We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great value, good food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lion's Garden Hotel
Ranked #75 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Three Bridges
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great hotel, great value, good food”
Reviewed 21 April 2012

We stayed here for two nights in March 2012 and had a really good stay. The staff were friendly, the room was excellent and the restaurant served great food. I thoroughly recommend Lion's Garden

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrumBob88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

676 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    307
    97
    14
    14
See reviews for
132
242
29
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marbella, Spain
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

quite well situated hotel, easy to hop on hop off buses round corner at Heroes square.
Room was comfortable , however a bath would have been preferred after long days sightseeing.
When booking this hotel it was listed as full spa facilities etc , on arrival were told its an extra €5 per person to use the spa which is not stated on any of their advertising.
After a fraught exchange with reception they agreed it was misleading and the fee was waived, however on using the spa, the infra red sauna was out of service, the other sauna was switched off, the pool was far too cold to use at easter and the jacuzzi supoosedly was 34 degrees, it was freezing cold.
The elevators advertised cocktail happy hour between 6pm-8pm daily, we decided to take this up one evening but the bar staff denied any knowledge of offer until dragged to lift to show them the public signs.
day bar staff were serving half cups coffee, giving wrong change etc and very very rude, avoided this area after first day.

Room Tip: good location if you just want a place to sleep, but the spa is misleading and no where near luxury...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank expatabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arudinszky, Front Office Manager at Lion's Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Dear Madam.

We are very happy that you were satisfied with our rooms, cleanliness and with sleep quality. We are also greatful for your feedback about coffee. We have changed the company who provide us the coffee machine. We checked the the temperature of the water and we were realized that the thermostat was broken so we fixed it. We hope despite all of this you had a wonderful time in Budapest and next time you will give us another chance.

Mr. András Hódi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novi Sad
Level Contributor
91 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Hotel is in quiet area close to City Park and Hero Square, well connected to City Centre by bus and metro. Hotel is new, well managed with garage and free internet in rooms. Rooms are spacious well equiped. Room service and cleaning is good, sometimes have problem with communication.
Breaqfast served is modest and always something missing, and if one will ask for staff will not be so happy, coffe is one of the worst served in hotels I ever tasted, so forget about.

Room Tip: Bring your coffe and ask for tee and coffe set to help your self with
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikimiki70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Although the hotel was clean and comfortable I certainly wouldn't rate it at 4 star (I have stayed in better 3 star hotels). The staff never smile, the toilet seat in our room was broken, there shower gel was empty, when showering the water went all over the floor as the screen did not fit properly. A strange set up in the fact that the reception, bar and restaurant are all in one space so there is no privacy when eating. Breakfast menu poor. The hotel is not in the city centre and is a good half hour walk. There is a 5 euro a day charge per person for use of the spa facilities, the sauna was cold and we had to turn it on ourselves. Budapest is a lovely city but I'm sure there are better hotels to stay in.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley-Ann N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tirgu Mures, Romania
Level Contributor
49 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Lovely hotel, very ellegant and clean, nice staff, good food, small but not crowded spa. Bus station in front of the hotel, metro station and Heroes-Millenium Square 10 min. away. One of the best 4 stars hotels I have stayed in. For sure I will return on my next trip to Budapest.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arici78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Queen's Court Hotel & Residence
District V / Inner City
Hotel President
Hotel President
#97 of 333 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
Margaret Island
Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bo18 Hotel Superior
#21 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,284 reviews
Danubius Hotel Helia
#69 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lion's Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lion's Garden Hotel

Property: Lion's Garden Hotel
Address: Chazar Andras utca 4, Budapest 1146, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,076 - ₹ 26,614
Hotel Class:4 star — Lion's Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lion's Garden Hotel is a 4-star boutique hotel in Budapest, with stylish and friendly atmosphere, professional staff, near to all the 'must-see' sights in Budapest, like City Park, Heroes Square, Museum of Fine Arts, Hall of Art, Millenium Memorial, Zoo and the Széchenyi Thermal bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Prestigia, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lion's Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing