We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,033)
Filter reviews
2,033 results
Traveller rating
814
821
286
77
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
814
821
286
77
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmargaret islandrunning trackunderground corridorspa facilitiessister hotelexcellent spathermal waternice hotelpublic transportcity centrereception staffdanube rivermini barbeautiful citywellnessrelaxationtaxi
Filter
Updating list...
450 - 455 of 2,033 reviews
Reviewed 13 December 2016

I stayed in the hotel for the 2nd time.
The location and the service are very good.
The rooms are quite comfortable.
Also the restaurant is definitely worth visiting !
Of course the swimming pool and the spa is excellent !!

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank athanasiosv831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DH_Quality_Manager, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2016

Dear athanasiosv831,

Allow us to express our most sincere gratitude to you for giving our hotel such a high rating, and also for reviewing your stay in detail.

It makes us absolutely delighted that you had already stayed in our hotel two times. We are really glad to know that you enjoyed our great location and our very good service. It felt particularly nice that you were entirely satisfied with your comfortable and quite room. We are really happy that you were satisfied with our restaurant. In addition, we are absolutely delighted that you liked our great spa, we really hope that you had a relaxing time here.

It would be a great pleasure if we could host you again in the future, we will always wait you with outstanding quality of everything.

Yours sincerely,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2016

We go to this hotel for more then 20 years. I enjoy traditions funktioning through years in Grand hotel. Have no interest in pointing out (even if it is fashionable) several loose sides. Wish all the best to personel. Will certainly come again.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alekskandra2706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DH_Quality_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2016

Dear Alekskandra2706,

Such a wonderful review! You have no idea how happy we are now after reading your lovely review full with compliments and recognition. We are really grateful that you shared your kind thoughts with us.

First of all, thank you for choosing our hotel as your accommodation for more than 20 years now! It is fantastic to know that you are such satisfied with our services. It makes us genuinely happy.

Moreover, we are more than happy to learn from you that overall we managed to meet your expectations this time as well, it is so rewarding to know that you left us with happy feelings. All in all, it always will be a pleasure to have you in our hotel.

Thank you again for these absolutely lovely words, and we honestly hope that you will continue to choose us in the future as well.

Warm regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2016

Everything was excellent, room, cleanliness, restaurant. One point not so good, a window from the room didn't shut completely, and it was cold in the room, so we had to take an electric radiator. For the rest, all excellent.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bogdaneugenp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DH_Quality_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2016

Dear bogdaneugenp,

Wow! What a lovely review! We can’t thank you enough this lovely feedback, it contains many useful information about our hotel, so we are really grateful to you for sharing it.

First of all, thank you for choosing our hotel as your accommodation during your stay in Budapest! We are more than happy to learn from you that overall we managed to meet your expectations, it is so rewarding to know that you left us with happy feelings. All in all, it was a pleasure to have you in our hotel as our guest.

We would be very happy if we could welcome you again in Danubius Grand Hotel, we will always wait you with friendly welcome here.

Warm regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2016

Great hotel on the island in the middle of a river. Room was abnormally big and very clean. I was driving very late and although the hotel was sold out, they offered me a presidential suite for the same price. Very nice gesture. I would definetly recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank L3584IGroberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DH_Quality_Manager, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2016

Dear L3584IGroberts,

To begin, we would like to thank you for writing down your thoughts about our lovely hotel, we can learn a lot from your words.

We are more than happy that you enjoyed very much the spa of Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget. We are really happy that you found our hotel great. It is really great to hear that you were satisfied with you room. We are more than happy, that we could fix your problem due to the sold room.
Lastly, we would like to thank you very much for recommending our hotel, we are sure that many members of Tripadvisor will be encouraged by your feedback and visit us.

Once again, thank you for your feedback about Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget, we would be happy if we had the possibility of welcoming you again.

Best wishes,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2016

As frequent travelers, my wife and I stay in many different hotels all around and know so far that two things are most important when staying, enjoying and ultimately reviewing hotel stay. Staff and cleanliness. This hotel excels in both, above 4 star level and we will surely come back. I have to say that I expected high standards, this being one of oldest and well known hotels in Budapest ( which has plethora of fine and excellent hotels in every category) and upon arriving, all was perfect from start till the end, and I could go long list of all we enjoyed in this hotel, but suffice it to say - ALL was perfect. As an example I would point that staff in this hotel was marvelous and their professionalism and courtesy, as well as fantastic service with genuine smile and calmness they commonly radiated - this tells much about this place - from employees to the management and you can surely rely on all of them. Everyone tried to do their best, greeted us courteously in many languages ( as other guests as well) and that includes cleaning staff that you meet in the hall, exceptional receptionists and spa area personnel, breakfast and coffee lounge servers, the list goes on.
Dear staff of Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget ! My wife and I thank you for your kindness, professionalism, courtesy and thorough dedication to your work. You are an example to all hoteliers around the world. Thank you for all you have done for us, acting to our small and bigger request promptly and with smile.

I just have to add - some reviewers have noted that "furniture is old and worn out" "hotel looks old" and such nonsense - when used as negative argument. This hotel was built 1873 - nearly 150 years old and has kept grandeur of top hotel business from olden times! Furniture is antique. In this hotel you sit on it - somewhere else you buy ticket to see this in museum. If you don't understand that this hotels is preserving style as it once was and at the same time gives you all comfort and amenities of new and modern facilities - then you cant be helped.
If you are not ready to don your nice attire for breakfast, let alone lunch or dinner - and show up in flip-flops and hoodie - this place is not for you and you cannot feel the real experience it offers - and will ruin it for us who appreciate it!

We will surely return.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Danko M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DH_Quality_Manager, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2016

Dear Danko M,

Allow us to express our sincerest gratitude to you for not regretting your precious time to write down your thoughts and impressions in detail, it means a lot to our group.

We are absolutely delighted that you and your wife had such a wonderful and unforgettable time in Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget, we would like to ensure you this way that we will always provide you the same, high quality of everything. Your compliments concerning the professional staff were especially nice, we would like to thank you your kind words on their behalf, they would be surely amazed to read your opinion about their effort. On top of that, it made us proud as well that you and your wife liked the historic and authentic atmosphere of our lovely hotel, we sincerely hope that the time you spent in Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget will remain a beautiful memory forever.

Thank you once again for your feedback, we hope that we will have the possibility to welcome you again here in the not so distant future.

Best regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews