We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice beer and food”
Review of Pivnica Union

Pivnica Union
Ranked #41 of 683 Restaurants in Ljubljana
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 3 - US$ 23
Cuisines: Barbecue, Slovenian, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Official Union brewery pub located in backyard of brewery house, just 10 minutes walk from legendary tripple bridge in the heart of city centre.
Reviewed 30 December 2017

We visited this pub for a dinner. The beer is very good, I liked the black Union. For dinner I had a chicken salad wich was good but the dressing could be better - it should be the mustard dressing but it felt it's like just the pure mustard put on the salad and too little of it. The chicken and the vegetables were tasty. My husband had a Matured Pork Ribs from the Grill wich should be with beans but he got the sauerkraut instead without anyone telling us that . He said it was delicious, the meat perfect and the potatoes. But it would be ok that they told you that you want get what is on the menu or change the menu if they replaced the ingridients.

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Verilala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Union_Experience, Guest Relations Manager at Pivnica Union, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

Hi, thank you for your review! We'll keep in mind your thoughts! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (607)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 50 of 607 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2017

If you fancy a decent local meal and a ultra-local brew, come seat down a german styled biergarten with huge local crowds and a lonely tourist. You'll not leave hungry.

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank DavidV6298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Union_Experience, Guest Relations Manager at Pivnica Union, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2017

Hi, thank you so much! :) We hope to see you again some time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2017

I was here twice, didn’t love it. First time I was there with my family, there was 5 of us. We had a reservation. The waitress wanted to sit us behind a small, bar like, tall table with tall chairs. We refused. She sat us at a different table, but told us we have to leave in 4 hours. That was weird. The food and drinks were fine. We were served by another waiter. The problems reemerged when we wanted to pay. We asked for a receipt, but didn’t get one. We got dresses and waited at the counter, after some time we were told ˝our waiter˝ was out and we had to wait some more. We did. Eventually we got tired of waiting and we left without paying. Totally weird. The second time I was there with my coworkers. The food was fine, the waiter was friendly but again with the weird reservation system. The place is also very loud. The beer is interesting, but not all that amazing. Parking is not free. You have to park accross the street at Tivoli park.

Date of visit: February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank abeillesgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Union_Experience, Guest Relations Manager at Pivnica Union, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2017

Hi, thank you so much for your feedback! We are really sorry for your waiting time and for reservation problems. We will keep in mind everything you pointed out. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2017

The tour was really interesting and our tour guide, Gregor, was very knowledgable. The food in the restaurant was tasty and there was a nice variety of beer.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Union_Experience, Guest Relations Manager at Pivnica Union, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2017

Hi, thank you so much! We are really glad you liked the tour and out restaurant. :) We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2017 via mobile

If you like big, loud, crowded places its the way to go. There are no wines here but you really need one with the heavy food they are serving. No vegeterian options but they were kind enough to make same changes which is nice. Only sorry that all the food came cold to our table. Its a cool December one time experience but they need some changes in the menu for sure. Also home made chips- just change it for fries it is as hard as a stone. The decor of the place is great though.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank Tina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Union_Experience, Guest Relations Manager at Pivnica Union, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

Hi, thank you for your review! We will keep in mind everything you pointed out and we hope to see you again. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pivnica Union also viewed

Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 

Been to Pivnica Union? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing