We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as grand as it perhaps was.”
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel
Ranked #86 of 261 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2012 via mobile

Hotel very pleasant, and great location in Old Town. Bedroom was good size, but bedding and towels were poor.
Breakfast was a bit of a bun fight, particularly when busy.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PresidentSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (628)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

334 - 338 of 628 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2012

My mum and I had the pleasure of staying at this hotel just recently for 3 days. It is just beautiful, the staff were so friendly and nothing seemed a problem for them. A big thank you to Andrew the doorman, who always had a welcoming smile. The breakfast is a great start to the day with lots of variety. A really lovely hotel in an amazing city. Would highly recommend.

Donna Griffin

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Donna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna B, General Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

Thanks for taking the time to write your review. I am glad to hear that you liked the location and the services provided by Andrew. We look forward to serve you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We stayed for four nights at the Grand. We had a warm welcome from Reception and were taken to a lovely room on the second floor. It was spacious, clean and well equipped. The location is perfect - just a couple of minutes walk from the main square, however, the downside of this was the noise. At 2am the nightclub opposite was in full swing with noisy revellers spilling out onto the street below and staying there for a couple of hours. On our second night, one of the partygoers sat on the pavement playing a drum for two hours! We asked the hotel if they could move him on but no joy. We asked to move to a quieter room and the hotel was very accommodating, but the second room seemed far inferior to the first, so I suppose it is a trade off between a nice room and a quiet night - you can't have both!

Breakfasts were great, and at all times the staff were helpful and polite. Don't bother with the fitness room as most of the equipment doesn't work! There is a sauna (extra charge) but we didn't try this.

All in all we had a nice stay and the hotel itself is lovely and feels special (it was a former palace). Think we were just a bit unlucky with the room.

Room Tip: Room 29 very noisy due to nightclub opposite.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We have visited this hotel for the second time after a couple of years. We went there to celebrate my birthday. Unfortunately it turned out that the hotel has got much worse in the meantime (previous time it was not perfect either) and now it is definitely NOT value for money.

In short, good points about the hotel are:
1) Location (although in summer can be noisy)
2) Name and the atmosphere
3) The luggage guy - helpful yet usually there is only one person. By the way, why luggage boys must carry all their loads with hands? It is not healthy (I felt pity of him) and they should use some trolleys.

Bad points about the hotel
1) Reception - there is only ONE person (try to check out if you are in a hurry)
2) Service and breakfast:

There is not much food, not much choice (I am not picky!). There was some miserable leftovers.

How it works in practice? When I tried to get some scramble eggs there was nothing. So I tried to get some coffee - it was out. So I tried to get some tea - but the water was still boiling. I managed to get some juice from the mostly-empty bottle (other bottles were - guess what? Of course! - empty...).

In general, I believe that there could be a person serving coffee or tea so that guests did not have to walk over the rooms.

The stuff seems to be very unhappy (perhaps underpaid), opening kitchen doors with their feet and exchanging sour remarks. When I asked in the reception why there was almost nothing to eat, the lady answered that "many people appeared at the same time".

When I asked whether a hotel with 5 stars should take into consideration that "many people" would probably like to eat their breakfast at similar hour, she shrouded her shoulders. In exchange, she never told me "good morning" or "good bye" when I was checking in.

Take my advise - do not come there. Neither it is worth your money nor your stress you can get there.

Room Tip: Bearing in mind their service, you'd better do not count on their friendly help with finding goo...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Dareeeeeeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We had a lovely two day break at the Grand. The room was spacious, clean and beautifully furnished. It was very quiet and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast excellent. We used City Tours for our visit to Auschwitz, but would have liked more freedom and a longer visit. We had some great food in the local restaurants for what felt like pennies. Lovely city.

Stayed: March 2012
1  Thank Gillian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
The Bonerowski Palace
#77 of 261 in Krakow
486 reviews
Hotel Stary
#57 of 261 in Krakow
715 reviews
Sheraton Grand Krakow
#39 of 261 in Krakow
2,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Miasto
Hotel Copernicus
Hotel Copernicus
#22 of 261 in Krakow
503 reviews
Hotel Wentzl
#14 of 261 in Krakow
1,091 reviews
Stare Miasto
Radisson Blu Hotel Krakow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Address: Ul. Slawkowska 5/7, Krakow 31-016, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Krakow
#72 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
Price Range: ₹ 8,795 - ₹ 25,294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Prestigia, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Krakow
Grand Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing