We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Lovely walk, not much inside

The walk through the gardens to Janův Hrad is lovely and worth trying. The guided tour is... read more

Reviewed 21 August 2017
teitij
,
Hradec Kralove, Czech Republic
Within walking distance of the Lednice Castle

You can use the boat taxi, horse carriage or walk - it is a copy of a ruin of the castle. We had... read more

Reviewed 28 June 2017
Dasa K
,
Opava, Czech Republic
Read all 82 reviews
  
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveller rating
35
31
14
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
35
31
14
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews horse carriage refreshments ruin picnic boat castle minaret
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 82 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2016

My five cents is that you shouldn't walk of bike there (unless you are energetic young puppy) but reserve your strength to sightseeing and essential walks and explorations. The John Castle is very far from a main castle. We took a horse ride in the carriage. Pluses: resting, wildlife seeing, and story telling at the same time. Going back you could choose to return by a boat. The horse rides starts behind the castle (north) at the Chinese Pavilion. The boat rides are near the Minaret, much further away from castle than horse-rides. Price: we paid 100 CZK per person to get there and half of that price on the way back.

Date of experience: June 2016
1  Thank tzd60820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2016

Built as a hunting lodge on the Lednice estate, guided tours are only offered in Czech but there are written notes in English and it is definitely worth a visit. The old delapidated wooden bridge built by an Italian filmmaker has now been replaced by something more substantial (but less charming). The castle can be reached by boat or on foot. There are two booths serving refreshments although there were many wasps about and wine tasting is offered.

Date of experience: September 2015
Thank cassiopeia86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2016 via mobile

I think the place is nice but it takes quite a lot of time to get there. The tour is not worth it in my opinion. You see just a few rooms and the view from the castle is nothing special. If you are a history lover, go for it, otherwise spend your time differently.

Date of experience: March 2016
Thank PavelH230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2015

Definitely worth the nice walk from the Lednice chateau, we really enjoyed it. The setting in the Sumer must be much better, though, we visited in very late October.

Date of experience: October 2015
Thank vaclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2015

The whole area of Lednice/Valtice is full of nice places likes this small castle in the woods which are perfect for a bike trip. There are several stands arround the castle where you can get some soda or beer, even something small to eat. Be prepared to follow the bike route markings carefully, otherwise you can get lost easily. I also recommend to visit the nearby places Rendezvous, Three graces and Apollo's temple.

Date of experience: August 2015
Thank 247tomash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews