We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great hotel, location, and staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Columbus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Columbus
Ranked #9 of 256 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great hotel, location, and staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

My wife and I recently spent four nights at Hotel Columbus. This 3 Star hotel is centrally located within an easy walk of the Old Town, and the Jewish district of Krakow. The rooms are modern, clean, and comfortable. We made our reservation directly with the hotel, and the front desk staff were prompt in responding to our inquiries. They certainly are a group of lovely ladies who are very helpful in providing directions, and advice on tours. A great breakfast is served each morning, which we enjoyed very much. Thank you for making us welcome in your hotel. A special "Thank You" to Anna, you are our favourite!

Room Tip: Based on other travellers' reviews, we requested a room located at the rear. The room was very q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    838
    277
    31
    7
    1
See reviews for
178
592
50
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
87 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

We stayed in Hotel Columbus in Krakow as part of an East European trip. The hotel had offered to pick us up at the airport and this turned out to be most convenient for 80 Zloty (PLN). The hotel is part of the ol Jewish neighborhood of Krakow with tram lines in front, about ten minutes walk from the main square. We found the hotel well located with easy transportation, ATMs almost across the street and with many restaurants in the nearby areas.

Our room was about 10' x 12'. Although the beds were comfortable, they were soft and seemed to sag a little in the center. But we slept well. The check-in and check-out were very efficient and we should mention Ana and Filip at the front office for all their help.

The bathroom was rather small with a corner shower with little counter-space for toiletries etc. Like other European hotels there are no dressers but a closet for hanging clothes with side shelves. Had our room been larger and the bathroom more convenient we would give it 5-stars.

The breakfast was outstanding with cereals, juice, eggs to order, meat etc.

We had a very pleasant stay and we would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pksubramanian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincolnshire UK
Level Contributor
127 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

We have just returned from 3 nights at Columbus. This was a good choice. It is just a little out of the main centre but it had everything we wanted. It was quiet, small, comfortable, clean, very good breakfasts, knowledgeable staff. Free internet access. Minibar. Free water. Safe. Aircon (though we didn't need it). We had two rooms at the back which I think is a must because the trams rumble by outside. We walked into the centre each day (no more than 10 minutes) or take the tram wich stops outside the door. The Jewish Quarter is very nearby and the castle is a easy stroll. .

Room Tip: 16 (twin) and 17 (double)are good. At the back so quiet and only one flight of stairs (though there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank henhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
107 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

I can't say enough good things about this gem of a hotel and it's excellent staff. We stayed here for three days in early May (5/6-5/9) and wished we could have stayed longer but we had to get back to Berlin.

The hotel is in a great location. You can walk to Wawel Castle, the historic center, the Jewish section and to Schindler's Factory. There are plenty of good and reasonable restaurants just around the corner within easy walking distance.There are banks across the street and a great little bakery a few doors down. Everything you need is close enough to walk to. Even at night we felt safe walking around the area this hotel is in.

The place is quaint, pretty and exudes old world charm- they even have a doorman!- but best of all it is spotlessly clean thru out.

There is free wi-fi in your room and in addition there is a lounge off the lobby with a computer and plenty of room for relaxing or reading or sitting with friends and having a drink.

The bed and pillows are soooo comfortable and our room had big windows that let in plenty of light and we could open them for fresh air. The rooms have AV but we didn't need it. Free bottled water daily was a nice surprise as well as the chocolate candy on our pillow when we checked in.

The bathrooms are modern, up to date and sparkling clean. Hairdryer, small shampoo and body wash, all of the little niceties you'd expect from a high end hotel you will find here at a fraction of the cost. Including a well stocked mini-bar and the free use of a safe in your room.

I can't say enough about the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. They are absolutely delightful to deal with. Very professional yet personable and friendly. They all speak flawless English. They gave us excellent directions and tips on places to see. They arranged a car to take up to the airport and answered, with patience, our endless questions about where to buy things and even came to the rescue when I could not find a teapot to take home. From my first communication with them via internet and phone they went out of their way to be helpful and provide the information I was requesting. The staff is wonderful.( I hope the hotel owners are paying attention and rewarding them properly! They deserve it!!)

Breakfast is a nice buffet but they will also make eggs or coffee to order if the style you prefer is not in the buffet.

I am very hard to please but I couldn't find one thing to complain about. I give Hotel Columbus 5 stars and mean it when I saw we didn't want to leave! If you are going to Krakow then this is your hotel. Look no further than Hotel Columbus because you will not find anything better at this price.And even in a higher priced category of hotel I doubt you can do better than the friendliness, helpfulness and high quality attention of the staff here.

Room Tip: We asked for a room at the back of the hotel and it was very quiet and looked out on a lovely garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank D J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

My fiancèe and I spent the long May weekend in Krakow. We picked Columbus based on the TripAdvisor's reviews and we weren't disappointed!
The hotel is small with few rooms (which is for us a great plus); the room was nicely furnished and super clean (but seriously clean, not just hotel-clean). We asked and got a room overlooking the backyard and we didn't suffer at all from the noise from the busy street the hotel overlooks.
The staff is extremely kind and the reception personnel is extremely knowledgeable and would go to any extent to help your stay to be perfect (bookings, information, trips, bus/tram tickets, etc.).
Breakfast was good and food was very fresh. Only (really minor) remarks is about lack of variety: we spent 5 nights and could have eaten something different.
Location is very interesting for travellers not afraid of walking a few minutes. It is on the edge of the Jewish quarter, 10 minutes away from the castle and 15 from the main square.

Great small hotel with professional service. Great value for money. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the backyard. The front ones can be very noisy due to trams and heavy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gekokurioso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Kazimierz
Queen Boutique Hotel
Queen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 256 in Krakow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,573 reviews
Stare Miasto
Cracowdays Apartments
Cracowdays Apartments
#7 of 256 in Krakow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
Wielopole Hotel
#12 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Galaxy
#30 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
Stare Miasto
Radisson Blu Hotel Krakow
Stare Miasto
Betmanowska Main Square Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Columbus? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Columbus

Property: Hotel Columbus
Address: ul. Starowislna 57, Krakow 31-038, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Kazimierz , Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
#11 Family Hotel in Krakow
#33 Business Hotel in Krakow
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,954 - ₹ 8,119
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Columbus 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Columbus in Cracow welcomes you in style. Whether visiting from very close, or far away, you will appreciate the personalized attention, warmth and sophistication of our boutique Columbus. The building which was built in the 1930`s, was transformed into this luxurious 24 room boutique hotel in 2007. Lastly a complete renovation was finished in December 2013. Hotel is arranged in a colonial style with wooden exotic furniture and warm colours. All of our comfortably renovated rooms are equipped with: mini bars, complimentary mineral water, individually controlled air-conditioning and comfy beds. Complimentary Internet access is provided in all rooms. If you wish to forget about the hustle and bustle of city life we invite you to our courtyard. In this cosy and peaceful place, located at the back of the hotel, you can take a rest after the whole day of exploring the city. Our staff will make every effort to ensure an unforgettable stay in Krakow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Columbus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbus Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing