We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Columbus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Columbus
Ranked #10 of 256 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Cirencester
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

We stayed at the Columbus Hotel for 5 nights in April and I couldn't fault it. We caught the train from the airport to central Krakow and then walked to the Columbus which took about 20 minutes. It is in a great location in the Jewish district about 10 minutes walk from the centre. From the outside it dosen't look anything special but the rooms were lovely, spotlessly clean with a good shower and a comfortable bed and the staff were all very friendly. One thing to note though - there were no tea and coffee making facilities in the room. There are lots of restaurants nearby and a small supermarket opposite. The breakfasts were very good with eggs, bacon, sausages, fruit, cereals, bread etc.I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back of the hotel as they are away from the road at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gillycirencester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    875
    289
    32
    7
    1
See reviews for
187
622
51
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malta
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

We spent 7 nights at this lovely hotel. During the whole stay the staff were excellent and helpful. The room was spotless, the bathroom and shower were of high standard. Breakfast which is served every morning was fantastic, everything was fresh and delicious. The hotel is just 5 mins away from Galeria Kazimierz shopping complex and about a 10 min walk to the square. There are many high quality restaurants close by and is right near Old Town. Wisla River is also just minutes away and it is great for a relaxing stroll on a nice day.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back of the hotel which was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
226 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Friendly front desk staff, 4 of us had 2 rooms on 3rd floor, facing away the main street. Room was comfy - had a good shower, hair dryer, mini bar. Wifi was available throughout the hotel, speed was pretty fast if you compare to most hotels in Europe, and free. Breakfast spread was not big, but quality was there and staff was very quick in refills. Eggs can be ordered as well.

500 m to jewish quarters, there are many restaurants and pubs in the area, so will be attractive to young travellers and the young at heart. Public parking was available within walking distance, note on Sat & Sun, as well as public holidays, parking is free. Weekdays is free after 5pm (or 6, I forgot!). You will need to buy parking coupon at the meters for other days though.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank csh68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

hotel excellent. great location. good breakfast. staff lovely and helpful.so so clean. excellent:-)

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank naoiseIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Our recent stay at the Hotel Columbus was terrific. This was our first trip to central Europe and Poland, though we had been to western and southern Europe many times. We really enjoyed the mix of European heritage in the city, and the different looks presented by the architecture and governance of more recent times. As such, we were attracted to the Columbus for the location, in the Kazimierz, and away from, but walking distance to the central square and attractions. We had a room in the back, and it was warm and comfortable, with a small balcony overlooking a square of former Eastern Bloc flats. We found this to be quite cool, and a fitting mix of architecture which really captured the spirit of history in this part of the world. The room was larger than we had found in most other parts of Europe, and well equipped. Wifi was available too. We were especially impressed by the breakfast, which included a great variety of choice, and featured many local receipes also. The staff was extremely helpful, very kind and accommodating. They arranged a tour for us, and also helped us out with the local bus system for a day trip to the Wieliczka Salt Mine. Their restaurant recommendations were great also. They seemed to really care that we were having a great time. We found the location to be perfect for us too, as the Kazimierz was right behind us, and we could find everything within a few blocks. The area is comfortable, and is not what someone would call touristy, but quaint and somewhat local. Where we could enjoy the day in the city square and the castle, we were only a 10 minute walk back to the Columbus and 5 minutes from an evening at some of our favorite pubs. We felt this hotel was a great choice because of the location, but an even better choice for the helpful staff, and the warm comfort of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pilotdave50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Kazimierz
Queen Boutique Hotel
Queen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 256 in Krakow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,627 reviews
Stare Miasto
Cracowdays Apartments
Cracowdays Apartments
#5 of 256 in Krakow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
Stare Miasto
Radisson Blu Hotel Krakow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wielopole Hotel
#12 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
Hotel Galaxy
#33 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
Stare Miasto
Betmanowska Main Square Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Columbus? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Columbus

Property: Hotel Columbus
Address: ul. Starowislna 57, Krakow 31-038, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Kazimierz , Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
#11 Family Hotel in Krakow
#33 Business Hotel in Krakow
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,343 - ₹ 8,477
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Columbus 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Columbus in Cracow welcomes you in style. Whether visiting from very close, or far away, you will appreciate the personalized attention, warmth and sophistication of our boutique Columbus. The building which was built in the 1930`s, was transformed into this luxurious 24 room boutique hotel in 2007. Lastly a complete renovation was finished in December 2013. Hotel is arranged in a colonial style with wooden exotic furniture and warm colours. All of our comfortably renovated rooms are equipped with: mini bars, complimentary mineral water, individually controlled air-conditioning and comfy beds. Complimentary Internet access is provided in all rooms. If you wish to forget about the hustle and bustle of city life we invite you to our courtyard. In this cosy and peaceful place, located at the back of the hotel, you can take a rest after the whole day of exploring the city. Our staff will make every effort to ensure an unforgettable stay in Krakow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Columbus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbus Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing