We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“egeschegedre!cheers” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa De La Musica Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa De La Musica Hostel
Ranked #43 of 640 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Mombasa, Kenya
1 review
“egeschegedre!cheers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

With a group of 4 people, we stayed in casa de la musica hostel in a 4 beds dorm room. We were not expected such a great venue for the money we paid. Great room, superb wallpaper makes it moore warm. Great, helpfull staff, lovely receptionist - ANITA - they gave us a coplett itinery how to spend our time in the city, to cover the most as time allowed. Budapest is great, even when is cold. Out of 9 country I have been travelled on my Europe trip far the best hostel I ever stayed. Thank you for the moorning coffees! Keep up the good job what You are doing. Thank you.

Room Tip: if you are 4 like us go for the 4 beds dorm , spacefull and nicely decorated. Or go to doubles or tw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kobruk s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    90
    32
    6
    7
See reviews for
1
47
50
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

Wow, cannot fault this hostel! Girls dorms were great, lovely wallpaper. So so cheap- I mean I know the rest of Budapest is also cheap but this hostel in Paris for example would be around £30 a night! The hostel is very nicely decorated and has a great bar as well as an independent bar on the ground floor which is great for a drink and super cheap. Breakfast is served from 9-12 which kinda demonstrates what a party hostel is as most hostels serve breakfast til 9-9.30.. This does mean that the hostel can get very noisy and unlike many other hostels I didn't see any kids or families here! There are also dance sessions in the morning that take place in the hostel for locals which cause a lot of noise as the whole place vibrates with it but I didn't mind although some people would. Great breakfast too for about £2.80 which was yoghurts, cereal and then either eggy bread or scrambled eggs and bread in very generous portions! Hostel is in an amazing location within easy reach of the centre and there's a great ruin bar a 8 minute walk away. The kitchen is also great in the hostel. Only complaint is the luggage room or lack of. Luggage just left openly on floor and anyone can easily take it. On coming back I lost my bad and the staff weren't very helpful. It turned out it was under a sofa on the other side of the room but i don't know how it got there and it could have easily been stolen instead. Apart from that everything is perfect and they even provide you with linen! I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniella S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

I was directed to this hostel when the hostel I was staying in nearby (which was quite a nice place I must mention) could not extend my stay there, and how fortunate was this!! Casa is large hostel with all the usual hostel facilities as well as own bar! and large terrace!! Accomodation is very adequate, you have multiple stay options in differently decorated rooms. You have your clean room, own locker in the room, easy access to showers, wi-fi through whole building, comfortable reception with computers, kitchen you can use, bicycles available for rent, secuity code to get in to the building and secutiy cards to access rest of areas (security is important!), and other essentials you are looking for in a hostel. But what really makes this hostel stand out is its character and its friendly outgoing staff, and these two points make all the difference.

Large terrace is a nicely decorated place, with a bar which opens in the evening and plays nice music, and a small swimming pool (yes you can swim in it!!!!!) which makes it a perfect place to meet your fellow travellers and enthusiastic and interesting Hungarian staff. Hungarian guys who work there have a very easygoing and welcoming attitude, don't hold yourself back with questions about Budapest, Hungary, its culture, people, or any other topic really. You will meet a range of interesting characters who you will have no problem communicating with due to there outgoing attitude and great knowledge of English. Once you meet other travellers and Hungarian staff while having a beer at the terrace you will find yourself preparing for a great night out as Hungarian staff is able to recommend you a range of mainstream and alternative places to go out, and actually has no problem joining you, or bringing you along with them if they have a chance. The atmosphere is truly amazing. It's easy to see that the staff is not only doing their job, but also enjoys it very much.

What else can I say about the hostel? It's a very lively place as I already mentioned, which I loved of course. The terrace bar will shut at 10pm, by that time you will probably move to one of the city bars/clubs with other people staying at the hostel, but if you are having such a good time, or possibly still planning your night out, that you are still there at 10pm, well, make your way down to ground floor to a bar called Roham (you will see it when you will enter the building) which is open until late. It has inside and outside areas, friendly staff, live shows sometimes, etc. Casa is the perfect location to really have fun. Again query staff on locations, Budapest has a whole range of things going on, so I am sure you will find something for your taste, just don't be shy and speak to staff about your preferences and expectations. I am not going to go into detail about what Budapest has to offer as it has to offer very very much, just search for an article on it. So If you are up for an adventure in Budapest you must stay in Casa De La Musica.

Room Tip: Please make sure you book in advance as this hostel is a very popular one in Budapest, in summer tim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UserN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

If you are going to Budapest, you have to stay at Casa de la Musica. It is cheap, the staff is the friendliest that I have encountered in a year’s worth of traveling in Europe, and the beer at the Hostels terrace bar is only about 1.5 euro/pint.

While other hostels charge you for towels, soap, and the like, Casa does not. They always have someone in reception—which is open 24hrs a day—and that person is always ready to help you find what you need. They also have lockers in reception for free.

The location is also great. You’re just about a 5-minute walk to Szimpla, the first ruin bar. It’s a gigantic bar that you must go to, so you might as well get a hostel that’s close so you can stumble home relatively quickly and safely.

Budapest is hot, so it’s great to be able to take a dip in the perfectly cold inflatable pool that the hostel has on the terrace. Seriously, just get up in the morning, get a beer, and recover in the pool. It’s the best way to do it.

Since Budapest is somewhat spread out, rent some bikes also. The hostel has several that you can rent for just 5 euro.

There is really nothing bad that I can say about the hostel. If you don’t stay here, then you are staying at the wrong place.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mls915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

First thing; the price. So cheap! The staff are the nicest people you'll Ever meet, there is wifi and a Very nice bar. The welcome drink is the craziest thing Ever though. If you're going to Budapest you Would be stupid not too stay at casa de la musica!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Klarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Terézváros
Friends Hostel Budapest
Friends Hostel Budapest
#33 of 640 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Budapest Budget Hostel
#29 of 640 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Maverick City Lodge
Maverick City Lodge
#6 of 640 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Marco Polo Top Ho(s)tel
Marco Polo Top Ho(s)tel
#87 of 640 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
District V / Inner City
Maverick Hostel
Maverick Hostel
#7 of 640 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa De La Musica Hostel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa De La Musica Hostel

Property: Casa De La Musica Hostel
Address: Vas utca 16., Budapest 1211, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 640 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Price range (per night): ₹ 956 - ₹ 2,184
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa De La Musica Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 90-bed hostel in the heart of Budapest with 4/6/8/10/12-bed dormitories, female-only rooms and private rooms, all rooms with shared bathrooms. Free WIFI, free coffee & tea, fully equipped kitchen, summer bar and pool, bike rent & tours, free maps, free linen, no curfew or lock-out! Discounts for groups! We are a few steps away from sightseeing hot spots, cultural monuments, ruin bars and party places! The Casa is designed for the curious traveler, come and explore Budapest while staying at an awesome colorful hostel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Casa De La Musica Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing