We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful Apartment in a Great City”
living room with 25' ceilings
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
living room with 25' ceilings
Inner Courtyard ...
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
129 reviews
living room with 25' ceilings
Inner Courtyard
...
up one flight by stairs or lift
...
entering Max
the entry hall, with kitchen and bath off right, living room and bedroom off left
Entry hall
home-office with computer and printer
looking back from the computer towards entrance and living room; washer in cabinet at center
the living room
dining area
...
...
...
...
reading corner
...
tv corner
antique stove
...
looking back out from the reading corner
...
looking across to entry to bedroom
bedroom looking towards the balcony doors
...from the balcony doors
king bed
...
...
...
period wardrobe
balcony table
...
...
...
...
separate entry to bedroom from entry hall
peering into kitchen from entry hall
enter the kitchen from the hallway
...
...
...
well equipped for cooking and dining
...
...
...
entering bathroom from the entry hall
twin sinks in the bathroom
...
...
...
...
...
custom tiled double shower
...
...
you know what it is
jeanne is into insects ... what can i say?
cul de sac Henszlmann Imre Street
Street
...
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Budapest, Central Hungary

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 129 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
DelD
National City, California
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Wonderful Apartment in a Great City”
Reviewed 15 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We loved our week stay in Apartment Max. The apartment itself is large, clean, quiet, and well appointed. We were somewhat worried going in that it might be noisy, but it was perfectly peaceful-- no street noise at night, and no noise from neighbors. It is not clear from the photos, but the street outside is a dead-end, so there is little traffic, and Budapest drivers are surprisingly polite and horn-averse. The small balcony provides a nice place to enjoy breakfast or a nightcap overlooking the small, verdant garden park that used to belong to the local duke (the park is full of happy young kids and parents in the afternoons after school, but the park closes at about 8pm).

It is worth noting that the owner, John Farago, and his assistant manager, Zsuzsanna Hompoth, are especially nice and helpful. John's written guide to Budapest, which is available in the apartment, is terrific-- helpful, comprehensive, and fun to read. His restaurant advice is solid. John helped set up a special dinner with a well-known local chef that was a highlight of our trip. The "welcome basket" of food was also most welcome, and got us through our first morning in Budapest.

Both John and Zsuzsanna went well out of their way to help us when I managed to lock us out of our apartment on a Friday evening. They were both out of town, but tracked down a friend with a spare key. And they didn't even yell at me, even though I probably deserved it. John also arranged transportation from the train station and to the airport with a trusted cab owner, who was also very nice and highly recommended.

There is lots to see in Budapest. We did not know quite what to expect, and the city exceeded our expectations. Almost all of the major sights are within walking distance-- we never used public transportation. The local drivers are polite and predictable for pedestrians and cyclists. I had a bicycle that I rode all over the city and surrounding countryside without incident. Budapest has a nice system of bicycle paths and routes, too-- better than what we have in San Diego.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottinVe...
Venura, CA
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Stay!”
Reviewed 9 June 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Apartment Max is the perfect place to stay in Budapest. It was a great location: nice neighborhood, easy walk to the river, the main walking street, and good restaurants. The food and wine left by the owner was a wonderful touch; we took advantage of food on rainy mornings and the wine from our balcony during the evening. Highly recommend Apartment Max!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millie646
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best place you could stay in Budapest.”
Reviewed 28 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Our stay in Apt Max was without a doubt the best experience we have had in our travels. The apartment was exquisite! Our host made sure out of that! The apartment was fully equipped with everything! And so close to the Central Markets where you could get almost anything you needed. The balcony overlooked a beautiful park, where people strolled thru and children played. So lovely in the heart of Budapest! The apartment was close to the tram and Metro. Excellent restaurants were within walking distance!
Budapest is the most beautiful city! We had a wonderful time and hope we will travel there again soon.
Our sincere thanks to our host who made our vacation in Budapest such a memorable time.
We will return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wonderful bed, feather pillows and Turkish towels.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel406...
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful apartment in the heart of Budapest”
Reviewed 14 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Exceptionally well appointed apartment with everything you could possibly want. Quiet location a short walk from restaurant and shopping district. Five minutes to metro station. Lovely hosts supplied us with some delicious treats and extensive recommendations for dining etc.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calobong
Northern Mariana Islands, Mariana Islands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A home away from home!”
Reviewed 9 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Max apt was a home away from home! How many vacationers can say we enjoyed touring the country as much lounging in our apt.

We enjoyed the friendly neighborhood and central location in the city. Inside Max we greatly appreciated the personal touches such as wine and food upon arrival and detailed instructions for items within the apartment.

The interior design retained the original architectural beauty. I found the apartment beautifully furnished and very comfortable, The apartment contained the up-to-date technology. I especially enjoyed the detailed information to help guide me both in and out of the apartment.

We used the drivers recommended and they set the mood of friendly and personable people in Budapest.

The owners recommendations and assistance with reservations enabled us to experiences we could not have managed on our own. Those engagements were the highlights of our trip.

All in all, a fantastic time from beginning to end. I entered Max relaxed and inquisitive and departed Max relaxed and satisfied!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The original architectural features were retained and antique furniture mixed with state of the art technology.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 155
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing