We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and beer”
Review of U Zlate Podkovy

U Zlate Podkovy
Ranked #1,202 of 6,190 Restaurants in Prague
Cuisines: European, Czech
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Neighbourhood: Hradčany & Letná
Reviewed 6 December 2014

We had smazeny syr (fried cheese) and potato dumplings with goulash, all in a good price and very tasty.

Date of visit: December 2014
Thank 233barteks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 41 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2014

We waned to stop for few beers with our friends, Restaurant was empty, when we told waiter we want only Drinks - no food, he told us "this is not good business Goodbye!"
He was rude and terrible - he told us to go somewhere else because we will not leave much money!
DO NOT GO THERE !!!

Date of visit: October 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PiotrMykyta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2014

We had the tourist menu with onion soup for 150 CZK (6 euros) , goulash and desert. I had the same lunch there two years ago, and this time we went looking for this pub. We ate there both of the days of our trip. It felt like the best choice. Also the waitress was very polite. I would definitely suggest it.

Date of visit: November 2014
Thank Eleni V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We were only at the restaurant and it was disappointment. Only the meal was good - roasted pork knuckle. Service wasn't friendly and the biggest disaster was the served beer; it wasn't chilled foam disappeared immediately and the beer looked like it was standing somewhere for half hour before serving. Reason is simple - bartender is mixing draft beer and old beer that drips from faucet! Disgusting.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank kvetnata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2009

We didn't stay in the hotel, only ate at their restaurant once, for lunch. Service was slow and our waitress didn't understand English very well, but luckily another waiter did. The food tasted very good and the atmosphere was nice. But they took advantage of us with the bill: ten years ago they would have charged you for cutlery, but they would expect a tip. Now, they still charge you for cutlery (next time I'll eat with my hands then), AND they charge you 10% extra for a tip, in case you were in two minds about tipping them or not. As a result, the price of that meal was TWICE the price of an identical meal that we had the next day at another restaurant. That is the sad result of Prague becoming a target for massive tourism. To sum up: if you can avoid eating at Hradcany and Mala Strana, go elsewhere. They will rip you off and you can find better food at better prices a bit further away.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank rebpalma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed U Zlate Podkovy also viewed

 
Prague, Bohemia
Prague, Bohemia
 
Prague, Bohemia
 

Been to U Zlate Podkovy? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing