We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best deals in Sopot.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wanda Hotel Sopot

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Wanda Hotel Sopot
Ranked #22 of 26 Hotels in Sopot
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
157 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“One of the best deals in Sopot.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2011

I have stayed in Sopot several times. My room here at the Wanda was small but with a balcony and entirely adequate. It was no smaller than my "superior" room in The Grand Hotel last year. The bed was poor and in need of replacement but usable. In other respects the Wanda is a good deal. Perfect location generous breakfast though the absence of coffee was a disappointment (there is some Ersatz coffee powder in a jar). The hotel is clean and well presented. There was a problem with hot water one morning and it was never very efficient. But its an old hotel. Staff have that unwelcoming Polish manner which one gets used to in a country which has never embraced the market economy as its neighbours have. Poles do not usually take pride in providing service - most notoriously of curse on Polish railways. But the staff here are perfectly polite and effective. Those like me who crave for coffee can walk down to the wonderful Mont Blanc where there is smiling service and excellent coffee always accompanied by a complimentary chocoloate. The Wanda is not luxury but does not claim to be. It is just the best in Sopot.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    8
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
9
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2010

I'm reluctant to post this because everyone else will now know about it and it'll be harder to get in next year!
This hotel is elegant and right next to the beach and all amenities, yet all you hear at night and in the morning is waves breaking on the beach and you wake up to the sea every day. We arrived several hours before the room was ready, but as there was a cafe-bar less than a stone's throw away across the road this was no hardship after a couple of teas and vodkas! My wife is a bit picky but she fell in love with the hotel and the room right away - the room came with hairdryer, telly and even a fridge, and was clean and roomy. If I had to pick a bone, it's that Wanda has no lift or porterage so you'll have to to hump your cases up to the top floor yourself.
Breakfast is the best I've seen anywhere, and I've been around. Huge selection ranging from cereals to scrambled egg and bacon, sausages, cheeses, herring, put it this way - a choice of some 120 or so items! And breakfast is a very civilised 7.30 to 10am. We dined in once and it was decent if unremarkable. No point in dining in anyway, with Sopot centre and all its restaurants and cafes only 10 minutes walk away and numerous restaurants strung along the beach all within 10 or 15 minutes walk.
The front desk is always manned, the staff speak a little to quite a bit of English and your room is cleaned every day, with towels and bedding changed every three days.
We were there for 10 days and it frankly could not be bettered, especially for the money. It came out to about £600 for the two of us. We reckoned spending about £50 a day between the two of us, including getting around, souvenirs, drinks, evening meals (e.g. 2 large beers, large wine, one starter, two main meals, one dessert, liquers and coffees c. £21 for two) and this then comes to about £1200 for 10 days for two in a super quiet clean cosy hotel in a fantastic location doing everything you want during the day.
Gdansk and Gdynia are a short distance away on the local train for 60p each, you can get a boat back for about £3 each, and Hel across the Bay is about £3 by boat too.
I can't praise the place enough.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sovmix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2008

We booked one night at Hotel Wanda as we landed late at Gadansk and needed somewhere as an over night stop and fancied Sopot.
The hotel was perfectly clean, the water was hot, the room over looked the sea, the breakfast was ok and so were the staff.
There was nothing to complain about at all.
It is Polish, It is basic, but what do you want.?
If you want somewhere resonably priced, clean, in a decent position and with friendly staff, try Wanda.
We enjoyed it so much we went back for a few days before ending our holiday. .
Rooms have been refurbished and work has been carried out externally.
We intend to stay there again next year
A kettle in the room would be a benefit though.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
Thank claudeNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2005

We stayed at Hotel Wanda for the first week of August and found it to be basic but comfortable. Having seen the previous review after booking, we had concerns, but none were borne out by our actual experiences.

Of course it was not cold in August and the hotel was not dark and stinky as found by the previous reviewer. The furnishings were basic, rather than plush, and the dining room could do with refurbishment, but it was ok for breakfast; there are many restaurants around Sopot.

Agnes at the desk was particularly helpful with recommendations of where to eat.

The beds were comfortable (although we did ask for linen bottom sheets to cover the rather coarse fitted bottom sheets), the bathroom was clean, tiled and entirely functional (shower rather than bath) and the towels were fine.

The curtains were for display only, but there was a closing roller blind.

On the plus side, the position is great, being just by the beach with protected parking, but far enough from the town centre clubs to enjoy peace and quiet. In high summer this is a real problem for some hotels close to noisy clubs that carry on to the not so early hours of the morning - including the Khong Hua which has an otherwise great location.

Would I use Wanda again for a beach holiday hotel? Certainly.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2005

HI there,

I just came back to Canada from Poland. I was in Sopot at the beginning of April and have to tell you about the terrible experience we had in the Hotel Wanda on ul. Poniatowskiego 7.

This hotel is a a filthy, stinky, cold, dark hole and a rip-off claiming to be a three star hotel.

Who gave them these three stars and when?

The hotel looks very nice from the outside but when you go in, it is old, dark and stinky. The hallway looked like a low-life brothel hallway and had one fluorescent lamp.

The bathroom was so filthy, it was better not to touch anything.

The towels were worn out with torn edges.

The beds were fold out beds with horizontal grooves between materaces.

The curtains did not work.

The room had one heater which did not work too well. It was very cold there.

The restaurant looked like and an old, dark and stinky booze hole, and the waitress there was trying to cheat us on the tip.

We spent less than two hours in this place and decided to move somewhere else but we were willing to pay them half of the daily price of astounding! 200 PLN, even though we just walked in without a reservation and the hotel was almost empty. The hotel manager made us pay THE WHOLE PRICE for being there less than two hours and called a security guard.

For your information, we moved to the clean, beautiful and friendly ZHONG HUA hotel for only 20 PLN more. Staying there was a total pleasure.

I don't think I have to say more. I am emailing this to all places I could find connected with the travel industry in Poland, so the management of the Hotel Wanda in Sopot cannot rob anybody else.

Sincerely,
Lidka Schuch, Canada
Theo Aarts, Netherlands

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Lidka8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sopot hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sopot hotels
0.4 km away
Zhong Hua Hotel
Zhong Hua Hotel
#14 of 26 in Sopot
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.3 km away
Villa Baltica
Villa Baltica
#12 of 26 in Sopot
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.8 km away
Bayjonn Hotel
Bayjonn Hotel
#5 of 26 in Sopot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hotel Sedan
Hotel Sedan
#9 of 26 in Sopot
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
2.6 km away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#23 of 26 in Sopot
3.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
2.4 km away
Best Western Villa Aqua Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wanda Hotel Sopot? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanda Hotel Sopot

Property: Wanda Hotel Sopot
Address: ul. Ksiecia Jozefa Poniatowskiego 7, Sopot 81-724, Poland
Region: Poland > Northern Poland > Pomerania Province > Sopot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 26 Hotels in Sopot
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,403 - ₹ 6,872
Hotel Class:3 star — Wanda Hotel Sopot 3*
Number of rooms: 336
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Wanda Hotel Sopot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing