We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“please go elsewhere!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Fluxus Hostel

Fluxus Hostel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fluxus Hostel
eureka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“please go elsewhere!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

this place has ONE toilet and ONE shower for the entire setup.



imagine 16+ people waiting to get to the toilet in the morning or waiting in line for the sink sized shower. luckily there was a kitchen sink to pee into when the guy at the head of the line took a book into the ONE toilet and was followed by another inconsiderate jerk who decided to shave at the sink of the ONE toilet even though people were obviously in need of the toilet for something other than literary purposes or grooming. several were forced to use the kitchen sink as a toilet and one managed to get into the shower to pee even though the group in the second room claimed the shower as theirs because they booked the room as a group.

the toilet is in the reception area and the shower is next to the second dorm room. there is a sink in the shower cubicle, so shaving didn´t need to clog the toilet, but no guy thought of the shower sink as a shaving sink.

also the second room is accessed through the first room. nothing like a herd of morons tromping through all talking as loud as possible at 3 a.m. and ignoring the fact there were several others attempting to sleep. also so enjoyable when they all tromp back through the first dorm room to the toilet.

there are no lockers, the staff leaves during the day for extended periods of time and there is no staff on hand after 5 p.m. so there is no one to watch your stuff while the sticky fingered are about.


the host is touted as "friendly", but don`t worry the friendliness disappears if you dislike the situation and complain. also if you have an absolutely abominable night there, no need to ask for your money back, the host becomes quite mute and noticeably unfriendly.

Room Tip: go elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anne h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    19
    10
    3
    7
See reviews for
Families
0
20
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

Fluxus Hostel has been a very nice place to stay. An old apartment converted into a Hostel with a double room and private shower/bath, a 6-bed and an 8-bed room. The hostel has a common room and kitchen which is to be used by all. The rooms are very lovingly decorated with a lot of attention to detail. The staff is very friendly (but not constantly there) and will stay late for late artivals. Check-out was easy and the whole deal was good value for money.

The only downside to this place is that the walls and doors are quite thin, you can hear most of what is going on. That is not a problem with few people, but I imagine it might become a bit noisy when it's fully booked.

None-the-less, the location of this place is fabulous! Only a few steps to the Nebotičnik-Tower where you can find excellent breakfast with a great view! Or party on the weekends.

Not far as well, the Triple Bridge, Old Town and all cafés along the river. Especially in the spring and early summer this is great as all Slovenians love to sit outside and have a coffee.

We enjoyed the time at Fluxus very much and would recommend it for friends to stay there when travelling on a budget (Ljubljana has very few moderately priced hotels as all are newly built and rangy withom four or five stars and a bit expensive).

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgirls79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

I stayed here with 4 mates after attending a heavy metal festival in Slovenia. I was firstly quite surprised by the layout of the hostel. We had booked the 6 bed dorm - ensuite - but when we got there discovered we had to walk through the other dorm room to get to ours, and that our 'ensuite' was in fact the ONLY shower, so people from the other room ended up walking through OUR room to use it. As such we had no privacy at all and even had people clearly annoyed when we said the shower was being used by us, despite us paying for the 'ensuite' room.
Similarly we had to walk through the other dorm room to use the ONLY toilet in the place, located in reception, which I'm sure wouldn't have been great for our fellow guests.
Besides this I must say it's a lovely, well-presented hostel in a good location. The 6 bed dorm is quite huge, there is a lamp and wall socket near each bunk, towel and bedding are provided. There are no lockers which made me a little nervous. Reception staff weren't always there but were helpful when they were. Quite a nice place place if you don't mind lack of privacy & you are not worried about your valuables.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NephOzB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oviedo, Spain
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2011

The hostel is clean and presentable and in a perfect location for exploring the city. I was travelling with a friend and as we had a lot of luggage and valuables, we wanted a room where we could lock everything away safely. We opted for the double room which is next to the kitchen. It has a shower which is connected to the dorms shower by a partition wall. The light switches are linked, so if someone switches the light on in the dorm shower it lights up the private shower which can be a litte annoying when you are trying to sleep. Reception hours are sporadic. We were woken up by people talking unreasonably loudly late at night - normal in a hostel - but when I went to ask them nicely to keep their voices down I discovered it was a couple of guests talking to a member of staff. Overall, a great place for a single traveller in a dorm - small and friendly - but not good value for a private room.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kereliza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2011

Great little hostel
Lots of fun
Not huge like some of the others
Best location in town !!!!
Around 20E a night for a dorm .. but thats Ljubljana, other places wanted more.
I say thumbs up

Mark

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markyrich1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.1 km away
Hostel Tresor
Hostel Tresor
#9 of 70 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.7 km away
H2ostel
H2ostel
#14 of 70 in Ljubljana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.4 km away
Zeppelin Hostel
Zeppelin Hostel
#6 of 70 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Hostel Vrba
Hostel Vrba
#2 of 70 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.4 km away
Cacao Rooms
Cacao Rooms
#13 of 70 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
0.9 km away
Hostel 24
Hostel 24
#21 of 70 in Ljubljana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fluxus Hostel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fluxus Hostel

Property: Fluxus Hostel
Address: Tomshicheva ulica 4, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 70 Speciality Lodging in Ljubljana
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,037 - ₹ 3,695
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Fluxus Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing