We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and basic but extremely nice location and good hotel”
Review of Bohem Art Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bohem Art Hotel
Ranked #15 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2011

The hotel is located right off Vaci Utca - probably the biggest central tourist street in Budapest - filled with souvenir shops, restaurants, bars, etc - very populated and filled with both Hungarians and tourists. The street the hotel is on is literally a few steps away from it, and extremely calm and quiet, which makes it a great location. Close enough to the action but no noise. It's convenient to the underground subways, the bridges to Buda and many of the attractions in Pest are in walking distance. It's a very safe neighborhood as well. The hotel is stylish in design but the rooms are very small. That's probably the only downside. Otherwise very functional - good internet connectivity, closet space, minibar, nice sized bathroom, air conditioning (sort of), and modern furnishings. Really commensurate with a boutique hotel in any major city. The hotel is very basic though -not a luxury spot - a lobby, a breakfast room and the guest rooms. Nothing else - no bar or restaurant. There's plenty nearby.

Breakfast is included and they provide a very ample selection of offerings - breads, cheeses, cereals, meats, fruits - pretty much anything you'd think of for breakfast. The staff is very nice and helpful even with limited English. I reccommend you utilize them to call for taxis whenever you want one as the taxis definitely overcharge by running a fast meter in Budapest if you take one off the street (I learned the hard way).

Take one of the free walking tours when you're here - yes - they're really free and they're incredible - better than ones you pay for. You just are asked to tip at the end and the amount is up to you. The guides are knowledgeable and really provide you an incredible tour. You can find both companies that do the free tours on trip advisor. The castle district is incredibly beautiful, and the Jewish Quarter (walkable from the hotel) is fillled with history. You should also try one of the baths - very calm, historical and unique to Budapest. The portions of food in the restaurants are pretty large, and the food is heavy but really good - not a place to count calories. It has a similar feel to Prague but the city is much bigger. People speak English but most of them very basic - take a map and use it - it will be much easier. The underground system is extremely simple - I was not going to use it but it was so easy to navigate and takes you everywhere you need to go - just beware it closes down around 11:30p, so it's taxis after that (or night buses if you're brave).

Overall, I'd return to Bohem Art Hotel for the price, location and overall good experience - I'd reccommend it for a few days if you like a boutique style property.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sdjlg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,577)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,497 - 1,501 of 2,577 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2011

Bohem Art Hotel is in a great location on the Pest side. It is very close to shopping and great food. The room was very well decorated and comfortable. The breakfast was quite nice including eggs, bacon, cereals, etc. The only thing that is a bit of a bother is the bed is quite stiff. I find this to be fairly standard in Europe, though. I would stay there again for sure!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bqhensler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

I really enjoyed my stay at this lovely little hotel. It doesn't look like much from the street but when you walk through the doors a pleasant surprise will await you! The hotel is very tastefully decorated (it is an art hotel!) and even though the rooms are small they won't disappoint as they are bright and cheerful. The highlight was the amazing champagne buffet breakfast daily. Everything you could want and top quality food. The hotel is also in a great location; right by the Danube. When I return to Budapest I will no doubt stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank trudif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

This was a very nice hotel and well worth the money. We did arrive earlier than check-in and was able to get into our room. That was very nice because we needed to take a break. They do have a luggage room where you can put your luggage if you arrive early and your room isn't ready. We used the luggage room the day we left because our flight wasn't until late afternoon. We checked out, left our luggage at the hotel and did some sightseeing. The hotel is within walking distance of what we wanted to see close by. Additionally, we did purchase a Budapest City Bus Tour ticket and saw everything else that we wanted to see on the bus tour. The bus tour is really worth the money. It took us to higher elevations that allowed us to take beautiful pictures of Budapest. You can catch the bus within walking distance of the hotel.
Our room was very, very nice. We also did use the free computers available to guests near the breakfast area. The staff was super nice. I would highly recommend to anyone to stay here. You will not be disappointed at all. Within walking distance of the hotel you can visit a two story indoor market with all kinds of things to buy. Also, within walking distance there are two streets of shops and restaurants with all kinds of items to purchase.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oliviainal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Perfect location. Very helpful staff. Rooms are modern, clean and quiet. Not very spacious but this was fine as we were out sightseeing most of the time. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bubblyblond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 336 in Budapest
5,044 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#45 of 336 in Budapest
4,558 reviews
Casati Budapest Hotel
#6 of 336 in Budapest
1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Andrássy út
Hotel Moments Budapest
Hotel Moments Budapest
#2 of 336 in Budapest
1,501 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bohem Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bohem Art Hotel

Address: V. district 35., Molnar street, Budapest 1056, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City , Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range: ₹ 4,545 - ₹ 60,127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bohem Art Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand new Bohem Art Hotel in the historic downtown of Budapest offers the style of a hip hotel with the feel of a contemporary art gallery. Thanks to its excellent location - just a few steps from Vaci shopping street and the Danube - our guests can experience the unique atmosphere of Budapest. The hotel offers a rich buffet breakfast and free Wi-fi in all the rooms and public areas. Our cozy and stylish rooms all feature different artworks from modern and young Hungarian artists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bohem Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing