We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Continental Hotel Budapest
Ranked #39 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Berlaar
Level Contributor
129 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Small rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Posh interior with shining gold fabrics in a rather small sized room. Adjacent restaurant Araz can be recommended. Wellness only open from 9 am to 9 pm.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GilsBerlaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Dear Guest,

I’m very glad that our interior impressed you and that you were satisfied with ARAZ Restaurant as well. Let me recommend you to try an other type of our rooms which may be more suitable for you if you visit us next time.

We are looking forward to seeing you again.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,356
    1,461
    275
    48
    27
See reviews for
449
2,178
146
333
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Stayed at the Zara 19/4/12 and thoroughly recommend this hotel could not be faulted 1st class service throughout and nothing was too much trouble for the staff.

Room Tip: Ask for tea and coffee making facilities at reception in not in the room already
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Dear Guest,

I’m really excited whenever I read such a lovely feedback. This time I can feel that it’s worth to do it.

I hope to see you again.

Many thanks and best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights with another couple of friends. On arrival we were told we had been upgraded, although when we got to the rooms, only my husband and I had got an upgrade to an executive suite, although it was a nice gesture I felt a bit bad for the other couple we were with as their room was really quite small compared to ours, plus the rooms were unbearably warm, we turned our heating right down and it still seemed to be warm so made sure we opened the window for half an hour before going to sleep. The good thing is that we didn't spend too much time in the rooms as we were out exploring the beautiful city.
I would say that the breakfast was a little chaotic, not enough room for everyone, we were asked to dine in another breakfast room on the last morning as the main restaurant was overflowing !! Although saying this, we were pleasantly surprised with the breakfast and the choice, even crispy bacon and paprika sausages were there :)
That is really the only down side to the hotel, the staff are extremely pleasant and friendly, the rooms are very clean and as ours was a suite it was very spacious. The interior and design of the hotel is fantastic, I loved all the glass and the odd sculptures dotted about here and there, the coffee lounge on the mezzanine is superb and they do a mean "pina colada"
It is well situated, with many bars and restaurants around that area, the szimpla kert bar area is great and we had a fab night there, so good location. (although not too noisy), plus it's only a 15 to 20 minute walk to Andrassy, The Danube and Vaci Utca, plus many other areas, so very well located if you like to have a stroll to places and not have them right on your doorstep.
I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Budapest and I will hopefully return one day.

Room Tip: The standard rooms are a little small so I would spend the extra few pounds and request a larger roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtf0508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your detailed description. It may be a huge help for those travelers who haven’t decided yet wich hotel to choose. Special thanks for the introduction of the location of our Continental Hotel Budapest. I really apologise for the trouble with the heating as the outside temperature changed suddenly to calm and the hotel was still in heating mode. I was happy to read that you were satisfed with the extra room opening solution for breakfast to avoid crowd.

I also hope that you will have the possibility to return to us sometime.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Nice and modern hotel, good service from the staff only complaint was that the rooms were a bit small, but not exceptionally. Spa was well equipped. Location was perfect for sight seeing. Would recommend.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VikkiK25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Dear Guest,

As I can read in your review you were satisfied with almost everything except the size of the room but I’m glad that instead of this inconveniency you could enjoy your time and I hope we can welcome you soon again.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed 3 nights in this hotel at the end of March 2012. The lobby is very nice and classy , giving a very good first impression. The personnel at the lobby were friendly & spook English very fluently. We were quite early, but we already got the chance to enter our room. Great service!
Rooms were big & clean, there's nothing bad I can say about them. Fitness & Welness looked modern & clean as well.
The location is good: not the nicest neighbourhood, but very close to everything.
Here are some small remarks:
1/The Fitness & Welness space only opens at 09H00. I would prefer to use these facilities earlier (f.e. at 08h00).
2/The breakfast was very good, but the breakfast room was quite small. And the tables were positioned too close to the breakfast itself. This would result in hordes of people walking relatively close to your table. Not a big deal, but still something to look into.
Conclusion: a very nice hotel! Would recommend it to anyone who is visiting Budapest!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Realness82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Dear Guest,

I appreciate that you took your time to share your experiences with the Tripadvisor readers. It’s really nice to know that our service met your expectations. It’s always a difficult question how to organise breakfast time. Let me inform you that we have introduced a new breakfast forecast table so that our Guests can choose the most comfortable time zone. It may help to avoid the crowd. With the arrival of the warmer season even during breakfast guests can enjoy the courtyard too. According to our experience the usage of the wellness area was minimal before 9 am, this is why we have changed the opening time. We are constantly monitoring the deamnd for it and will certainly chnage the opening time if it is necessary.

Please choose us again when you visit Budapest next time.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,594 reviews
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#7 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#18 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center
District V / Inner City
Hotel Parlament
Hotel Parlament
#6 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Continental Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental Hotel Budapest

Property: Continental Hotel Budapest
Address: Dohany u. 42 - 44, Budapest 1074, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,496 - ₹ 19,685
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Continental Hotel Budapest 4.5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Continental Hotel Budapest 4* Superior symbolizes the past and future, the traditional Hungarian hospitality and refinement of detail and personal service of our age. The building reflects the elements of the art nouveau style and the modern unique design characterizing ZeinaHotels, in the heart of Budapest. The 4 star superior, 272 room hotel - offering standard, deluxe and executive rooms plus suites - will revive the spirit of the legendary accommodation keeping its name and historical facade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Continental Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing