We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel/Bad Garden Restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Histrion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Histrion
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Portoroz
Eagle River, Alaska
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Hotel/Bad Garden Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

This year was our second stay at the hotel Historian, great hotel. We came twice, with no room reservation, the staff at the reception was wonderful they always find rooms for us at the hotel. We will return next year again.The only thing I would not recommend is the garden restaurant at the Hotel Historian down stars, service was terrible, waiters didn't care, we waited for our drinks for about twenty minutes , we asked if they can bring us our drinks. The waiter told us we are not the only ones waiting. After that I was even more shocked the waiter and the Manager started to make fun of us , "Stupid American, Those Idiots, Who do they think they are, They can stay home if they don't like it here," They didn't know that I understood Slovenian. So I do recommend the hotel , not the garden restaurant. In Portoroz they have great restaurants with great service.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Dee1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    128
    77
    36
    12
See reviews for
105
102
6
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
innsbruck
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

A good time to be there! Also al the different things are verry well. The Beach is at the Sunnysite of this Hotel with friendly people around all the time. Near of this Hotel is the beautiful village PIRAN.

Room Tip: All rooms are fine with air conditions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alpeninfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2010

We have been visiting this hotel for about 20 years now, and can recommend it very highly. It is visually stunning, located on a beautiful stretch of coastline about 1 mile south of the charming old town of Piran that can be easily reached by following a coastal promenade past the lovely harbour of Piran, and a similar distance from the resort of Portoroz. The hotel is well kept and the staff are very friendly and helpful. There are several restaurants in and around the hotel and the food is always excellent and reasonably priced. The hotel is quiet and popular with both both couples and families. The one drawback [for some] might be that there is little in the the way of entertainment or sports facilities, althought there is an indoor pool and tennis courts.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daylesfordians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mentor, OH
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2010

While this is a very beautiful hotel, I can't begin to describe the "hands off" feeling you get about everything there. I don't recall ever seeing the lounge open during the day. You have to unload your car about a 1/4 mile from the front of the hotel. If you're lucky, you can find a bellman there. If not, you lug the stuff yourself. The staff is not friendly. It is hard to navigate thru the hotel. For some strange reason, when you get off the elevator on your floor, you have to go down about 8 steps to actually get to your floor. Carrying suitcases?! How user friendly is that? Lots of public areas that are closed. Very strange. I just go a very unwelcome feeling about the whole experience there.

Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank aragornsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Portoroz hotels

Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
158 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2007

This hotel is in a nice location - right on the water, and away from the two towns of Portoroz and Piran. Which could make for a problem if you want to walk anywhere. It's a bit of a hike to either town, but there is a free shuttle to Piran if you walk about 1 kilometre to catch it. If you want do anything besides hang out at the pool, beach, etc. you should check out another hotel.

The hotel itself is nice enough - no complaints - but it has a touristy feeling to it. Nothing special, quaint, etc. Like a Mediterranean Holiday Inn.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
6 Thank Palooka32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portoroz hotels
0.2 km away
Grand Hotel Bernardin
Grand Hotel Bernardin
#4 of 25 in Portoroz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
1.5 km away
Kempinski Palace Portoroz
Kempinski Palace Portoroz
#1 of 25 in Portoroz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
1.1 km away
Grand Hotel Portoroz
Grand Hotel Portoroz
#2 of 25 in Portoroz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Hotel Marko
Hotel Marko
#6 of 25 in Portoroz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Riviera - LifeClass Hotels & Spa
1.2 km away
Hotel Slovenija - LifeClass Hotels & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Histrion? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Histrion

Property: Hotel Histrion
Address: Obala 2, Portoroz 6320, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Slovenian Littoral Region > Portoroz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Portoroz
#9 Luxury Hotel in Portoroz
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,283 - ₹ 12,369
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Histrion 4*
Number of rooms: 276
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Histrion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Histrion Hotel Portoroz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing