We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carpe Noctem Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I went to visit Budapest for 6 nights with my sister and were both extremely sceptical about staying in a “party” hostel as we’d never done it before! On arriving the building is pretty intimidating but once we made it up the 100 stairs we were so pleasantly surprised! A lovely warm welcome and induction was given by Mike who pointed out all the dos and donts of the hostel and the city which is great if you’re a first time traveler! The vibe is great there it’s really laid back and although there are activities on every night there’s no pressure to do it if you don’t want to; if you don’t feel up to it the noise curfew is 9 so everybody is out by then so the option to get an early night is there as well! The staff here are brilliant Bongo, Mike & Jeeves are the most friendly, helpful & fun (also great drinkers which us Londoners appreciate)! If you want to explore Budapest properly, eat at the best spots and hit the town hard at night in the best spots Carpe Noctem is for you! Also if you’re a classic Brit then one thing you must know is they have a gigantic bag of Yorkshire teabags in the kitchen...I legit yelped with excitement when I saw them! It’s the best place ever book now!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Charlotte F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (501)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 501 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2017 via mobile

This was the first party hostel I have ever stayed in, and was my favourite I've been to. The atmosphere was pretty chill and the staff were approachable and super helpful, we never struggled to find anyone to ask Qs when we wanted to know info. All the other guests were friendly and fun to get to know, but were also considerate of people sleeping in late/early nighters. Organised events were very fun but you didn't feel pressured into them: if you wanted to stay in for the night and chill you could. Visited some awesome ruin bars thanks to the Carpe Noctem team and saw some of the best of Budapest's nightlife! 10/10 wish I didn't have to leave! ❤

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Leah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2017 via mobile

Insane hostel, quite easily the best place to stay in Budapest. If you want to get destroyed or have a recovery nap this is the place to be. With sick staff like Mike, Bongo and Jeeves you nights out are always brilliant. Also no matter how long you stay you will end up extending. Stay here. Also the free food and family dinners makes it even cheaper and friendlier.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank TravelTipper420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

My boyfriend Aaron and I stayed 5 nights at this hostel and we probably could have stayed for a month(some do haha). It’s more a home where you live with really awesome people than a hostel. We are not big party people but that does not matter at all. If you don’t party you still meet and hangout with the amazing staff and guests then when they go out at 830 every night the hostel becomes completely silent if you want a quiet night in. But you might end up going out a lot more than you think because it’s loads of fun. Some hostels have to work so hard to reach the right hostel vibe but at this place it comes naturally. There are family dinners offered every night for cheap and if you want to be guest chef then your dinner will be free. I’ve never had so much interaction with staff at a hostel before. We became very fast friends with Jeeves, Bongo and Mike; they are a blast. I could go on forever about how amazing this place is but it would be a never ending review. Don’t go to Budapest without staying here please!!!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank kaekubina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

Maybe if you're under 25 this place is awesome but for me, I couldn't even stay more than one night (even though I booked four nights originally). I've stayed in hostels all over and usually do my research to make sure that I'll be OK with the place I'm staying at but my research failed me this time.

The only way I can even begin to understand the high reviews is if people are basing this off the fact that the atmosphere lends itself to being friendly with people relaxing and chatting in the community area. Maybe the connections people make with other travelers is what is motivating such a high ranking. And I imagine the activities that the hostel puts together could be fun as well.

Pros:
*Staff was friendly/helpful
*Guests seemed friendly
*Comfortable Bed
*Free towel

Cons:
*Room was a mess. Others had no respect for the space and there was stuff everywhere, there was even a mattress on the floor. Why?
*Apparently party hostel means that you can bring someone back to the hostel. I've never stayed at a hostel where this was allowed. Safety is a big deal for me and who wants to hear someone else hooking up ever? (much less after you get out of college?) . This threw me and as soon as I was told this, I started to look for other accommodations.
*Wifi was weak from my bunk
*Bathroom felt old/dirty/grungy
*Nowhere to put down your toiletries for when you're using the sink. I had to pick up two things at a time and keep going back and forth to my bed to pick up other things I needed because there was no place to put my stuff.
*Showers: I never showered (Was there one night and was out of there) but from what I could see there was nowhere to put your stuff down (towel, change of clothes, etc)...I could be wrong but I didn't see it.
*Lockers: Those things looked so flimsy. But the people that stay there didn't seem shady so I wasn't THAT worried for the one night I was there. But this goes back to random people being brought back to the room. You can't control what those people do.

Overall, this place was just a mess and has me thinking that maybe hostels are not for me anymore.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Thank Sem A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Maverick Hostel
Maverick Hostel
#6 of 674 in Budapest
762 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Maverick City Lodge
Maverick City Lodge
#7 of 674 in Budapest
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Pal's Hostel & Apartments
Pal's Hostel & Apartments
#13 of 674 in Budapest
280 reviews
Terézváros
Adagio Hostel 2.0 Basilica
Adagio Hostel 2.0 Basilica
#35 of 674 in Budapest
216 reviews
Terézváros
Friends Hostel Budapest
Friends Hostel Budapest
#30 of 674 in Budapest
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carpe Noctem Hostel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carpe Noctem Hostel

Address: Szobi utca 5/3/8A, Budapest 1067, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 674 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Price Range: ₹ 1,029 - ₹ 5,231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are a group of more than 4, please stop reading here and choose a different hostel; we are mostly for single or solo travelers - we recommend our sister hostels Grandio Party Hostel, Retox Party Hostel or Carpe Noctem Vitae! We don't accept groups of any kind (see conditions below). If you are a sociable or solo traveler and want to meet other people in a welcoming, friendly, and voted the most fun hostel in the world (2009) environment, please read on: Atmosphere: Do you want to...- Be a SINGLE TRAVELER or SOCIABLE BACKPACKER meeting other similarly like minded people in a friendly, lively and social atmosphere?- Go out EVERY NIGHT on PUB CRAWLS, karaoke nights, cheap drink nights, live music nights?- Be taken out by staff to cool UNDERGROUND PLACES unseen on the common traveler's route?- Be given a WARM WELCOME and a detailed introduction of the city with all the hot spots for PUBS, BARS, RESTAURANTS, CLUBS and SIGHT SEEING?- Be INTRODUCED TO OTHER GUESTS so you can instantly make friends for your travels...if not life?- Feel like you are STAYING AT A MATE'S HOUSE, chilling on bean bags and drinking free tea and coffee until beer o'clock?- Feel like you are staying in a SOCIAL place not just a bed in a room?- SAVE MONEY by taking staff recommendations for cheap places, and using the specially negotiated food and drink deals for you?- Be given all the HELP, ADVICE AND ASSISTANCE for your entire stay in Budapest and beyond if needs be?- Stay in a place that doesn't believe in hidden charges and wants to give you as much for FREE as possible?- Have LIVE-IN native English/Australian English speaking staff who have all moved to Budapest because they came and fell in love with it and are passionate to show you why? Carpe Noctem ('seize the night', for those who rightly gave up Latin just after it died) is the perfect hangout and base for single travelers and young, sociable people who want to be part of an interactive and lively hostel experience as well as maximising the city in the day time and seizing the night when the sight seeing has ended. Facilities: We are Aussies and Brits who having traveled widely and decided we wanted certain things...* Free tea and coffee, not just when you arrive, all the time (and none of this European yellow label stuff, we get PG Tips imported from UK)* Free padlock hire* Free use of lockers* Free use of electronic staff safe* Free towel hire* Free bed linen (who charges for that anyway???)* Free internet use and free wifi* Orthopaedic mattresses* Air conditioning* Electronic entry system... (no more charges for lost keys!)* Free use of skype headsets* Smoking area* Laundry service available* 24 hour check in* Very relaxed check out times (you can check out any time you like but you can never leave!)* Free use of guidebooks and book exchange available* Free use of kitchen for you to cook...or for us to cook for you!* No curfew (it's called Carpe Noctem..... so seize the night!). Location: Walking distance from: House of Terror, Oktogon, Szechenyi Thermal Baths, City Park, Andrassy Avenue, St Istvan's Basilica, Freedom Square, The Danube & Parliament - all within 10-15 minutes. For lazy travelers....public transport is in our immediate location: the blue metro (for direct metros from nepliget coach station), and yellow metro are only a few streets away; the trolley bus and tram are 1 street away and the night bus route is at the bottom of the road. We even have a direct train from the airport 2 streets away! We are just off the main road which has pubs, cafes, bars, restaurants, 24 hour shops and clubs on it so there is no need to stray far for whatever you need, yet we are located on a quiet cobbled side street so you don't have to listen to the noise from traffic. Building: We are located in a 19th-century heritage listed building. We have a very cosy and intimate set up which means it is impossible not to meet people and make instant friends. Our apartment on the top floor is newly renovated and we have added our personal touches; hand made bean bags which means you can chill wherever you want around the house, a large corner sofa to watch films on, tables to eat on or play drinking games, depending on your mood, murals of the sights of the city across most walls so you can decide what to see that day (if our 30 minute run through of everything hasn't been enough info for you!). We have a fully equipped kitchen for you to use, apart from the times when we are cooking up roast dinners, gypsy gulyas (goulash), breakfast of champions, or whatever else we think the hostel needs to prepare it for a good night out or to deal with a hangover! We are located on the top floor, and due to the status of the building we have no lift...so if you are lazy, you may be better off going to a ground floor hostel! Conditions: We are ideally suited to single travelers, or groups of two or three who wish to meet people so if you just want an isolated stay with just a bed in a room, groups who don't wish to mingle or couples who want alone time only, we are probably not for you. Regrettably and due to previous experience we can no longer accept groups of any kind (more than 4 people), nor can we take bookings for guests over the age of 40. Nor can we accept bookings for people taller than Craig. We reserve the right the refuse any bookings that fall outside this criteria. On a final note, we are from England and Australia and often miss certain things from home....if you want to bring us something from home to put a smile on our faces or potentially knock a euro or two off your stay, please email us!!!!! Carpe Noctem awards: 2010- Best hostel in Hungary, 2009- Best hostel in Hungary, 2009- Most fun hostel in the world, 2009- 5th Best hostel in the world, 2009- Best hostel in Eastern Europe. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing