We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lavender Circus Hostel is a gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lavender Circus Hostel
Ranked #22 of 672 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2012

The staff are so friendly and knowledgeable about the best places to see, eat and drink! The hostel itself is so unusually decorated, we loved it! so quirky! our double room was huge + had a couch and table and chairs! its centrally located and so easy to find after arriving by plane, just take the bus 200E to kobanya kispest metro, 8 stops later you get off at kalvin ter, walk across the road and its directly across from the national museum, all in all, it was a very relaxed visit, definately go to the thermal baths, so relaxing and go see the fishermans bastillion, its like a fairytale castle!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martha48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (269)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

171 - 175 of 269 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2012

Their double ensuite are enormous, really good value for money. Can walk almost everywhere. Nice staff though could have been a bit more knowledgeable. No printer here (we were hoping to print our airline tickets). Also, wifi barely reached the downstairs rooms, which are the double rooms, and it would have been nice to have a TV. Definitely recommend it despite these shortcomings.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ken2k6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

I stayed at Lavender Circus recently for two nights with my partner. The hostel was centrally located, clean, and nicely decorated with funky antiques. But most importantly, the staff was very friendly and went out of their way to help us plan our time in Budapest. A staff member sat down with us for half an hour and gave us detailed suggestions which catered to our specific interests and tastes. I have never met friendlier hostel staff -- they really made our trip great, especially Dori, who we had the pleasure to meet during our stay! I would recommend this hostel to everyone, with one small caveat -- there is no lift, and three flights of stairs to climb to the top, something to keep in mind.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SNamura2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

The front of this hostel looked ridiculously dodgy however this does not represent what was inside or the service provided so you should not let this put you off! When we arrived we had had experienced a long day of trains and travelling and being greeted with a beverage and welcomed to sit down was perfect! During this, the manager ran through with us what it was we wanted to get out of being in Budapest and then provided us with information on what we should do and places we could go to achieve that. Having stayed in previous hostels, we never received this level of service and had no idea how helpful it was.

The decor was very arty and personalisation on every wall making it feel very welcoming. Shared bathrooms therefore did not seem as daunting. Internet was available.

The manager shared with us some great advice on where to go for food to experience Budapest life, not that I can remember where it was now but it didnt cease to impress us. I would definitely recommend a trip to the baths and also to the little island in the middle of the river separating Buda and Pest as this was great on a glorious summer day!

Oh and we also decided to extend our stay, it was that good!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

This hostel and the staff are amazing! I loved it here, every minute! They were extremely helpful, and even made us dinner one night! Our double room was extremely clean and cute! The bathrooms were a little dark, but clean as well and plenty of hot water. There was a very nice community feel here, but we also got as much privacy as we wanted. If you are ever in Budapest, stay here!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Ibis Styles Budapest City
#43 of 334 in Budapest
329 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Maverick City Lodge
Maverick City Lodge
#7 of 672 in Budapest
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Pal's Hostel & Apartments
Pal's Hostel & Apartments
#10 of 672 in Budapest
277 reviews
District V / Inner City
Maverick Hostel
Maverick Hostel
#6 of 672 in Budapest
747 reviews
Budapest Budget Hostel
#26 of 672 in Budapest
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lavender Circus Hostel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavender Circus Hostel

Address: Muzeum koerut 37., Budapest 1053, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City , Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 672 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Price Range: ₹ 2,486 - ₹ 4,317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lavender Circus Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lavender Circus is a vintage, quiet apartment like place in the city center . A cozy,special atmosphere is waiting for you in a historical building from the end of the 19th century.In our hostel there are several kind of double bed and dormitory rooms available. The staff is ready to help you 24/7. We are specialized in 2 bed private rooms, en-suites and apartments.You can enjoy your privacy but you're also welcomed in the community room to meet other guests any time. Free WiFi connection is available in all of the rooms and the entire hostel.All of the rooms has an own, individual character designed by graphic designers, painters and sculptors. And you can enjoy the drawn vision of the owner on the walls. If you want, you can cook something in the kitchen. In our lounge there is always free coffee and tea as well and we organize Hungarian dinner parties where guests can try Hungarian palinka or local wine and learn how to prepare traditional dishes. Bedrooms and community rooms are non-smoking!There is a comfortable special separated smoking area. Every private room can be locked safely. Earliest check-in is at 9 a.M. Please inform us about your arrival time. -Free city tour every day -Free map here -Free luggage storage We are looking forward to see you!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Lavender Circus Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lavender Circus Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing