Such an awful building in such a pretty place! The castle district is very romantic at night, when the tourists are gone.
The hotel is packed with north american cruise and group travellers. Not my kind of favourite fellow travellers, but this is Hilton!
The breakfast was good, but I was not impressed at all, even more on the disapointed side. Nothing really hungarian like, except the paprika sausages.
The hotel is located centrally for the castle district, but public transportation is not really the best point of this hotel, there's only bus 16 and 16a that stops near the hotel (stop; Matyas templon). You are not exactly in the center of Budapest, because you just have castle district near you, all the rest is downhill or on the other side of the Danube.
Peiz Restaurant in front of the hotel is worth a visit. Creative cuisine with hungarian roots.
Taxis waiting outside of the hotel (black mercedes without company name) are super expensive. Better walk a few meters away to find other taxis. Prices for taxi are not fixed in Budapest, and each company applies different rate. Find a cheaper company than the one in front of the hotel!
Another thing, free wi-fi is in the executive lounge. In your room, prices for wi-fi in the room is a rip-off: 27 euros (more than 30 dollars) for 24 hours!
Next time I will go to the Hilton West End, which is more modern and better conected with public transportation.

If you're coming from the airport, you can take bus 200E (arrival level) to the metro line 3. In less than one hour, you will be at Deak square. cost is 320 HUF for the bus, and another 320 HUF for the metro.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seventynine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing this throughout review. I am sorry to learn that you were disappointed with your recent stay at our hotel and would appologize for the fact that you have not as yet received response you have raised on departure. We always strive to offer the highest level of service and it would appear that on this occasion we failed to meet your expectations.

I'd like to inform you that internet will be available in public areas free of charge in all Hilton Hotels as of 1st January.

We do hope that despite your disappointment, we still have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Hilton Budapest at some point in the future.

Best regards,
Zoltan Arvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,551 reviews
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#23 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,178 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#17 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Budapest? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Budapest

Property: Hilton Budapest
Address: Hess Andras ter 1-3., Budapest 1014, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#14 Family Hotel in Budapest
#15 Business Hotel in Budapest
#17 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,640 - ₹ 22,147
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Prestigia so you can book your Hilton Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Budapest - Castle District Hotel Budapest
Budapest Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing