We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent breakfast and location, fair level of room comfort and bathroom cleanliness”
Review of Hostel DIC

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostel DIC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

Given the price we paid, the hostel was good. Free breakfast is excellent with a variety of unlimited breakfast choices plus fresh fruits, plus the breakfast hours is long so you can wake up late and still enjoy a full breakfast. Wifi is strong. Location is great, around 15 minutes on foot you will reach the Dragon Bridge which means you are in the city centre already, although the neighbourhood seems not the safest at night.

Our room was a ‘Twin Room with Shared Bathroom’ – twin room was fine and the sheets and pillows were clean, and shared bathroom was alright although it really depends on your luck of whom you are sharing the bathroom with. At least everything in the bathroom and functional and sufficient. However the common kitchen on my floor was terrible, other travelers simply did not wash the utensils (I washed the cookware four times and it was still very oily, I had to simply give up cooking and dine out). Staff was polite but was a bit slow in checking us in.

Room Tip: There is a baggage elevator, so it does not matter whether you pick an upper or lower floor if you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank C L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

The room was very comfortable and clean the people working on the reception were very kind.

The hostel is close to the center and you can go on food only in five minutes.

Definetely, i would recomend. Also the hostel has a kitchen so, it's perfect to no waste a lot of money.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Miquel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017

The hostel is not anything fancy. However, for the prices it offers it is decent enough and although the hostel area is not appealing at all, it is pretty close to the main attractions so that's cool.
I came during summer time; my experience overall was ok. I enjoyed the kitchenette, the cleaniness of the hostel and the WIFI availability. I didn't appreciate the heat in my room, the fact that I couldn't use their computers because there was always something wrong with the internet connection and I wasn't provided with any help with that (I was even coldly told there's nothing they could do about it). I didn't appreciate the noise late at night, the feeling of my personal belongings not being safe (no keys for our closets), the shared bathrooms... But hey, again, for the price range it was rather acceptable.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Houdafuq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017

The showers are mouldy and the drains do not work properly, so you end up standing in a pool of water, even if you have very brief showers, and the rooms are very hot without fans or aircon in summer. There is a lot of street noise and the wifi is unreliable. All of which would have been fine for the convenient location to the city expect for the AWFUL staff member. Do not stay here if you can avoid it.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017

I absolutely hated staying in this hostel. I arrived at midday and couldn't even drop off my luggage as the reception is closed between midday and 4pm in the non peak seasons. My room was extremely dirty. The receptionists were hugely unhelpful and unfriendly and looked completely bored - they couldn't give me any information about Ljubljana and the only information I was given was wrong. They do not serve breakfast. The area is unattractive. The reception was right next to my room but the staff did not tell people to be quiet when they were making lots of noise in the halls in the middle of the night. I was staying in a private room and woke on my second night at 2.30 am to my door being unlocked opened and then shut. When I asked the receptionist why someone went into my room he said that he had made a mistake trying to put someone who had just arrived into my room and looked bored whilst telling me completely unapologetically. I couldn't recommend people to avoid this hostel enough, its one of the worst hostels I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank FrankieCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
1.5 km away
Hotel Trojane
Hotel Trojane
#30 of 31 in Ljubljana
17 reviews
1 km away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,852 reviews
1.7 km away
Vila Veselova
Vila Veselova
#2 of 60 in Ljubljana
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,133 reviews
10.5 km away
Guesthouse Cirman
Guesthouse Cirman
#26 of 60 in Ljubljana
59 reviews
0.9 km away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#9 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel DIC? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel DIC

Address: Poljanska cesta 26, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 100 Speciality Lodging in Ljubljana
Price Range: ₹ 2,837 - ₹ 3,868 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hostel DIC 1.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel DIC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing