We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”
Review of Wawel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wawel Hotel
Ranked #26 of 259 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Just got home from a four day stint in Krakow. This is the first time we have stayed at this hotel having previously stayed at the Senaki just down the road.

On entering the reception area we found an absolute pearl, very smart and well decorated. Our rooms were ready and we had numbers 302 and 303 - both doubles. The rooms were decorated very nicely and very clean. On the minus side, we were disappointed the were no tea and coffee making facilities however we did know this before we arrived. The beds were comfortable but typically of Poland, the duvets were not quit fitting of the bed and the pillows very small and too soft. again, this is nothing new as we had experienced this elsewhere. These minuses were very tiny in relation to the overall ambience of the hotel. the reception staff were very accommodating especially Alicija who booked us taxis, gave advice on where to go, and even took the trouble to to suggest which room we may like next Autumn when we will return.

A tip, if you want a bigger room, choose a twin rather than a double as they have more room, having said that the room was not small. In the hotel they have a wellness centre which was really good, bookable privately for 10 english pounds per half hour (40 zl) and highly recommended after a long day sightseeing.

The breakfast was well presented and the staff very helpful providing english food if required, so again no complaints.

So overall, this hotel should be four star not three, maybe tea and coffee facilities may just tip the balance. It really is a lovely hotel in a lovely spot, quiet but exceptionally close the the centre. There is no noise at night and you get a very relaxing stay. Well done to all the staff we look forward to October 2012!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barrymcnamara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

707 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    431
    229
    40
    5
    2
See reviews for
111
322
62
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Fantastic boutique hotel! Location could not be better!! Located on a quiet, safe, side street but just a block away from the tourist spots. To the right, I walked less than 5 mins to the very center of town and, to the left, I walked about 5 mins to Wawel Castle and Cathedral. Magnificent churches all within a few minutes' walk. String quartet playing nightly at Sts. Peter and Paul Church which is <5 mins walk from the hotel. Another string quartet playing nightly at another church about 7 mins walk away. I stayed for 7 nights. I had a single room, immaculately clean. I hated to leave! The bathroom, while small, was beautiful. Hotel staff spoke very good English and could not have been more helpful and pleasant. If I ever have the good fortune to return to Krakow, I absolutely would stay in Hotel Wawel again. Fantastic value!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joy052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

The location of this hotel is what makes it perfect! It is located on a quiet side road, no more than 5 minutes from the beautiful market square. The hotel was lovely, with friendly, helpful English speaking staff. Our room although small was beautifully designed & made to feel somewhat like a suite, with a separate seated area & sleeping area. The bathroom although tiny was great & I loved the clever shower which was small but felt luxurious! The breakfast was unexciting but had a great selection. A definite recommendation.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TopsMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford,
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

The location and building are very good, but there are problems with this place. One half of the hotel appears to have air conditioning while the other half doesn't. There seems to be a sauna in the basement. The room I was in was too hot, and there was music and clanging church bells coming from the courtyard. There only appeared to be one working power socket in the room. The standard lamp socket has a plastic cover which a child could easily remove, exposing bare wires. This is highly dangerous.
There were two sockets next to a washbasin in the bathroom - which is not safe either. The bedding needs to be upgraded.
It is not a good idea to play pounding music at 7 in the morning in the breakfast room. After all, most of the visitors are middle-aged and they don't want this kind of noise during breakfast. The breakfast is good enough although there is only pork and not other meat or fish (which is typical of Poland).
The marble floors and decor are very nice, but there are things that need improving at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ProfessorCalculus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Absolutely perfect location for Krakow - just a couple of blocks from the main market square and within easy walking distance to the castle district as well. Located on a quiet side street off of a main street. Very friendly and helpful staff, all spoke good English. Breakfast is excellent with made-to-order eggs each morning. Wifi was free and pretty consistent.

Probably not the cheapest place in Krakow, but even for the price I believe it's an excellent value. Would not hesitate to stay here again or recommend it to all.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grant C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Venetian House Aparthotel
#15 of 259 in Krakow
916 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Santi
Hotel Santi
#23 of 259 in Krakow
509 reviews
Hotel Wentzl
#12 of 259 in Krakow
1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wielopole Hotel
#14 of 259 in Krakow
1,204 reviews
Stare Miasto
Cracowdays Apartments
Cracowdays Apartments
#4 of 259 in Krakow
980 reviews
Stare Miasto
Senacki Hotel
Senacki Hotel
#11 of 259 in Krakow
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wawel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wawel Hotel

Property: Wawel Hotel
Address: ul. Poselska 22, Krakow 31-002, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Krakow
#14 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
#15 Family Hotel in Krakow
#38 Business Hotel in Krakow
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,283 - ₹ 10,309
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wawel Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wawel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wawel Tourist Hotel
Wawel Tourist Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing