We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Love, love, loved it” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lavender Circus Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lavender Circus Hostel
Ranked #21 of 640 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Budapest
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Love, love, loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

Gorgeous staff, stunning old building, free local spirits, beautifully decorated rooms, close to everything, information everywhere - pay the tiny bit extra and stay there. Divine hostel

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lou_Hedger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    56
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
135
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

Funky hostel centrally located in front of a major museum.

The staff are the loveliest, nicest and most helpful you could want. We were greeted by a very friendly staff member who offered us spirits and coffee/tea and gave us an extensive summary of things to do and a custom map. Extremely friendly and fun.

We got a private room with a private bathroom. The room also had a small kitchenette with a sink, microwave and fridge (no stove or anything).

The room was lovely and big and airy. The bathroom had a large shower but did have some drainage problems (not a big deal). The place is extremely secure- locks everywhere and secured windows.

The one thing that was a bit annoying was the horribly low quality of the bedding- one bed with two child-size blankets and pretty tiny pillows made sleeping kind of uncomfortable. On the plus side, the mattress is huge and I liked the firmness. I would say bring your own bedding if you want.

Also, if you have any kind of mobility issue or stairs are hard for you for any reason, this is not the place for you as you will have to drag your stuff up a long staircase.

In all I am very happy with this place and would recommend it!

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank T A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
317 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

Fantastic location in the city, near good bars, right on the tram and underground lines. Easy to get to from the airport.

Despite arriving quite late upon arrival we were greeted by an enthusiastic staff member and given plenty of information on the hostel, city, restaurants and attractions.

We stayed in the apartment and it was very spacious. Perhaps some of the furniture and fittings have seen better days but the fridge/freezer and fan were very welcome with the sweltering temperatures in the city.

Overall this place was great and I would stay there again for sure if I returned to Budapest.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmyt7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2011

Can see why people liked this hostel but it is an acquired taste and it just wasn't for us.

Pros

- Very good price
- Close to center, opposite national museum.
- Staff are very friendly and welcoming even offering free samples of local spirits.
- Laptop in common room which is free for all to use.

Cons

- Up 3 flights of stairs with no lift, which was a lot whether young or old.
- Common room was very hippyish and weird and is not for everyone's taste. Felt uncomfortable going in there as people who lived there or friends was always in the common room. Also was constant african / samba type music playing non stop which can get annoying. No tv in common room except a large projector showing wildlife constantly.
- The bed was hard and uncomfortable, found several hairs on the pillows, and the duvet was unacceptable ( was thin, and very small. Im only 5 ' 10'' and my feet where easily hanging out the duvet )
- No mirror in bedroom. Sounds minor but was actually quite annoying having to go shared bathroom all the time just to look in mirror.
- The bathrooms and toilets were very dark, especially at night.

Overall, some people will love it due to the friendly hosts and warm welcome but we was not happy with the bedroom and did not like the quirkiness of the hostel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank donnie85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

When a friend of a friend recommended that I try out Lavender Circus for my recent long weekend in Budapest I don't mind admitting I had my reservations. Essentially it's a hostel with a couple of apartments for people wanting a bit more than a basic hostel room to stay in. Since we were only going away for a few days and didn't want to spend too much money I gave in and booked an apartment within the hostel with ensuite facilities.

Upon arrival we were greeted by a really friendly girl who immediately made us feel at home and gave us with shots of Palinka (a local spirit) as a welcome (beware - it's very strong!). She then gave us an overview of the top places to visit, drink, eat, etc (not just touristy places either), and armed us with some basic words and phrases to help us get by. I've stayed in some expensive hotels in my life but this was the best welcome I've ever received. She then took us to our room which turned out to be a huge double room with high ceilings and a view of the national museum, an ensuite shower room and to our surprise, a kitchen area. This is what makes Lavender Circus so great - you get a massive apartment for less than the cost of a hotel room and you can even pretend you're not staying at a hostel because it's self contained.

The whole place is really bohemian and quirkily laid out and decorated (think shabby chic), totally individual with so much character and 100 times more personality than any generic hotel room you can find online. It's only a 15 minute walk from most of Budapest's main attractions (meaning you don't need to us public transport too much) and just a stones throw from a host of cool bars and restaurants.

Basically this place rocks and is definitely worth considering for a short stay in the city. I would advise people to look beyond it's title of 'hostel' and view it as an absolute find, a hidden gem that'll enrich your Budapest experience far more than your bog standard hotels.

(For those just wanting a hostel it's also good as the communal facilities are great and theres lots of other travellers to hang out with.)

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank james_chairman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#3 of 340 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,448 reviews
District V / Inner City
Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#14 of 340 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Budapest Centrum
#64 of 340 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,368 reviews
District V / Inner City
The Three Corners Hotel Art
The Three Corners Hotel Art
#42 of 340 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lavender Circus Hostel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavender Circus Hostel

Property: Lavender Circus Hostel
Address: Muzeum koerut 37., Budapest 1053, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City , Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 640 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,639 - ₹ 3,141
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lavender Circus is a vintage, quiet apartment like place in the city center . A cozy,special atmosphere is waiting for you in a historical building from the end of the 19th century.In our hostel there are several kind of double bed and dormitory rooms available. The staff is ready to help you 24/7. We are specialized in 2 bed private rooms, en-suites and apartments.You can enjoy your privacy but you're also welcomed in the community room to meet other guests any time. Free WiFi connection is available in all of the rooms and the entire hostel.All of the rooms has an own, individual character designed by graphic designers, painters and sculptors. And you can enjoy the drawn vision of the owner on the walls. If you want, you can cook something in the kitchen. In our lounge there is always free coffee and tea as well and we organize Hungarian dinner parties where guests can try Hungarian palinka or local wine and learn how to prepare traditional dishes. Bedrooms and community rooms are non-smoking!There is a comfortable special separated smoking area. Every private room can be locked safely. Earliest check-in is at 9 a.M. Please inform us about your arrival time. -Free city tour every day -Free map here -Free luggage storage We are looking forward to see you!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Lavender Circus Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lavender Circus Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing