We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Fantastic City Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Palazzo Zichy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
Ranked #4 of 340 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Fantastic City Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

First time in Budapest and can highly recommend this Hotel. On a nice square with church on one corner on a small restaurant lined street. ( Ate at the Don Leona - worth a visit, very nice meal and good staff). The hotel buffet breakfast was delicious lots of choices great coffee and very efficient staff. Great idea to have free tea, coffee and water available all day - really nice touch. The Hotel is also near Rady Utca - a street with plenty of restaurants, Soul was a good one to visit. Staff recommended the Hop-on-Hop-off bus and this was very good value at 5ooo HF for a two day ticket which included 2 buses and a boat ride. The Hotel was pure professionalism from start to finish the staff always had a smile on their face and nothing was a bother - well done and thanks for our wonderful stay. Hope it is soon back at no 1 spot on Trip Advisor

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelholicDuntocher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Dear „TravelholicDuntocher”,

Thank you very much for having chosen our Hotel Palazzo Zichy for your city break in Budapest.
I was delighted to read that you had been pleased with our hotel and found the location favourable in regards restaurants/pubs and for exploring the city.
Let me thank you for your compliments regarding our staff, it will be my greatest pleasure to forward your kind words to my colleagues.
Thank you very much for your patronage; we are very much looking forward to welcoming you again!

Kind regards,

Judit Rozsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,731
    689
    70
    7
    2
See reviews for
483
2,723
148
198
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (661)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
jersey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

We have usually found the trip advisor highly-rated boutique hotels excellent. This has an ultra-modern interior in an old building. Excellent reception staff and modern clean room and the complimentary coffee/tea/water in the bar during the day was a nice touch. On the downside, the bedroom was small with less than 3 ft clearance around all side of the bed with limited room to store more than one case. The breakfast is self service and reminded me of the Holiday Inn Express I recently reviewed. There are at least 20 tables and all but one or two were full each morning and with this number of people milling around simultaneously, it was not a relaxing place. The weekday rate was fine but for some reason the Saturday rate rocketed so we moved on to the Corinthia which proved to be a very good decision.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aussijerseytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

I'll start by saying that the hotel Palazzo Zichy sets the bar VERY high. Seriously, if you're in Budapest and this hotel is in your budget... Do not think twice!!!

Location: a great location in District XIII which, once I found my bearings, discovered that the 10-15 minute walk into the centre of Pest (district XII) was really pleasant through some really beautiful and atmospheric side streets lined with Bars and eateries.

Decor: you get a good feel for the decor of the hotel from the many photos posted, this may come down to personal taste but to my mind, the decor was spot on.

Hygiene: spotlessly clean throughout not that i'd try it but you could eat your dinner off the typical dust traps.

Service: The staff were professional, friendly and helpful throughout, it's hard to single a single person out for praise as the whole operation was faultless. Really, so many hoteliers could learn so much from Palazzo Zichy's shining example. Kitti on reception was the person I encountered most and really helped with any queries that I had so I thought its only fair to name drop.

The only very minor criticisms I would have was that the air conditioning controller didn't seem to want to adjust from the set temperature. Which was comfortable for me but could have been a little chilly for others. Water pressure was perfect (always an important thing for me) although the water temperature on one afternoon was luke warm at best (however it was a hot day, so I guess this was refreshing).

In summary, from reading other reviews I had high expectations and it would be accurate to say that these were all exceeded. The Palazzo Zichy represents excellent value and is nothing short of perfection.

Thank you to all for such an amazing stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellin_Biff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Dear „Travellin_Biff”,

Let me thank you for your generous review left on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at our Hotel Palazzo Zichy. I was pleased to read that our hotel could live up to your expectations and you spent an enjoyable citybreak in Budapest.
It was our pleasure to serve you and I sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you again in the not so distant future.
Please do not hesitate to contact us should your plans bring you back to our beautiful capital.

With kind regards,

Judit Rozsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgetown guyana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

When you want to visit Budapest this hotel is really a good place to stay. Friendly people, nice rooms and in an area from which it is easy to reach a lot of interesting places.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cvanderroest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Dear „cvanderroest”,

Herewith I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for staying with us in our Hotel Palazzo Zichy during your recent holiday in our beautiful capital.
I was glad to read your short but to the point comment of our hotel and services
We highly appreciate your patronage and hope to meet you again in the not so distant future!

Kind regards,

Judit Rozsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vestal, NY
Level Contributor
99 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

The room was comfortable, albeit a bit small, but the real winner is the buffet breakfast and the availability of coffee and cold bottled water throughout the day. The staff at the desk were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grandmajoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Dear „Grandmajoan”,

Thank you very much for taking your time to share your experience with the travelling community about your recent stay at our Hotel Palazzo Zichy!
I was happy to read that our breakfast met your expectations and also you could take advantage of our complimentary lounge bar service.
I would like to thank you for staying with us, we are looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel! Please do not hesitate to contact us directly should your plans bring you back to Budapest!

Kind regards,

Judit Rozsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
Andrássy út
Hotel Moments Budapest
Hotel Moments Budapest
#2 of 340 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Parlament
Hotel Parlament
#6 of 340 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#7 of 340 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#15 of 340 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,726 reviews
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Zichy? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Zichy

Property: Hotel Palazzo Zichy
Address: Lorinc pap ter 2, Budapest 1088, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#1 Family Hotel in Budapest
#2 Business Hotel in Budapest
#4 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,038 - ₹ 14,077
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Zichy 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The place where history meets present! Stay in a historical palace that was originally constructed in the 19th century and served as the residence of a Hungarian noble, Count Nandor Zichy. Located in downtown Budapest in the historical Palace quarter. Our guests will enjoy a state-of-the-art guestroom with a flat panel television, and complimentary high-speed Internet. The 80-room hotel features many free services: lounge with free water and coffee, Internet-access, business corner with 6 workstations and fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Prestigia so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Zichy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Zichy Hotel
Palazzo Zichy Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing