We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dinner”
Review of Costes

Costes
Ranked #364 of 3,710 Restaurants in Budapest
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Description: It's Hungary's first Michelin Star restaurant
Reviewed 6 April 2018

The dinner was very tasty, the plates were simple, but the flavors were perfect. The service is very nice, but it seems to me that there are too many people come at the table. Otherwise, very pleasant experience.

Thank sanjasanjamak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMQualityManagement1, Vezető at Costes, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Dear sanjasanjamak,

We cannot be happier with the fact that you discovered our lovely place and decided to give it a go. It is great to know that you were content with the flavours of the dishes. We cannot find the suitable words to describe how glad we are by the fact that you stating us a good choice, the satisfaction of our guests is priority to us. We would be so happy if we could serve you again one day, we will wait you with warm welcome all the time.

Kind regards,
Costes Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (976)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

36 - 40 of 976 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

Costes was a really great experience. From the moment you step outside your taxi (or whatever) the staff is very attentive. They definitely treat you like a VIP. We were two couples and decided to get the 6-course tasting menu with wine pairing. It was delicious! Except for one dish that came out little less warm, we still ate everything! They take the time to explain each menu, even if they are all different, and explain each wine. We were so full by the 4th course, so I would recommend the 5 course menu. It is pricey, but I haven’t had many fine dining experience to know if the price matched the food.

Thank crazy1o04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMQualityManagement1, Vezető at Costes, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Dear Sarah M,

We are pleased that you enjoyed the atmosphere and the food in the Budapest Bistro and thank you very much for your amazing review on TripAdvisor.
First of all, thank you very much your lovely words. I am glad to hear that you had a pleasant time with us and you loved our amazing casting menu. I cannot be happier with the fact that you visited us during your vacation in Budapest. Moreover, I am more than happy that we could contribute to be an even more marvelous dining experience with excellent dishes and with the service what we provided.
We genuinely hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you again in the future, we will wait you with warm welcome!

Warm regards,
Costes Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018 via mobile

Positive: Fantastic staff, top gastronomy, allergy handled nicely, Hungarian wines and champagne and food (in a fine dining manner), lovely
Negative: I understand the concept but still I had no wow effect and it was too expensive. I know fine dining is not cheap and staff was really great too. Still. It just not worth that much.

Thank pjp62_120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMQualityManagement1, Vezető at Costes, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2018

Dear pjp62_120,

First and foremost, we would like to express our most sincere gratitude towards you for taking your precious time to write down your opinion about us.

We deeply regret to see that your time here probably did not live up to the expectations you came here with. On the other hand, we are wondrously blessed that our staff made a positive impression on you. Our lovely staff members are such a great team to work with. It is really is an honor to have them here each day.

We honestly hope that you will give us a second chance and return to our restaurant, we will commit everything for your comfort.

Kind regards,
Costes Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018 via mobile

We enjoy good food so always try to find an amazing restaurant whenever we travel, Costes did not disappoint.
From the moment we arrived the service was exemplary. Every member of staff we interacted with were excellent, but special mention to the young lady who made us laugh with her quips & responses to my other half.
We choose the 5 course tasting menu & with the ‘chefs welcome’, amuse bouche, fabulous butter & breads, then the final ‘kisses from the chef’ we had lots of fabulous food
I choose the smoked sturgeon with caviar, then had the carp fisherman soup, followed by pike & morel mushrooms as my main dish, pre-dessert was cheese & finally dessert of Hungarian Paris-Brest fantastic!
My partner had the mini vegetables, followed by duck liver, his main was veal rump. His pre dessert was Costes honeycomb (fabulous) and finished with Somlói Galuska.
We tried the homemade lemonade which was very refreshing.
Loved everything, the food, the service, the theatre! Thanks for our final gift
This restaurant chef deserves her Michelin star
If you find yourself in Budapest I would thoroughly recommend this restaurant

Thank blanaido2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMQualityManagement1, Vezető at Costes, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

Dear Ms Blanaid O,

Thank you so much for your great review about our restaurant, your words are perfectly fitting as to what we wish to represent with our restaurant. It is wonderful to read such a feedback.

First of all, thank you very much for visiting Costes! We are happy to know you enjoyed the whole dining experience with the exquisite food. We are so proud to have committed to only sourcing the very best and freshest ingredients to use when cooking for our dear guests because that is one of the keys to providing these lovely meals.

We always try to get to know the guests and their tastes a bit – needless to say without being disturbing - in order to offer and serve them the best fitting foods and drinks. We are really proud to know you had an unforgettable experience and we are hoping that, if you visit Hungary again you will give us a go again as well.

Thank you again for this excellent and detailed review that really just made our day! We are genuinely hoping that you will return to us in the nearest future, it would be our pleasure to see you again, we are looking forward to seeing you!

Warm regards,
Costes Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018

We wanted to try for a while the first hungarian Michelin star restaurant. Did not have the chance while the kitchen was managed by Chef Miguel Viera, but we were really looking forward to taste the creations of Chef Eszter Palagyi. Both of us were opted for the 4 course menu, my partner had the wine pairing. The options to select our 4 course dinner looked really promising. Unfortunately for us the taste of most plates did not deliver a high standard of flavors. Duck liver was nice, the matyo bag was a bland, tastless and unimaginative. The pike dish came out cold in the middle.
Bread selection was also below average. Walk in the forest dessert was hardly acceptable, the cheese selection was just about okay. Our waiter Bertram was really nice, helpful, professional and informative. The lady sommelier was not really up to her game. Perhaps it was a one off evening when things were not going well in the kitchen, but somehow we don`t feel like returning.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Thomas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMQualityManagement1, Vezető at Costes, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Dear Mr Thomas F,

First and foremost, we would like to say thank you for taking the time to write down your opinion about our restaurant in detail.
Firstly, it made us really happy that you decided to dine in our restaurant with your partner, we hope that overall you did not regret your decision, and that you had a great time here. It felt truly amazing that you highlighted the friendliness of the waiter, he would be surely really proud to read your kind words. At the same time, we would like to express how much we regret that you were not fascinated by the dishes you ate, but we sincerely hope that you will give us one more chance to prove our professionalism, and to serve you, you can be completely sure that we will commit everything to provide you a real culinary experience.
Once again, thank you very much for reviewing our restaurant, hopefully, we will have the chance of greeting you again.

Yours sincerely,
Costes Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Costes also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Costes? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing