We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful architecture, great location, well...”
living room with 25' ceilings
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
living room with 25' ceilings
Inner Courtyard ...
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
129 reviews
living room with 25' ceilings
Inner Courtyard
...
up one flight by stairs or lift
...
entering Max
the entry hall, with kitchen and bath off right, living room and bedroom off left
Entry hall
home-office with computer and printer
looking back from the computer towards entrance and living room; washer in cabinet at center
the living room
dining area
...
...
...
...
reading corner
...
tv corner
antique stove
...
looking back out from the reading corner
...
looking across to entry to bedroom
bedroom looking towards the balcony doors
...from the balcony doors
king bed
...
...
...
period wardrobe
balcony table
...
...
...
...
separate entry to bedroom from entry hall
peering into kitchen from entry hall
enter the kitchen from the hallway
...
...
...
well equipped for cooking and dining
...
...
...
entering bathroom from the entry hall
twin sinks in the bathroom
...
...
...
...
...
custom tiled double shower
...
...
you know what it is
jeanne is into insects ... what can i say?
cul de sac Henszlmann Imre Street
Street
...
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Budapest, Central Hungary

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 129 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Hulahome
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful architecture, great location, well outfitted and supplied.”
Reviewed 14 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Max for one week in late September while seeing the beautiful city of Budapest. Max is located across the street from a park and although the weather didn't suit breakfast or drinks on the balcony, we would have enjoyed doing so in warmer weather with the park in view. On the second floor of an older, quiet, building with an elevator, we very much appreciated the location near restaurants on University Square, the Central Market, and nearby mass transportation. Recommendations for tours and transport and detailed instructions on how to use everything in the apartment and the well outfitted kitchen were most welcome as was the generously supplied fridge at check-in.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Location, quiet, architecture
Liked least: the first couple days we had no internet or TV due to previous rain but the owner and manager were diligent about trying to get it fixed
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newy0rkci...
Fairfield County CT
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Handsome central Pest apartment, 19th century feel with 21st century conveniences”
Reviewed 10 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This apartment is very well located for all the things you would want to reach in Pest and convenient to markets and excellent casual restaurants. It has extraordinarily high ceilings and french doors and overlooks a pretty pocket park.The apartment is on the second floor and has a small balcony facing the park. Traffic around the park is quite limited, making for a quiet night.
The apartment has an attractive wrought metal security gate and if, you wish to use it, a security camera---the neighborhood seemed perfectly safe and secure to us but it was a nice touch in an unfamiliar city. The place has been renovated to provide all modern cons, including a dishwasher, washer and dryer, plenty of hot water, and includes a computer, wi-fi, direct phone lines to the states. John the owner or his managers are readily available for advice and troubleshooting, and they use a fabulous driver for transfers to the airport and train stations or for out of town trips. It is comfortably furnished in a style that evokes the grand period of Budapest. The refrigerator came stocked with enough to get you through jet lagged snacking or breakfast--cheese, butter, milk, bread, salami and some fruit and wine.

Bedroom is a lot smaller than the living room, probably a result of the original layout but it's fine for a couple. The only request we would make was for more light and some night lights. The ceilings are so high that for our 60 year old eyes we needed a little help.

John was a pleasure to deal with and has provided written advice on almost anything you might need in Budapest--from chocolate and wine shops to restaurants, transportation, maps and how to load the washing machine. We strongly recommend Max--we think you will find it a far better choice than a hotel., and John will really help you to enjoy the ambiance of Budapest.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Lighting
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armand d
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautifully situated apartment”
Reviewed 3 October 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I have stayed in many parts of Central Budapest but this is definitely the best situated apartment with a balcony looking over a lovely small park. The apartment is very well furnished and extremely comfortable. Out stay was entirely satisfactory.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceVie...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Gracious living in Budapest”
Reviewed 30 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in Apt Max for a few nights in late July/August on our East Europe discovery trip. Max had more sophistication and style than we looked for although reminding us both of old Parisian apartments we have known (and, in my case, one in Cairo as well) - but equipped with unlooked for modern and up-to-date comforts such as a Nespresso machine and a power shower. The little park opposite is beautifully kept and is quite rightly a great attraction for local families. Arrangements made to meet me at the airport worked beautifully even though I was late. My partner's driver had some difficulty finding the address and we would certainly recommend a good street map of Budapest if you're thinking of being out and about while you're there. We very much liked the apartment, Budapest and what we saw of Hungary - and would certainly like to revisit.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana97219
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great Space and Neighborhood come with Apartment Max”
Reviewed 23 August 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed at Apartment Max in Budapest as part of a 3 week trip with Prague the first week, Swiss Alps the third week and Apartment Max in the middle. It was a great way to go so we had a larger space (than the hotel rooms) with all the amenities of home, including being able to do laundry and fix meals. Budapest is a lovely city with the Danube and all its bridges between Buda and Pest as a treat. The neighborhood of Apt Max is perfect for easy access to walking or public transportation (we actually used the hop-on-hop-off bus) to reach the various parts of town and tourist attractions. The neighborhood is also convenient and quiet and has great places to dine out just a short walk away.
John is a great host who communicated with us by phone and email to make sure we were doing okay and help us out as needed. That was really another special part of staying at Max. He aided us in making transport arrangements from/to the airport and gave us restaurant tips as well.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and spaciousness
Liked least: Bed was more firm than we were used to.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 155
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing