We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Budapest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hilton Budapest
Ranked #19 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Larchmont, New York
Level Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

Beautiful facilities, great location, excellent service. The only complaint was that they could not seem to get the heat under control in our room. The room was large enough to comfortably accommodate a rollaway for our 15-year old.

Staff was exceptionally accommodating and room rate included full buffet breakfast.

Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanG9141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Budapest and submitting your review on Tripadvisor website.

I am glad to read you liked our location and you were pleased with our serivce.
Thank you for letting us know about your experience regarding the heat control in your room, which I have forwarded to the relevant head of department for further action.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best regards,

Zoltan Arvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,927 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,679
    964
    213
    50
    21
See reviews for
465
1,812
194
755
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,031)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

I stayed at this hotel on a trip to celebrate a dear friend's 50th birthday. I usually dislike staying in large American chain hotels when I travel abroad and was very skeptical when my friend wanted to stay here, but it was a delightful surprise. The hotel has the usual Hilton amenities (comfortable beds, clean rooms, hair drier, same toiletries as every other Hilton on the planet, tea kettle, staff fluent in English) but also has an unexpected unique "small local hotel" feel. It felt, well, Hungarian. All the staff, from the front desk to the porters, Concierges, and housekeeping were welcoming, friendly, helpful, and kind.

The location can't be beat, right at the top of Castle Hill. Very quiet (and very safe for women travelers) at night, a wonderful place to take an after-dinner walk along Fisherman's Bastion and the old quarter of Buda and look out at the gorgeous Danube and the lights of Pest, Parliament, etc. During the day the area fills up with tourists and is crowded, but in the morning and evening it empties out... we felt like it was "our own little neighborhood" at those times, which was just wonderful, and relaxing to "come home" to at the end of a busy day of sightseeing. There are good restaurants in the area (ask the Concierge for recommendations before you go so you can avoid the tourist-traps). There's also a fun supermarket (CBA) just down the street which has a quiet upstairs cafe for inexpensive, good espresso/pastries for breakfast and tasty sandwiches, etc. for picnic lunches, plus they carry any essentials you might have forgotten at home, and also paprika and Unicum for the last-minute souvenir/gift shopping.

The location was very convenient and easily walkable (or, travel by bus or funicular, the bus to the riverfront and Pest stops almost right in front of the hotel and runs frequently) for exploring the rest of Buda and Pest. Things are much closer and more easily accessible than they appear on a map, and it was no problem to get to Pest for sightseeing.

This hotel would be perfect both for U.S. travellers who like the comfort of returning to a familiar American-style hotel at the end of the day, and also for travellers (like me) who prefer Rick-Steves-style travel with small local hotels and cultural immersion. We loved it, and will definitely stay again on our next trip in June.

A final note for women travellers -- I frequently travel solo in Europe for business and occasionally solo for leisure, and I'm extremely safety-conscious. The location of this hotel is great for women travellers, and we felt completely safe wandering the streets in the neighborhood late at night. I also felt totally safe on an early morning solo run. Budapest in general feels safer than some other European cities, but this particular neighborhood is safer and quieter than others, especially at night/early morning. The hotel also feels secure, and staff appear to be attentive to who is coming in/out the doors.

Room Tip: River-view room is worth the extra -- truly stunning views of the Danube and the Szechenyi (Chain) B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maeve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to respond on your experience while staying with us here at the Hilton Budapest.

I appreciate your generous comments about our exceptional location highlighting the unique architectural monuments, emphasising the safety of Buda Castle District protected by UNESCO World Heritage and the state.

I am also grateful for letting other guests know of your positive experience of our team working passionatly to ensure all our valued guests have a pleasant stay.

Once again, I am grateful for your kind remarks and we will continue to take care of you and all our valued guests. Before you come back in June, please send an e-mail to my PA at judit.nagy@hilton.com. I look forward to hearing from you.

With best regards,

Zoltan Arvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

A great location. Choose a River view for the best rooms. It was a hard decision whether to stay in Pest or Buda, but this didn't disappoint. Good selection of local restaurants and nice and quiet.

Room Tip: Choose a River View for spectacular views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank evansfamily31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Budapest and taking the time to share your review with Tripadvisor Community.
I am glad to learn from your comments you had a great stay with us and you were pleased with our service. Thank you for letting other travellers know you were impressed by the unique view form our hotel.
Hope to welcome you back in the future.

Best regards,

Zoltan Arvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

I travel a lot & stay at Hilton's & Conrad's etc when possible. The Hilton Budapest-Castle Dist. is truly a special place. It's located in the middle of "Old Town" up on the hill on the Buda side of Budapest. Its literally in the middle of "The Castle District"....just feet away from Matthias Church, Fisherman's Bastion & a very short walk to the Presidents Office, Museum's etc.

I was upgrade to the Executive Level (Hilton Gold) w/ access to the lounge which was great & had lovely views of the Danube River, Pest and The Parliament Bldg. I was hoping to get a River view , but none were available....

Keep in mind that the river is a 10-15 minute walk; not super easy....lots of stairs or switchbacks.

I highly recommend using "Hop On-Hop Off" bus/tour etc while in Budapest. The ticket is cheap and the bus stop in 3 minutes away from the hotel. Plus, the ticket is good for 2 days and is good for both lines (Red & Yellow) & the boat; a great value!

In addition, the staff in the Executive Lounge and the front desk are wonderful & so helpful!
Wifi free in the Exec. Lounge, but not avail in the rooms; that was the only drawback.

Stay here and you'll have a great trip/holiday or vacation!

Room Tip: Reserve a river view in advance; well worth the 25 Euro.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yates26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments on Tripadvisor, I would like to personally respond and thank you.

Your opinions are much appreciated, as they enable us to monitor, if we are meeting guests needs and expectations. Thank you for your feedback regarding the unique location of our hotel and the stunning views historic sights of Buda Castle District. We are also happy to hear you were impressed by the services of our executive Club Lounge. I will make sure to share your kind feedback with the whole team.

Thank you all again for being our guests and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best regards,

Zoltan Arvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

Location, location, location.... What else can you say! the views are incredible and the historic " village" offered excellent dinning options close by.

While we were there, construction was going on behind the hotel, which made for a very noisy breakfast each morning, but once completed, the plaza area will be wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HotelguyMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments with Tripadvisor Community.
I am happy to read that you were impressed by our unique locataion and in general you were pleased with our services.

We look forward to the pleasure to welcoming you back real soon.

Best regards,

Zoltan Arvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,549 reviews
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#22 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,178 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#17 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Budapest? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Budapest

Property: Hilton Budapest
Address: Hess Andras ter 1-3., Budapest 1014, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Budapest
#14 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#15 Business Hotel in Budapest
#17 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,620 - ₹ 22,120
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA and Prestigia so you can book your Hilton Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Budapest - Castle District Hotel Budapest
Budapest Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing