We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,632)
Filter reviews
1,632 results
Traveller rating
538
579
322
110
83
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
538
579
322
110
83
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity centrenice hotelthermal poolspublic transportmargaret islandthai massagegreat spathe rivershuttle serviceexecutive roomspa facilitiestrain stationsteam roomreception staffbuda sidebuffet breakfastkehli
Filter
Updating list...
235 - 240 of 1,632 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2016 via mobile

We stayed here as a group on a business trip for 5 nights and it was genuinely a catalogue of errors and rude staff.

Others in the group had to have rooms changed as they were dirty, my room was far too hot and by opening the windows the noise from outside was unbearable. Room service was cold food.

Check-in and check-out took an inordinate amount of time and didn't help weary travellers.

For me, the absolute worst was the restaurant staff. We tried to get a table on the first night and after a very reluctant hostess telling us she couldn't squeeze us in we were informed that in fact the chef didn't want to cook for us as he wanted to go home! There was still 30mins before we were told last orders were to be placed.

On the 3rd evening, again trying to book a table for our group of 8 at 7pm we were told they couldn't provide one. After much debate they gave us a table in the completely empty restaurant (to our amazement) and it was because they were catering a party in the function room next door and didn't want the extra trouble. But the restaurant wasn't closed.

All in all, the service in both hotel and restaurant was the reason I will not go back. I've stayed many times in Budapest in much nicer, friendlier, cleaner hotels that also happen to be cheaper.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled on business
1  Thank AshBush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementBudapest, Quality & Spa Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing us.
We deeply regret to read your inconveniences regarding the check-in, check-out process and the table reservation.
Please accept our apology for the inconveniences that we caused to you and please be assured that we have already followed-up with the people in charge to avoid same incident in the future.
Let me express my deepest apology again.
I hope that you can give us a second chance to make better service in the future.

Best regards,

Timea Besze
Quality & Spa Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2016

The hotel was close to both a train and bus station. The staff were pleasant and helpful. Our room was clean, well furnished and the beds were comfortable. The bar was a relaxing place to enjoy a drink, whether coffee or something stronger.

Room Tip: We had a superior room on the top floor overlooking the river.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementBudapest, Qulaity & Spa Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2016

Dear Our Guest,

Thank you for recently staying in The Aquincum Hotel Budapest.
We are happy to read that you liked our hotel and you were satisfied with our services. We will forward your nice words to our staff that you leave positive comments about their behaviour.
We hope that you can stay with us in the future again. Hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,

Timea Besze
Quality & Spa Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2016

If you are looking for a little more than avarage this is for you. The breakfast buffe is 3 to 4 star. Location to airport and city is far away.. It is a bit expensive to what you get in value for your stay. To sum up it is an ok hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haavard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementBudapest, Quality & Spa Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying in our hotel and share your short comments about us.
We regret to read that your stay was average and you did not like the location of the hotel. Please accept our apology that the value that you get did not meet your expectation.
I hope that you can travel back to Budapest and we can make better service to you.

Best regards,

Timea Besze
Quality & Spa Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2016

2 nights on a business trip. Way outside town and almost an hour from the airport. None of the staff were particularly pleasant or efficient, especially the reception staff. Long waits to check in and out. Expensive too. All the "hot meals", including cooked breakfasts were cold. The rooms were OK, but the 3 of us staying all had some problem or other (lights not working, broken door locks, dripping taps). To make the trip really memorable, I had £80 sterling stolen from my "securely" locked in the concierge room. I have my suspicions who it was. Hotel totally disinterested. Find somewhere else.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lance H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementBudapest, Quality & Spa Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2016

Dear our Guest,

First of all, thank you for choosing our hotel.
We deeply regret to read that you were not satisfied with our hotel and we suprised about your comment regarding to your money.
As we checked your reservation you were staying with us in the middle of April and you did not mentioned this case about your money. I contacted to our Security Manager but unfortunately in the last two months you did not inform us about this situation.
Please accept our deepest apology for your loss and due to your unsatisfaction.
We hope that we have opportunity to make a better service in the future.
Best regards,

Timea Besze
Quality & Spa Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2016

The Aquinicum 5 stars hotel is pleasant, large rooms, very nice SPA with several pools with different tempratures, Breakfast was Averagefor 5 stars hotel,location not in center close to Margit island .

Room Tip: First floor is Executive floor
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank david b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying in our hotel. We are happy to read that your stay was enjoyable.
Thank you for your positive comment to our room, spa and pool. Thank you for mentioning the location.
We hope that we have opportunity to welcome back you in the future.

Kind regards,
Gabor Nemes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews