We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (853)
Filter reviews
853 results
Traveller rating
634
171
35
10
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
634
171
35
10
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews attic room the free mini bar quiet square the cafe downstairs gerloczy cafe hungarian omelette charming hotel small hotel high ceilings the ground floor sparkling wine first floor jewish quarter each morning room rate perfect location side street
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 853 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2018

I was inclined to love this place as soon as I walked in because of the live piano music coming from the cafe/restaurant on the first floor. Even though you can't hear the music from your room, it echoes up the lovely spiral staircase so you're almost immediately immersed in the culture for which this amazing city is known.

The rooms are charming, comfortable and have a really great old-world vibe. Also really enjoyed the complimentary toiletries in the bathroom-- particularly the sage body wash. It was also great to have the cafe/restaurant downstairs, not just for convenience's sake but because it's kind of exactly what I was hoping for from my time in Budapest: sitting in an outdoor cafe facing a quiet plaza with delicious coffee and Hungarian pastries. A great way to start the day and/or wait for your airport shuttle.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Nana_KM1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2017

Chose this hotel because it was small and different as well as very convenient for the city centre.

Some major construction work outside unfortunately took the edge off the stay being awoken early each morning by lorries and machinery (except Sunday!).

The room was certainly different and reminiscent of what we guessed the Soviet era rooms would have been like. It was very warm (it was very cold outside) and welcoming and had all we required. The ensuite was again slightly different but certainly most acceptable.

Having a lovely restaurant on site was a bonus although there are plenty within easy walking distance as were the main sites for the Christmas markets. Tricky to find (we had a taxi and it was well worth it) since it is in a bit of back street.

Lovely place and when the outside work is complete will offer a beautiful little square with outdoor dining in the summer.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank AndyAquila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017

We were in Budapest for 9 nights and Gerloczy was a great place to stay. It provided for an easy walk to everywhere in Budapest and the restaurant downstairs was also first rate. The staff was also first rate and very helpful.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank JMichaelMcKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2017

We spent 4 nights here in October of 2017. The room was not fancy but well appointed with very high ceilings. The bed was very comfortable and the room was spacious. The staff was very friendly and helpful in giving directions, booking tours and the Danube boat trip as well as the famous baths. I would definitely stay here again. The location could not have been better and was centrally located in the heart of historic Budapest.

Room tip: I would still request a room overlooking the square.
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 604TomB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2017 via mobile

Spent a few nights at this accomodation (rooms) last week. Really surprised at the size and quality of room I got when I booked a standard room.
Staff in french restaurant downstairs look after the rooms above.
It's low key but well organized with friendly staff.
There is a lift but make sure you use the amazing spiral stairs from time to time (and don't forget to look up through the centre of the spiral - photo worthy...)
Huge room with seperate ensuite, small fridge and chocolates on the pillow each morning. Bed was pretty good too.
Very quaint.
Just a couple of little things that could annoy...no plug for sink, shower leaked badly but they did change the bath mat daily, window in ensuite was frosted but no curtain, soap dish in shower flipped around when you tried to put something on it.
Look, these are so minor considering the lovely old place and of course the great central position - just a short stroll to the centre pedestrian mall .
Well worth a visit and quite reasonable rates.
Also, we used the restaurant downstairs quite a lot - really good and open long hours.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Mytravadv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews