We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Polish Cuisine”
Review of Bar Smak

Bar Smak
Ranked #230 of 1,502 Restaurants in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Polish, Central European, European, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Description: This is really a restaurant worth mentioning and I'd like to give it a short T/A review. We were in Krakow for three days and we ate there twice. It's just off where one of the entrances to the main square is and next to tram stops. It's where locals eat, very unpretentious, and the food is genuine Polish and very inexpensive—and delicious! There is an English menu so it's easy to choose what you want and to order it. The two times we were there, it wasn't crowded and there was no waiting. It was very peaceful and quiet and well ventilated. Well worth knowing about. There was a blog about it on your website.
USA Midwest
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Polish Cuisine”
Reviewed 24 May 2012 via mobile

You order at the counter. Five minutes later your Polish culinary selections are brought to your table. High quality fast food.

Helpful?
1 Thank AdvocateForAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    61
    18
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cheap homestyle meal”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

If you are wanting a filling, hearty meal for next to nothing, you've found your place. You order at the counter. The lady at the counter did not speak English, but had the menu had English descriptions. I had a plate with mashed potates, shredded beets and a fried pork chop (Weiner Shnitzel?). I don't remember exactly what I paid, but it was very little and the food was good and hot.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KaptinKirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Cheap, good Polish food”
Reviewed 24 March 2012

We tucked into some of he local food here and it was great. Started with some soups and bread and then some Polish sausage and a few beers. The value was outstanding and the service was friendly. even if you aren't on a budget this does seem to be quite a local place that just does local food instead of trying to ply the tourist trade. Definitely worth it.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BlairHesp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
73 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Quintessential Polish Experience”
Reviewed 6 March 2012

This restaurant was a few blocks from the hotel so an easy pick after a long day of walking. It is self-service in that you order at the bar. They have English versions of the menu which is helpful. I had pirogies and my husband had pork with pickled beets and mashed potatoes and comes with a bowl of chicken noodle soup - all for the price of about 18 zl or $6 US. They also have beer which is nice. The servings are huge, hot and delicious. We enjoyed our meal enough that we ate there a second time when my husband had goulash which was also very good. Good choice for a quick, satisfying, authentic and inexpensive meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ABQJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Fabulous place”
Reviewed 29 January 2012

I ate there evey day during my week in Karakow - great food, generous servings and immensely tasty at great prices. What more can a person ask for.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Passepartout55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bar Smak also viewed

Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 

Been to Bar Smak? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing