We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel - Close to centre”
Review of Wielopole Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wielopole Hotel
Ranked #14 of 259 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Darlington
Level Contributor
84 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great Hotel - Close to centre”
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We have just returned from Krakow having spent three nights at Wielopole. We were travelling with three other couples and booked superior rooms. None of us were disappointed with the choice of hotel. We were all on different floors, 306, 406, 506 and 606. The rooms were clean and comfortable with modern bathrooms. Toiletries were provided, as well as slippers - nice little touch, but if you needed anything else you could just ask the staff at reception. The breakfast was typical continental with ham, cheese, pastries, as well as sausages and poached/scrambled eggs. It is situated in a good location, only 5-10 mins walk to the main square. The staff are very helpful and arranged a tour for some of our group, which was good value for money. This was my husbands and myselfs 5th or 6th visit to Krakow, having stayed previously at Hotel Matejko. That was a great hotel also, but we fancied a change, and to be honest prefer hote Wielopole (its a little bit more up to date but still cant fault the other). Returned to the UK the day before the England Team arrived in Krakow - maybe could have planned that better. We will return next year (if not sooner).

Room Tip: Superior rooms good size and comfortable. Facing the rear and nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bubbles1612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    764
    366
    50
    12
    2
See reviews for
187
509
74
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Krakow seems to have lots of self catering apartments or more expensive hotels. This hotel provided a good combination of excellent location for a decent price.
Don't expect 4 star fittings or rooms as it is a 3 star hotel, but the staff really make this hotel a very pleasant experience.
We encountered 4 different reception staff and all were cheery and enthusiastic. Very friendly smiles all round.
Location is great and only 5 minutes to Old town and there are several good restaurants nearby.

Breakfast was a large spread. Mostly continental and scrambled/fried egg with (boiled)sausages for hot food. It wasn't gourmet but it was definitely sufficient to start the day of touring.
We had lunch at the restaurant as we were too tired after we landed on an early flight. Whilst the food was tasty (both traditional Polish and the pizza), the cost was relatively expensive compared to much better restaurants we later tried.
Mind you, once you convert to sterling it's all very cheap! But you can find better and cheaper elsewhere. It's fine if you want convenience or if you want room service rather than going out.

I'd recommend this if you don't want to do the self catering option. It's worth it if you don't have time to do your own cooking etc.

Room Tip: ASk for a room that doesn't face the street if you don't want street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AussieLondon362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

This was my first time in Krakow and indeed Poland and when (not if!) I return, I'll definitely be returning to the Wielopole hotel. The location is fantastic, just a 5 min walk into the main square full of cafes, restaurants, bars and shops and always bustling so you always feel safe. 15 mins in the other direction is the Jewish quarters though we didn't spend much time here. The hotel itself is great, for a 3 star it feels a lot nicer. Rooms are clean, well stocked and the reception staff were more than helpful and spoke English well. The food was also great - the restaurant where breakfast is also served is in the basement of the hotel and was perfect for a first night. The menu is extensive and is available as room service also. Breakfast was a buffet and very well stocked full of cold meats, cheeses, rolls, salads, etc but if you're after hot food you'll have to make do with just eggs and hot-dog sausages! We arranged a trip to Auschwitz through the hotel and also had a packed lunch for the day. Rooms were quite hot but air con is in the rooms - it's a little noisy but not overly. Can't have the windows open as it's obviously a city-centre hotel and the traffic and sirens are loud. Overall, as a hotel, I couldn't have asked for more.

Room Tip: Even for a twin room, it was nicer to pay just a little more to upgrade for some more room. Extra to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samborakid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
362 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

We stayed for 5 nights at the hotel in May. The hotel is located ideally just outside the city centre requiring only a 10 minute walk to the market square (Rynek Główny) and 15 mins to the centre of the Jewish district (Kazimierz). A tram stop is 1 minute walk away, and a bank with cash machine a few doors down the street.

Prior to arriving I asked for a quite room, and was given a room on the 5th floor. The reception area is clean and functional with a small seating area and lift to all floors. There is a restaurant in the basement which also doubles as breakfast room.

Our room was very well decorated with plenty of dark wood furniture. The room was clean, if not a little small. The windows are double glazed but will open fully or partially. The bathroom is very modern and attractive.

Breakfast was typically continental, so may not suit somebody who cannot live without their daily fix of bacon and eggs. There was plenty of choice of salads, meats and cheeses plus bread and tea/coffee.

However, the housekeeping policy lets the hotel down. Water, tea, coffee, shampoo and soap are not replenished after the first night. I asked reception about this and was told that this is the policy. I was not offered any replacements at the time. I completed a feedback request form pointing out that if 5 different people had occupied the room for one night each, then all these items would have to be replenished each night, so a longer stay customer was being disadvantaged. The hotel did not acknowledge my feedback which was for me far worse than the problem in the first place, and very poor customer service. Also the bedding was not changed in 5 nights. This wasn't a big issue, but I would have thought the bedding would have been changed once in this time.

I considered only giving an 'average' rating for this, but the hotel itself was very nice and poor customer service may not be so important to other people.

Room Tip: There is currently a significant restoration project to an old building across the road (May 2012) a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeterLanky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

This hotel is small but service is really great and great location.
The rooms were clean and comfortable.
I was lucky enough to get engaged on our trip to Krakow and my fiancee arranged with reception to have flowers in the room on our return.
They not only did this but also provided a beautiful crystal decanter with Polish Cherry Vodka compliemtary and heart pillows, which was a lovely touch although the vodka blew my head off!
Would definately return , the hotel was great and Krakow is a beautiful city loved every second!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lozza2101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Kazimierz
Hotel Columbus
Hotel Columbus
#13 of 259 in Krakow
1,255 reviews
Kazimierz
Queen Boutique Hotel
Queen Boutique Hotel
#5 of 259 in Krakow
1,696 reviews
Kleparz
Mercure Krakow Stare Miasto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Wentzl
#11 of 259 in Krakow
1,062 reviews
Venetian House Aparthotel
#16 of 259 in Krakow
909 reviews
Stare Miasto
Cracowdays Apartments
Cracowdays Apartments
#4 of 259 in Krakow
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wielopole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wielopole Hotel

Property: Wielopole Hotel
Address: ul. Wielopole 3, Krakow 31-072, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Krakow
#12 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
#17 Family Hotel in Krakow
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,278 - ₹ 10,194
Hotel Class:3 star — Wielopole Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
True Polish hospitality, European standard, comfort in the most elegant fashion, pleasant atmosphere and cordial staff – Wielopole in a discreet and successful way combines all these advantages and wins the recognition of customers from all over the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wielopole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wielopole Krakow
Wielopole Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing