We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Postojna Caves
from US$ 85.40
More Info
from US$ 155.90
More Info
from US$ 83.10
More Info
from US$ 85.40
More Info
Reviews (5,397)
Filter reviews
5,397 results
Traveller rating
3,803
1,209
279
69
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,803
1,209
279
69
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train ride small train stalactites and stalagmites cave system electric train tour guide bring a jacket human fish walking tour large group without flash degrees celsius concert hall non slip spaghetti language groups on foot
Filter
Updating list...
319 - 324 of 5,397 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018

This is one of the best things we ever visited and the whole family was thrilled with how amazing this cave is. First there's a 5 minutes small train drive through the cave, then around 1,5-2 kms walking on a nice path (non sliding), short stop inside the cave for toillets and souvenirs buying and then another train drive. It's hard to describe the interiour, as you really have to see it yourself to believe it. If you go during the summer, make sure you take some warm clothes and shoes with you because inside temperature is allways around 13-14 C. There are guides in all major languages,and if you do not want to go around with the guide, you can take audio-guide and walk at your own pace. Outside facilities are also great, restaurants, ice-cream parlour, souvenir shops. Definitely a great place for half-day excursion in Slovenia.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank jadranka1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

First off, the caves really are something special and the experience of visiting them is something that will stay with me.

I would say that you need to go with a certain mindset and have certain expectations. Pretty much all of the foreign tourists in Slovenia come here. Quite possibly on the same day. If you can't stand crowds and want a personalised experience other cave systems do exist. Some not that far from Postojna.

The caves have been well developed for people to visit. The fact there is a train inside gives you and idea of both the size and the degree of commercial development.

My experience of buying tickets online (including a very prompt answer to a follow-up question) and getting our tickets in person was excellent. The staff were friendly and helpful across the site.

The tour was well organised and ran smoothly and to time. The train ride was great fun and it whizzed along, my head was not that far from the overhanging rock in many places. In the UK they'd make you wear a helmet and attend a safety briefing (and then blame that on the EU...)

The tour through the caves is amazing, the geology is incredible and the sheer size is something to experience. The sympathetic conditions in which the olm is housed at the end are a credit to the site.

If you've an independent streak the bus to Postojna from Ljubljana is very easy to get and the train ride back (the train station is a small hike up the hill - well sign posted) is very beautiful and I'd highly recommend it.

Overall very good and worth the money. Four stars not five as so many other people have heard of it and turned up on the same day as me. With fewer people the tour would have been more relaxed.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank 75alil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

We're staying in Ljubljana, and took a day out to visit the caves. Was well worth the time and money - really interesting tour, caves are absolutely beautiful, and the train ride was great fun.
Would highly recommend!
It is quite a bit cheaper to go the bus station and sort tickets yourself, rather than go as a tour. Buses are fairly frequent, and it's easy enough to do.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Ellie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

The caves are a must see attraction.
It is also very well organized, they drive you 2km inside the caves with a train to see the prettiest areas of the caves. The guides are also very good and friendly.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Antonio L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

I really liked this place! I dont go to the caves often so thats way im impressed :)
Definitely buy ticket online! Its little bit cheaper and u will skip the lines. If u are late at time when u book it..no worries they will rebook it for a later hour.
I think the online tickets are just with english guide without audio but u can change it for audio it will cost u 3€.
The walk it the cave ia safe and its not cold! About 10c i was so suprised.
The guide was funny and very informated. 1*
Only one thing u have to pay parking is 5€.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Jana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews