We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“... modernisation would be good...”
Review of Hotel SLAVIA

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel SLAVIA
Ranked #29 of 57 Hotels in Brno
Reviewed 6 April 2012

I stay there when I was on business trip, so I spent little time there. The hotel is in the city centre. Rooms are large enought, clean, with private facilities, equipped with TV and refrigerator with minibar. The hotel provides services appropriate to its location. I use only one service - hotel microbus. Buffet breakfast, the menu is rich, dishes are fresh and are continuously updated. The hotel offers czech and international cuisine, food is tasty, portions sufficiently great. Food prices are comparable to other restaurants, for accommodations are quite high. I did not like outdated hotel equipment(door, wall coverings, carpets, draperies) that would merit modernization.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenous_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 55 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2012

We chose this hotel as a mid-point stop over during our holiday in the Czech Repiblic. Whilst visiting my Wifes' family and taking in the sights of this beautiful country we decided to stop of in Brno the coutry's 2nd city. The hotel location in the centre of Brno is perfect but that is where the good points end. This hotel from the outside is typical of Czech architecture, quiet ornate and historical in it's appearance which is in keeping with the look of the city, being a large university city. As soon as you step into the hotel your journey into the past begings. This hotel has not been modernised since the early 1960's, the decor and amenities are so sadly lacking that it negates the slightly favourable rates. This sad hotel boasts a 4 star rating but by UK standards would struggle to meet 2 stars and in all honesty would be more akin to hostel accommodation, the only factor that makes it a hotel is the en-suite facilities, but don't get excited about this they are a bad parody of an episode of rising damp (a UK sitcom from the 70's/80's based in a terrible boarding house). The hotel is staffed by a group of very inexperienced young women who obviously new little or nothing about the hotel trade and hospitality. The restaurant left us feeling rushed, unwelcome and disgusted in the quality of food, so much so that on the 2nd day I choose to have a fast food breakfast over the Slavia's poor offerings. There was one comedy moment in our 2day stay, that was the reception telephone - it was the biggest, orange, retro-soviet pics of telecommunication hard wear that I had ever seen, this phone would not have looked out of place on the desk of President Breshnev when he was in charge of the USSR. To add final insult to the whole experience we had to pay to park our car at the hotel.
If you want a centrally located hotel in Brno, Slavia is perfect, but be warned if you want a hotel with even the most basic of hotel amenities then give salvia a wide berth, I personally like a hotel where the curtains meet in the middle to provide privacy, in this hotel there was a 30cm gap. I also would like to leave a hotel and not be shown horrendous insect bites by my wife which only could have occured whilst in the room. Hotel Slavia is not a 4 star hotel by any standard in any part of the world, so if your considering it as a location for you be warned and go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank colpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

I attended an international exhibition in Brno in January 2011 and stayed in this hotel. It is very centrally located and the rooms are spacious, with very high ceilings. A bit cold in the winter though. The furniture is a little shabby as is the entire hotel – it felt like it had not been renovated for quite a while. However, it does offer free wi-fi, which is very important as far as I am concerned. Breakfast is served from 7 to 11 a.m. and it was rather scanty when I was there. It seems they tend to run out of food towards the end of breakfast time. All in all, not really up to 4 stars but you can’t beat the location and the price was good.

Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
Thank miroma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Nice hotel in the town centre. Not so luxury, but you feel the history here. You have only few steps to many pubs, shops, ... You have many tram/bus lines around. It is just 15 minutes walking to the train and bus stations. The hotel is a large building, but I felt like at home - I mean the staff. The service is nice. Breakfast were not so big, but the food was fresh (frx. the eggs, sausages - are prepared just for you - not before).
We had also a meeting there: nice room, excellent service. One man just for us, coffee, drinks and snacks all the time.
Please, do not expect luxury design hotel, but when I have a chance, I vote for this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose the room in the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cimbim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2011

Very friendly and comfortable hotel. Comfortable beds, roomy bedrooms, friendly staff. Clean and efficient. Excellent location in the centre of town. Plenty of good restaurants/bars/shops around too. Value for money. The entertainment in the town square at Christmas was excellent. Brilliant music bands, dancing, Xmas shopping and wonderful Christmas tree in the Square.

Room Tip: We had a double room at the back of the hotel and it was quiet and very roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Millikins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brno hotels
0.7 km away
Grandhotel Brno
Grandhotel Brno
#3 of 57 in Brno
572 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Pegas Brno
Hotel Pegas Brno
#20 of 57 in Brno
178 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#8 of 57 in Brno
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#14 of 57 in Brno
225 reviews
0.1 km away
Best Western Premier Hotel International
2.2 km away
City Apart Hotel Brno
City Apart Hotel Brno
#27 of 57 in Brno
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel SLAVIA? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel SLAVIA

Address: Solnicni 17, Brno 602 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Moravia > South Moravian Region > Brno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 57 Hotels in Brno
Price Range: ₹ 4,620 - ₹ 7,028 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel SLAVIA 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel SLAVIA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slavia Hotel Brno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing