We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hungarian food”
Review of Chef Cafe Budapest

Chef Cafe Budapest
Ranked #32 of 3,629 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 5 - US$ 23
Cuisines: Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: District V / Inner City
Description: Családias éttermünk a múlt század közepének ódon hangulatát idézi. Üzletünk a belváros szívében, a Duna-parttól egy sarokra, az V. kerületben, a Sörház és Molnár utca sarkán, a Váci utca tőszomszédságában található. Éttermünk kizárólag vacsoraidőben tart nyitva, keddtől szombatig, 18:00-tól 23:00 óráig. Minden hétfőn és vasárnap zárva vagyunk. Borlapunkon a magyar borászok remekműveinek adunk otthont, így csakis hazai pincészetek borait kínáljuk Önöknek. Konyhánkban tradícionális magyar ételeket készítünk, és szezonálisan változtatjuk az étlapkínálatunkat. A hagyományos magyaros konyha nem alkalmas vegán és vegetáriánus, valamint glutén- és laktózérzékenyek részére. Éttermünkben nincs lehetőség gyerekszobát kialakítani (babyroom), és nem rendelkezik etetőszékkel, így nem alkalmas kisgyermekes családok részére. Családos vendégeinket kizárólag a gyermek 7 éves korától tudjuk fogadni. Megértésüket köszönjük! Reméljük, hamarosan vendégeink körében üdvözölhetjük Önt és barátait egyaránt!
Reviewed 17 June 2018

Delicious food in a family restaurant. Hungarian dishes and wine and palinka. One of the nicest meals out I have had in a long time.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank RichardLa1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erika Judit V, Ügyvezető igazgató at Chef Cafe Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2018

Dear Richard,
Thank you very much for choosing our restaurant!
We were pleased to read your comment on us.
Let us also thank you for your time to share your very positive experience with everyone here on Tripadvisor, looking forward welcoming you again in the future!

Kind regards,
Erika and Kalman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (856)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 856 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2018 via mobile

The owner is so welcoming and he speaks so many languages. He is a genuine nice person and very happy which makes guests happy. I only had a main course because the portions are large. I had catfish It was lovely. My husband managed to fit in a dessert as well it was excellent.

Thank 503debbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erika Judit V, Ügyvezető igazgató at Chef Cafe Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2018

Dear Debbie,

Let us thank you for your time to share your experience with all travelers, here on TripAdvisor and thank you very much for visiting our restaurant.
We are glad that you enjoyed the stay with us, looking forward welcoming you again next time in Budapest!

Kind regards,
Erika and Kalman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2018 via mobile

We like this restaurant - good music, home atmosphere, a lot of free seats, excelent kitchen! Enjoy, You'll love it!

Thank DimRad65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erika Judit V, Ügyvezető igazgató at Chef Cafe Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2018

Dear "DimRad65",
Thank you very much for choosing our restaurant!
We were pleased to read your comment on us.
Let us also thank you for your time to share your very positive experience with everyone here on Tripadvisor, looking forward welcoming you again in the future!

Kind regards,
Erika and Kalman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018 via mobile

We went for a duck and a deer stew in a red wine paired with Caberne franc, best dinner in Budapest so far. The place is owned by a family and owner is very engaged and enthusiastic. Definitely a must to visit.

Thank R A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erika Judit V, Ügyvezető igazgató at Chef Cafe Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Dear "R A",

Let us thank you for your time to share your experience with all travelers, here on TripAdvisor and thank you very much for visiting our restaurant.
We are glad that you enjoyed the stay with us, looking forward welcoming you again next time in Budapest!

Kind regards,
Erika and Kalman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2018 via mobile

This was our first night in Budapest and we wanted to experience a traditional meal, Chef Cafe Budapest delivered. The owner was very eager to explain and describe all of the menu options, helping us make great choices. When we inquired about a wine choice to best match our menu selections we received a very informative account of the wine industry in Hungary and a great local wine for dinner. A great introduction to authentic Hungarian cuisine.

1  Thank LNStraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erika Judit V, Ügyvezető igazgató at Chef Cafe Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2018

Thank you very much for choosing our restaurant!
We were pleased to read your comment on us.
Let us also thank you for your time to share your very positive experience with everyone here on Tripadvisor, looking forward welcoming you again in the future!

Kind regards,
Erika and Kalman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chef Cafe Budapest also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Chef Cafe Budapest? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing