We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tour, superb guide”

Ljubljana Free Tour
Ranked #1 of 111 Tours in Ljubljana
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Ljubljana's most popular tour, for good reason. Recommended by all hostels and hotels. Join us as we explore our stunning town, visiting all major sites and locations, but adding so much more to make it what it is. All guides are licensed Slovene guides, and are simply the best in town. There's a reason why we're #1. Come find out why. DURATION: 2+ hrs HIGH SEASON: 1 May - 31 Oct - Daily at 11 AM and 3 PM LOW SEASON: 1 Nov - 30 Apr - Daily at 11 AM SUMMER SPECIAl: 15 Jul -15 Aug - 11 AM, 3 PM & 6 PM
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

The tour was well designed, that's for sure. However, our tour guide, Ina, managed to steal the show anyway. I can't praise her enough, she was very funny, helpful and informative. All in all, the free tour is a must.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Lordbarycosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,767)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"two hours"
in 131 reviews
"great introduction to the city"
in 35 reviews
"great guide"
in 105 reviews
"free walking"
in 37 reviews
"interesting facts"
in 32 reviews
"knowledgeable guide"
in 26 reviews
"slovenian history"
in 51 reviews
"visiting ljubljana"
in 47 reviews
"small city"
in 34 reviews
"the main square"
in 23 reviews
"old town"
in 99 reviews
"tina"
in 330 reviews
"information"
in 198 reviews
"architecture"
in 153 reviews
"microphone"
in 27 reviews
"rok"
in 48 reviews
"jokes"
in 30 reviews
Filter

494 - 498 of 2,768 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018

Very worthwhile taking this free tour. The guide was very informative and humorous. A pleasant two hours learning about the history of Slovenia and Ljubljana as well as several sites and buildings.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank MidlandsToffee_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

I recommend to join the free tour if you want to get a general idea about the things you want to do during your stay. They'll tell you about the city through history, legends and anecdotes in a light-heartedly way; things will probably stick better in your mind this way.

I would also like to mention that our guide was Helena (sorry in case of spelling mistakes) and she was very passionate during our walk together (which lasted for a bit more than two hours, time that flew by).

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Damiano G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

An excellent two hour snapshot of the history of Ljubljana and Slovenia on this free (tip-based) walking tour. I would describe the city more as a large town, replete with beautiful architecture and the requisite river running through the centre.

Janez (John), an historian by training, was our lovely guide. He and his wife both run the tours and have a deep affection for their home, judging by their love of showing it to us tourists. Highly recommended.

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jack R, Owner at Ljubljana Free Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thanks :)
We prefer "City" to "large Town" ... it does go out quite a distance.

Safe travels to you
The LFT Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2018

We did the tour on Easter Sunday and our guide was Helena. You could tell that she is a school teacher by profession - we learned a lot about Ljubljana and Slovenia and she conveyed all the information in a really vivid manner and in perfect English. I found the length of the tour, which was around 2 hrs 20 minutes, to be perfect and was again really amazed by the high quality of the free tours. Would definitly recommend it!!

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Teresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jack R, Owner at Ljubljana Free Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Hi
Thanks for kind review. Just small correction ... Helena is not a school teacher .. she is a University professor. But true, many free tour guides are indeed teachers ... knowledge, rhetorics, affection.

Happy travels :)
The LFT Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ljubljana Free Tour also viewed

Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 

Been to Ljubljana Free Tour? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing