We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect!”
other travellers have booked this property
Residence exterior
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Residence exterior
Residence exterior view from your bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
Residence exterior
Residence exterior
view from your bedroom
Privat garden
Privat garden
living room
living room
dining area
living room
living room
Privat garden
Privat garden
Private Garden
Private Garden
Private residence garden
bedroom
bedroom
bedroom
Privat garden
Privat garden
Privat garden
kitchen
dining room
dining room
Privat garden
Privat garden
bathroom/shower
bathroom ( tube and shower)
bathroom
bathroom
Privat garden
Privat garden
Privat garden
children place
garden motive
residence exterior
romantic street by the residence
garden restaurant by the residence
Amazing Prague motives
Prague Castle
Prague Loreto Church
Amazing Prague motives
Amazing Prague motives
Amazing Prague motives
Amazing Prague motives
Amazing Prague motives - Charles bridge
Amazing Prague motives
Prague is metropole of art
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Prague, Bohemia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Claraclau...
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“I would like to stay here again, but.......”
Reviewed 18 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017
7
people found this review helpful

I was so so excited about staying at the garden residence, even making our reservations in January 2017 to insure our stay planned for late May (a one year wedding anniversary trip). The owner Vladimir was wonderful, responsive to my questions, gave excellent directions to getting to the apt. (very easy btw... two quick trams from the rr station), made sure someone was there to meet us when we arrived.

So here's why I'm not giving this apt. an excellent rating. There are two apts in this wonderfully renovated building in this extremely charming and safe neighborhood. One is in the basement (NO. 9) with windows facing out onto the street eye level so everyone can look in and one basement window on the opposite side. It has a bathtub. You have to walk down some steps to get into this apt. from street and walk through a very low door. This apt. is dank,very dark, depressing, low ceilings, humid, etc. (I even suspected mold at times, because I had some serious breathing problems there.) No views of the garden (or anything, because you need to keep the shades closed at all times unless you want people staring at you). One can hear every footstep from the people above. Basically, No. 9 apt. is so awful you simply don't want to even be there.

The other apartment is NO. 11, on the floor above the basement apt No. 9, no bathtub, but it has skylights, upper windows overlooking the street (so no one can look in) and windows overlooking the garden in the back, and high ceilings with wood rafters. One needs to walk up some uneven stone steps to reach this apt.

The pictures of these apartments seen on the internet are misleading, because both apartments are shown, and without the knowledge I am offering, a potential renter would have no idea which apt. is which.

I asked for a bathtub, under the impression that we would have this wonderful apt. to stay in with views of the garden from every room, high ceilings, etc. Gosh, my friends got sick of hearing my enthusiasm to stay here. So when we arrived, we were put into the basement apt. (because I had asked for a bathtub). Our trip to Prague was hell because of this super depressing basement apt. I felt completely ripped off and really wished the owner Vladimir had suggested I forgo the bathtub and take the nice apt. upstairs.

This building is not a hotel, so if something goes wrong in the middle of the night there is no one to get in touch with. There is a microwave, a two-burner electric cook top, an electric kettle. No toaster, no coffee, no tea, probably no salt and pepper... No cleaning services while you stay, no new towels (which never dry out in the basement)

There are also a lot of stray cats in the neighborhood and the smell of cat urine is pervasive in there garden area, which is really just a parking area and not great to spend time in. No direct access from apts,, even from Apt. 11 unless you want to jump out of the window.

But, if you're lucky and can get Apt. 11 on the second floor, you're in for a real treat. Its spacious, IKEA-like decorated, extremely clean. And you'll be in such a great area. The building is beautiful, old and charming, as well as the street Novy Svet. Lovely playground across the street, even has ping pong table, so bring your paddles. If you follow the street towards the Loreta area there is a charming coffee cafe and at the end of the street a cute luncheon restaurant. Go to the end of Novy Svet in the opposite direction, hang a right, and you're practically in front of Prague Castle. Go down some steps on the far end of the Prague Castle square (beside Starbucks, yes I said Starbucks), walk a little bit and you're at the Charles Bridge.

You're also 5 minutes away from a well-stocked little grocery store in the Loreta Plaza that stays open until 11. Also some nice not so touristy restaurants.

Also, interesting fact: round the corner from this establishment is Kapucinka Street, right behind the beautiful Loreta Church. Big building behind walls is where the Communists used to imprison kill/torture Czech dissidents.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan K
1 review
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 12 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Lovely apartment, only 10 minutes walk from Charles Bridge and 5 minutes from Prague Castle. Perfect position for exploring this stunning city. We will be back and hopefully stay at this residence again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Warm, very clean, excellent location
Liked least: Not applicable
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jadavis13...
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a Great Appartment and Fantastic Location”
Reviewed 21 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Arriving late at night we were greeted warmly by Evie who was waiting for us in the apartment (Knowing that we were arriving late and would have difficulty finding the apartment we also booked airport transfers with the managing company).

The apartment is long and narrow and much more spacious than the photos. There is a large hallway and a separate toilet in the hallway. then the long living room with a dining table and large comfy couch. The kitchen a large shower room and then finally the bedroom.

The apartment is immaculately clean and was super warm. There are lots and lots of radiators all along the walls of the building. The height of all of the rooms is universal and very high with exposed wooden beams to the roof.

The area that the apartment is in is extremely quiet and safe. You are in a diplomatic and museum consult quarter of the city. You can see the Spires of Prague Castle from the front door and it is a very easy 500 meter walk to the castle.

Behind the apartment is the Loretta which is also a fantastic place to visit. Despite being in such a quiet and safe area there is a tram stop very near to the house within a 5 minute walk. The tram ride into town only takes 10 minutes. Be aware that the journey home is all uphill so we only ever walked down to the river and the old town.

We did not make use of the garden as it was very cold and wintery whilst we were visiting. Had it been warmer it would have been a nice place to rest and relax in privacy.

the nearest corner store is part of a chain of convenience stores up past the Loretta and in the square to the right. This store supported all of our snack and bread needs for 4 days. They are open early till 11 p.m. daily which was a blessing.

The kitchen at the apartment is fairly basic and only really allows for simple cooking and snack making. everything is there but there is no cooker or grill only a microwave and a two pot, hot plate. I would have personally loved to have had a toaster so that I could toast my rolls and bread in the morning.

I loved the whole experience and would definitely go back again to this apartment if I am lucky enough to be able to go back to Prague. I loved the apartment and I loved the neighborhood that we were in, it was quite but it was very accessible to the old town across the river.

The internet worked well and this saved the day as the only channels on the TV which were in English were all news channels.

Please be aware that the access to this flat is up a fairly steep and uneven set of steps. The bottom step is double height and takes some getting used to. Once in the apartment everything is on a single level.

.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Shower and the water pressure being so low!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ian2005wi...
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Delightful, spacious apartment in Castle district”
Reviewed 20 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
3
people found this review helpful

The apartment is in a narrow, cobbled street of delightful old buildings, UNESCO listed I believe. You go down a couple of steps to enter a large and very well renovated apartment, with the windows at the front at about street level, but a little below at the back. The apartment is clean and fresh, with new furnishings and a minimalist decor. It is very well positioned for visits to Prague Castle, the Loreto and Strahlov Monastery. Close to a tram stop that delivers you down almost to Charles Bridge, and a small supermarket that has most things and is open early to late. The managers are most friendly and helpful, including sending someone round very quickly to unlock the gate to the parking area, after we had locked up and thrown the keys through a window in the apartment (which you do on checking out), forgetting that the key to the parking area was attached. However, that brings me to the one negative. The garden is the very convenient parking area for the car (at an extra cost) and is substantially taken up with bitumen. In fairness things might improve when the plantings have grown through but, even then, it's hard to see how it will look like the photo displayed- it is much more a large parking area than a garden!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and general presentation of property
Liked least: The "garden" was more a parking lot and not as shown in photo
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing