We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A basic hotel with a great proximity to beautiful Piran”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Barbara Piran Beach Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Piran
Reviewed 11 June 2011

This hotel offers small, clean and well appointed rooms. All rooms have small balconies with varying standards of sea views. Our room suited our needs well but we were not overly taken with the rest of the hotel - a smell of chlorine from the swimming pool and a feeling of staying in a leisure centre. The breakfast buffet was of a good quality but we did not sample the restuarant at night given the excellent choices in nearby Piran. The water is clean and the 'beach' next to the hotel offers free sunbeds and umbrellas to guests. Piran is exceptionally beautiful and we found the 10 minute walk along the coast into the town to be an enjoyable excuse for a stroll and liked the fact that we were away from the bustle of the main town.

Room Tip: All have sea views, the standard rooms are small
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank S0llie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 47 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2010

Stayed in room 309 on top floor towards the back of the hotel although all have balconies that face the sea. Room was fine with fairly good view (see photo) but the balcony was small. (There are different grades of rooms and some had larger balconies.) It had air conditioning though we preferred to sleep with the balcony door open and it seemed that directly below was where the staff would gather to smoke and chat so some noise. As others have said you really do need a car to get to the hotel but there is car parking spaces allocated to the hotel. Note that this bay is very popular with locals who also try to park here so it is possible that they could block you in with inconsiderate parking.
There is a rocky/concrete area out the front of the hotel for (topless if you wish) sunbathing and loungers/umbrellas are provided. The hotel had a nice saltwater pool and sauna which we used and is open until 9pm. There is an outdoor cafe but the opening hours seemed a little eratic (4.15pm one day but 7.15pm the next).
Breakfast was OK - nothing amazing but adequate although tables seem to be allocated to specific rooms and we were sat at the back of the room away from others. Although the staff speak English this does seem very much set up for German and Italian visitors. As this is in Fiesa rather than Piran there is limited choice of places to eat in the evening i.e. the hotel (didn't try this as what was on offer didn't seem good value for the cost) or hotel fiesa just across the bay, otherwise you need to walk into Piran along the coastal path. The path is easy to walk on and takes about 15 minutes but as mentioned by others it is not lit. We walked back at 10pm and it was OK but beware of cyclists with no lights. Overall we enjoyed our 4 nights here which we thought was long enough for what this area had to offer.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pooCheshire_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

This was a great hotel, very modern with a fabulous salt water swimming pool which no one else staying there (mostly Slovenes) was using. The rooms were clean, all facing the Adriatic and with balconies. You need a car to stay there and they do have guaranteed parking, although you have to lock your space which is a bit cumbersome. Fiesa is the site of a local public beach so traffic on the road down was a bit crowded. It was a 15 minute walk into Piran along the coastal foot path which we only took during the day as it wasn't lit.
Breakfasts were excellent but we never ate there for dinner.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tiogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2009

Without transport this Hotel is difficult to reach or to get around. The Hotel staff at the reception was very basic if not to say unfriendly during check in and check out. The rest of the Hotel is nice, the breakfast and dinner buffet was great value for money. The whole Hotel leaves a strong post communist impression.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ma3959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2008

A moderately sized and modern hotel, we stayed here for 2 nights, with our room over looking the sea. Though a tree blocked our view somewhat, it still was a good outlook. Walking along a path right on the beach, the hotel is about a 10 to 15 minute easy walk to Piran itself. However note that the path is not lit and can be a bit tricky at night. Watch your step!. Alternatively the hotel has bikes that they lend out to guests and they happily provided a map & directions how one could ride on a path to Piran. Otherwise just catch a taxi, doubt it would cost much. Our room though compact, was very clean and comfortable. Bed excellent. The front office staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good, except for the coffee, very dire, and be warned promptly at 10:00am breakfast shut down. Though they didn't ask us to leave, they started packing up and even the coffee machine was switched off. There are places to swim out front of the hotel, though the beach is pretty rocky. We enjoyed our stay there and would have no hesitation to return to Hotel Barbara.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Buoyant130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piran
1.3 km away
Hotel Piran
Hotel Piran
#1 of 4 in Piran
898 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel Tartini
Hotel Tartini
#2 of 4 in Piran
450 reviews
1.4 km away
Kempinski Palace Portoroz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Fiesa
Hotel Fiesa
#4 of 4 in Piran
90 reviews
1.3 km away
Grand Hotel Portoroz
Grand Hotel Portoroz
#2 of 24 in Portoroz
645 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel Slovenija - LifeClass Hotels & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barbara Piran Beach Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barbara Piran Beach Hotel & Spa

Address: Fiesa 68, Piran 6330, Slovenia (Formerly Hotel Barbara Fiesa)
Region: Slovenia > Slovenian Littoral Region > Slovenian Istria > Piran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Piran
Price Range: ₹ 4,351 - ₹ 14,742 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Barbara Piran Beach Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Barbara Piran Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing