We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (68)
Filter reviews
69 results
Traveller rating
23
29
12
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
23
29
12
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main attractions air con reception staff the river great location cabin taxis parliament supermarket tram noise city
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 69 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2018

Very unique place to sleep in a super convenient location. You could walk to all the main attractions in 20 to 30 minutes or use public transportation. The cabins were bigger than expected and had everything we needed. The boat is old and that shows in the common areas, but I think it just gives the hotel character. Staff was great and the breakfast good but not great. Best part of the hotel is the view from the deck, just stunning!

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nino L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ORH-MS_Maribelle, Recepciós at OnRiver Hotels - Grand Jules Boat Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Nino L,
Thank you for choosing OnRiver Hotels – Grand Jules*** for your visit to Budapest and also for taking your valuable time to share your experiences about your recent stay with us. Your kind words and compliments are highly appreciated. We are very happy to see that you loved the unique experience in our hotel. It is our first goal to make our guests stay as pleasant as possible. Thank you again for making us your choice hotel when visiting the wonderful city of Budapest; it would be a great pleasure to welcome you again.
Best wishes,
Aniko Loczy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2018

The location of the hotel is great for visiting Budapest. The rooms are rather large considering the hotel is on a boat. The breakfast is also good.
We did notice a peculiar smell in the corridors, but we suppose it "normal" since this is not a regular building.

Stayed: February 2018
1  Thank Nikola i Milica O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ORH-MS_Maribelle, Recepciós at OnRiver Hotels - Grand Jules Boat Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Milica and Nikola,

Thank you for choosing OnRiver Hotels – Grand Jules*** for your visit to Budapest and also for taking your valuable time to share your experiences about your recent stay with us. Your kind words are much appreciated about the rooms and the breakfast. You are right about the smell, since we use gasoil to make the engine working and for generating electricity. We wish to let you know that we have taken various actions to minimize the gasoil smell. Tibor Szatmáry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2018 via mobile

Booked 2 rooms for 4 nights for myself, my dad and his partner.

Firstly the staff - Victoria couldn’t do enough for us. Finding us things to do, places to go, giving us directions, extra towels, calling us taxis. She made us feel most welcomed and at home and we enjoyed talking to her about our day and she was genuinely interested about what we would be doing the next day. She laughed and joked with us and made our stay most pleasurable.

The rooms were all we could want - we had at least 3 plug sockets on the desk each (maybe more elsewhere but we shan’t check) so not sure why another guest complained about that. Yes the air con wasn’t working for the first two nights but we opened the windows and although it was 30+ in the day it was fine and the staff were working ok fixing it. My dad’s room did then get a fuel type smell but this couldn’t be helped.

Breakfast was lovely - juice and coffee machines. Cereals, fruits, meats and cheeses, eggs and bacon, selection of breads and sweets.

No there’s no bar on board but they do sell beers and we brought on our own drinks and sat on the deck in the evening watching the boats go by. The view of parliament from the boat is amazing.

If you leave the boat and go straight ahead, there’s an all inclusive buffet with cooked to order meats, fishes and seafood, a great selection of Hungarian and international dishes, ice creams, desserts, and beer, wine and champagne for only around £16 per person - it is well worth a visit!

For the price we paid including the breakfast, it was a very good deal - especially thanks to Victoria!! I have recommended my Mum to visit on her girls holiday later in the year - thanks Grand Jules!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank BlondeScouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ORH-MS_Maribelle, Recepciós at OnRiver Hotels - Grand Jules Boat Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear BlondeScouse,

We are very happy to see that you loved the unique experience in our hotel. Your kind words are much appreciated about the staff and the breakfast. It is our first goal to make our guests feel at home. We really hope, that we will have the chance to welcome you again and earn a top rating from you next time too. Tibor Szatmáry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2018 via mobile

Had a lovely few days at the Grand Jules. Boat is in a perfect location and close to some attractions and metro stations. Hotel staff were so friendly and very helpful- especially reception staff. Breakfast was basic but was decent for the amount of money paid.

Only criticism is the lack of amenities in the room. No safe was included which would have been necessary. The room only had one plug- a few more would have been good.

Overall a very pleasant experience and would 100% visit Budapest again.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Bethan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ORH-MS_Maribelle, Recepciós at OnRiver Hotels - Grand Jules Boat Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Bethan,
Thank you for choosing OnRiver Hotels – Grand Jules*** for your visit to Budapest and also for taking your valuable time to share your experiences about your recent stay with us. Your kind words are much appreciated about the staff, the location and the breakfast. It is our first goal to make our guests feel at home. As it’s a boat, the space is limited in the cabins and in the bathrooms. We did our best to make them as comfortable and spacious as possible. There is no space for safe, but our guests can leave any valuable things at the reception. We really hope, that we will have the chance to welcome you again. Tibor Szatmáry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2018 via mobile

On a positive note the Grand Jules Boat Hotel, the staff very nice and extremely helpful. The breakfast area and breakfast itself was very nice but unfortunately the general areas and cabins were much to be desired. They were very tired and old looking and not at all to modern standards or recently refurbished as advertised. Cobwebs in corners of bedroom ceilings, shower drains never cleaned with months if not year's of filth. On showering this caused water to reach to toilet and on reporting was still unable to be fixed. Terrible aromour of drains throughout the boat. After staying on boat hotels in Slovakia where rooms were much larger, cleaner and also much cheaper, the Grand Jules needs to refurb to modern standards or drop price by at least 1/2. This is a real shame as the location is perfect!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews