We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Ranked #33 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
virginia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Loved this hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

I was in Budapest 3 days traveling with a friend who had a conference there. In this hotel every room has a view. We got the exec package so stayed on the 9th Exec floor and had club privileges. This meant access to their lounge up there. They have an outside deck that offers wonderful views of the Danube and the Buda side and free breakfast + the food & drinks they put out in the evening was satisfying enough we just never went out to dinner.
This location of the hotel was perfect too as said by others. You are close to the Chain Bridge. We also took a Mercedes car from there to the airport. It was 24 euros flat rate (works best if you have 4 people).

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katgriffey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,794 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,600
    940
    186
    45
    23
See reviews for
368
1,180
141
572
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (750)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Derby
Level Contributor
71 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

I can only endorse the positive comments already made on TA regarding the Budapest Marriott.
The location is fantastic for sightseeing, restaurants and shopping. There is a Tram stop virtually outside the hotel so links to all transport systems were good. Our room on the 5th floor was large and comfortable and offered superb views of the Danube. The breakfast was excellent with great choice and quality of food and excellent service. We made use of the one hour free internet access each morning being supplied with a Wi-Fi code on request as we entered the dining room. We did not use the Spa facilities but they looked very good.
Budapest is a very picturesque city and to be able to see the Buda hills and the Chain Bridge from our room really added to our enjoyment during our stay.
We travelled in from the airport to the city centre using the 200E bus. The stop is located just to the left as you exit Terminal 2. It transported us to the beginning of the Blue Metro Line (2) from where we took the metro. It was very easy, lots of people were doing it and it was extremely good value at approximately £2. The journey took about 45 minutes.
We also used the Red Open Top Hop On Hop Off bus and would recommend it. It allowed us two days travel with a one hour Danube river cruise included, all with an audio guide.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happyviator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abergele, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

Stayed 5 nights whilst visiting Budapest. Hotel in the most perfect location on the banks of the Danube. Perfect for trams, buses, river cruises, restaurants and shopping. Rooms (all have stunning views overlooking the Danube) looking across to the Castle Hill with the palace,funicular, churches and other landmarks. The night views when the bridges (especially the Chain Bridge), palace, historic buildings and the magnificent Parliament building were lit were even more stunning. Ate dinner twice in the hotel restaurant - Service attentive, helpful and friendly (in fact all of the Hungarian people we met or spoke to were like that), food excellent reasonably priced bearing in mind it's a 5 star hotel in the centre of a capital city. Hotel room was spacious but the bathroom was a little small and nowhere to hang "smalls" washing. The room had temperature controls, it was difficult to maintain a constant acceptable temperature throughout the night. Nevertheless highly recommended.

Room Tip: Best views from rooms on Chain Bridge side of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helenamike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longmeadow, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights while touring Budapest. The hotel is right on the Danube and offers great views of the Buda hills and Chain Bridge. It is very close to the main shopping section of Vaci Utca and within walking distance to all the central Pest sights, and is an easy walk across the Chain Bridge to the Buda side. I've stayed in a number of Marriot hotels and this one is in line with the other recently renovated Marriott hotels, except maybe the bathrooms aren't quite as nice (no marble coutnertops, etc.) but they are still very clean and I had no complaints. The only thing I was disappointed with was the lack of WiFi in the guest rooms. There was only a wired connection that you need to pay for. WiFi was only available in the lobby. The breakfast buffet in the Peppers restaurant had a very nice selection, but was extremely overpriced.

Room Tip: I believe all rooms have a view of the Danube.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank masstraveller117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradenton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We originally had reservations at another hotel but after seeing the Marriott we switched for our 2nd & 3rd nights to a balcony suite room which was beautiful and spacious and had spectacular views of the Danube River and both the Elizabeth and Chain Bridges. It actually made our stay one of the most enjoyable of a 4 country European tour. Our rate was substantially more than the standard rooms which still have good views of the river but not balconies. We had complete access to the executive lounge and that was definitely a bonus! The Executive Lounge is open early for complimentary breakfast, coffee bar, tea and juices. Cocktail hour is 5:00-7:30 with red & white wine, rum & vodka, soft drinks, and a lovely selection of snacks. Amazing views of the city from comfortable seating areas and a very large outdoor patio to enjoy should the weather permit. Budapest is an interesting city and the area around the Marriott is probably the best in the city for both shopping, restaurants and tourist activities. We came into Budapest by train and paid an excessive 20 Euros for the 10 minute ride to the Marriott area. Prices can be negotiated in advance if you are inclined to haggle. We departed Budapest by plane (EasyJet) and the Airport Terminal was about a 30 minute ride from the hotel. That taxi ride was a flat fee of 9 Euros each and we were able to charge that to our room and catch the taxi at the entrance of the hotel which was very convenient. (FYI....Euros are accepted by the taxi drivers but otherwise they use their local currency, the Forintz.) Take the Hop on Hop Off Tour for a great overview of the city, especially the photo op of the city from the Citadel. If you are interested in the history of Hungary, the House of Terror is a must visit. Expect to spend 3 hours. This is not for families with small children.

Room Tip: Request Danube facing rooms. If you can splurge, definitely go for the balcony suites. We were in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ready2go4more
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#22 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,218 reviews
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Hotel Zenit Budapest Palace
District V / Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
#10 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
District V / Inner City
Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budapest Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budapest Marriott Hotel

Property: Budapest Marriott Hotel
Address: Apaczai Csere Janos utca 4, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#20 Family Hotel in Budapest
#25 Business Hotel in Budapest
#28 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#31 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,900 - ₹ 23,929
Hotel Class:5 star — Budapest Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Budapest Marriott Hotel is the only hotel in Budapest offering a magnificent Danube panorama from all of its 364 newly refurbished rooms. The hotel is located in the heart of the city, within walking distance of shopping, business and entertainment areas. Offering an extraordinary blend of comfort and convenience, sophisticated guest rooms and suites have been smartly designed with work areas, high-speed Internet and thoughtful appointments...All graced by soothing river views. We offer complimentary WIFI in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Budapest Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Budapest
Budapest Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing