We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atmospheric”
Review of Gostilna Sestica

Gostilna Sestica
Ranked #82 of 681 Restaurants in Ljubljana
Price range: US$ 6 - US$ 28
Cuisines: Slovenian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Gostilna what means in Slovenian Inn Sestica is the oldest and largest establishment in Ljubljana the capital of Slovenia. It is operating continuosly since 1776 with no interupption serving traditional and original Slovenian food. It is popular with locals and visitors from abroad with an large summer garden in the backyard.
Reviewed 8 July 2018

Lunch was included on a day trip to Ljubljana & we were taken here. I requested vegetarian and was served soup & pasta. The food was very good. Most people had meat and said it was very nicely cooked. It's only a short walk from the main square but was surprisingly empty at lunchtime. I would imagine it's much busier at night. The decor is atmospheric.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 647raym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (755)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 755 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2018

The patio was a geat find on a hot day. Our waiter was one of the most knowledgeable and passionate we've ever had. We were so curious of the hot and filling dishes we ordered them even tough they were more for the winter. But they were so good it didn't matter !
Portion sizes are generous. There's something for everyone, both in terms of food, pricing, and ambience (lively or romantic).

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ckdz c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2018

Lovely history, oldest hotel in Ljubljana, great Slovenian food but a few more contemporary dishes on the menu too. Tomato salad and season salads were fantastic, fresh and flavourful. Goulash, wow! Our waiter had the best sense of humour, we dined in the garden on his recommendation and the temperature was perfect, it was quiet and we were able to imagine how it was in bygone days. It has several large indoor dining areas, an open fire which we presume is lit in the cooler months, an enormous former stove now probably also a fire pit, spotlessly clean toilets and thoughout the whole restaurant. Limited wine list but the menu tries to cater for all. Highly recommend.

Date of visit: June 2018
1  Thank ontheroadsince73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

We chose this restaurant after reading the reviews on TripAdvisor and we weren't disappointed. The decor is very local as is the menu; and there were many locals in there too - always a good sign.
We chose local sausage dishes and they were certainly hearty!
The staff were really very friendly. We saw our waiter in a bar next door later in the evening and bought him a drink - he was soooo appreciative, and said we had made his day - unfortunately I don't recall his name - but what a great chap

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BeatriceManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2018 via mobile

This is a really friendly place where you are welcomed in (which as a couple and not a table of 4 we found a rarity in Ljubljana and we're being turned away from empty restaurants because they said they only accept parties of 4 or greater) so being welcomed in here and even sitted on a table for 4 was a sigh of relief. The food was delicious, wine portions generous and we were surprised how small the bill was when it came. The night that we were there they had traditional folke dancers which really added to the evening. Would definitely recommend.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank 768elizabethc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gostilna Sestica also viewed

Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 

Been to Gostilna Sestica? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing