We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive”
Review of Casablanca Club

Casablanca Club
Ranked #2,910 of 3,736 Restaurants in Budapest
Cuisines: Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: District V / Inner City
Reviewed 2 June 2018 via mobile

We decided to go here having seen the adverts for the hot stone steak. Our waiter (Fredo, I think) was lovely, explaining what we had to do with our steak when it arrived. The other waiting staff were not as helpful or as polite.
The steak was ok, but I have had better, and I thought it was expensive for what it was.
Be warned - the toilets are 2 floors up, so if you have mobility problems that could be an issue for you.
We wouldn’t return really due to the price vs what you get.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank K6141ATjuliec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PM_QualityManagement, Vezető at Casablanca Club, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Dear Julie C,

Allow us to express our most sincere gratitude to you for writing down your opinion about our restaurant.
We are more than happy that you were totally satisfied with Fred’s work. Thank you for mentioning him, and the staff’s work. We sincerely hope that you had a really relaxing time in our lovely restaurant.
We hope that we will have the chance to serve you better next time.

Kind regards,
Casablanca Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (626)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 626 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2018 via mobile

At around £30 for a steak the portions were tiny.
I had the 5 meat surprise and it really was, other than the chicken I could just have told you what meat I was eating, it was tough and all tasted the same. Not good when you lamb is the same colour and taste as the pork.

The Argentinian fillet is not fillet steak and certainly not good quality

Serving chicken on a hot stone under orange lighting is also a little dangerous.

They’ve hit the jackpot with tourists, as it’s in a great location and mentioned in the hop on and off bus tour.

Tiny portions with a few wedges!

Very disappointed

Date of visit: June 2018
1  Thank Jill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PM_QualityManagement, Vezető at Casablanca Club, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Dear Jill H,

we would like to express our most sincere gratitude towards you for not regretting your precious time to write down your opinion about us.

We deeply regret to see that your time here probably did not live up to the expectations you came here with. Please accept our sincerest apologies for your inconveniences, but we would like to inform you this way that we will take the appropriate measure .

We honestly hope that you will give us a second chance to our restaurant, we promise we will commit everything for your comfort.

All the best,
Casablanca Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2018 via mobile

We came here because we had a 10% discount voucher from the hop on hop off bus.

It was a huge mistake. I had the meat surprise and the surprise is a - the meat is raw! I knew it was supposed to finish cooking on the hot stone but didn’t expect my chicken to come raw. It was always expensive for the portion size and certainly would avoid at all costs. My chips were old and dry and you didn’t get any tooth picks.

Date of visit: June 2018
1  Thank 913sarahjaneb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PM_QualityManagement, Vezető at Casablanca Club, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Dear Sarah-Jane B,

We would like to say thank you that you did not regret your valuable time and shared your exact opinion with us here, on TripAdvisor.
We would like to apologise for the inconveniences that you experienced during you have been here.We are grateful towards you for sharing your honest opinion about our restaurant, it means a lot to us to get clear reviews from our guests, because of it we can get to know in which fields we must improve our services.
We honestly hope that you will give us a second chance to our restaurant, we promise we will commit everything for your comfort.

All the best,
Casablanca Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2018

Hot stone meals and wine at very augmented prices served with a few chips. We had pork (allegedly Mangalica but who knows?) and duck plus two glasses of house red for 20317 forints (that's about £65).

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NickLz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PM_QualityManagement, Vezető at Casablanca Club, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Dear NickLZ,

Thank you for visiting the Casablanca Restaurant when you were in Budapest for a meal. We are extremely sorry to see that you had such an unpleasant experience when you visited.
We are deeply sorry that you find our restaurant expensive. Our task is to introduce new flavors and textures to those who are enthusiastic about gourmet foods, and to assist them in their discovery of good, quality products. We strive to resurrect flavors from the rich past of Hungarian cuisine, and to recreate them in forms appropriate to modern tastes and ingredients.
We would be truly honoured if you gave us a second chance, we will commit everything to provide your perfect comfort.

All the best,
Casablanca Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2018 via mobile

The worst sevice I have ever experienced, Nauseous attitude from the staf before we sat down. We left without ordering because of this behavior. Do not recommend this place.

Date of visit: May 2018
1  Thank Lars S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PM_QualityManagement, Vezető at Casablanca Club, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Dear Lars S,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments in the TripAdvisor website. Please accept our most sincere apologies for the inconveniences you had to encounter. The problems that you mentioned, have been brought to the attention of our management. While the lack of service you experienced is unusual and not the standard of our restaurant there is no excuse for an unpolite attitude on the part of any of our team.
We are sorry for the inconvenience and annoyance this incident caused. We would be truly honoured if you gave us a second chance in the future!

All the best,
Casablanca Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casablanca Club also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Casablanca Club? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing