We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I have been there, nice place”
Review of Free Hostel

Free Hostel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Free Hostel
Ranked #313 of 436 Speciality Lodging in Krakow
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“I have been there, nice place”
Reviewed 11 January 2012

I have been there, and it is a really nice place :)
Staff were friendly and prices was very reasonable. There's also a shop and a pub next to the hostel.

Room Tip: Be sure to pick the room 11!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bronx_TU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    15
    14
    3
    9
See reviews for
6
14
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Krakow, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

I had pleasure to stay in Free Hostel while visiting Cracow few days ago. I rent a double room and it was very comfortable. The price suited to the conditions quite well. The room itself, bathroom and kitchen - all the three were very clean and nicely decorated. I loved especially the dravings at the reception. The location was excellent - near Old Town and my beloved Casimirus District. And finally - the staff was very helpful and cheerful, thanks to them I spent great time. They were always ready to advise where to go to have fun, eat well and so on.
Hope to be back there soon!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Janice J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

I have stayed here twice, both times the service has been excellent. However there was quite a difference between the locations of the hostels. The first time I stayed in the main building (on Starowiślna) and I have no complaints there. Everything was just as I would have wanted it.

On my second visit though, we were in the second building (on Wrzesińska). Now it was clean and any staff that I met were very friendly, spoke good English and were happy to help. However the room location isn't ideal. It's down a little street which could be unsettling for someone by themselves coming back. Once inside the close there was no signage as to where the hostel was (2nd floor it turns out). Once inside the room was much bigger than the first building and it has sattelite TV so that was great. There was no internet available in the room though. Also breakfast is only served in the other building so it meant a 5 minute walk round the streets first thing in the morning if you want breakfast.

I would still return, although in future I will be asking to stay in the main building.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the Main Building as there are more facilities and more life in there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cardno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We stayed at the Free Hostel in Krakow for one night at the end of our mission trip. Staff were extremely friendly. Price was very reasonable. Rooms were clean, beds were comfortable, and, the location is good (short walk south of old town). I would strongly recommend, especially given the price advantage over other hotels in Krakow.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gdspaulding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novosibirsk, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2011

Staff was excellent. Very clean room with excellent shower. Convinient location, close to the centre of the city. The drawback is that it's very noisy from trams outside in the morning.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank daisy2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Wesoła Zachód
Atlantis Hostel
Atlantis Hostel
#28 of 436 in Krakow
264 reviews
Stare Miasto
Radisson Blu Hotel Krakow
Pillows Party Hostel
#126 of 436 in Krakow
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kazimierz
Metropolitan Boutique Hotel
Stare Miasto
Hostel Rynek 7
Hostel Rynek 7
#318 of 436 in Krakow
116 reviews
Stare Miasto
Cracowdays Apartments
Cracowdays Apartments
#5 of 260 in Krakow
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Free Hostel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Free Hostel

Property: Free Hostel
Address: ul. Starowislna 32, Krakow 31-032, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Kazimierz
Hotel Style:
Ranked #313 of 436 Speciality Lodging in Krakow
Price range (per night): ₹ 906 - ₹ 2,265
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking not only for a place to sleep but most of all a place where nice, open people, professional staff, comfortable rooms and especially "free" atmosphere are waiting for you, our hostel is a perfect choice! Even in a rainy day you can enjoy your time in Free Hostel. We do our best to make you feel safe, comfortable, like at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Free Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing